• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'poreans see society as "kiasu", competitive, self-centred: survey

silentisgolden

display_image.php

SINGAPORE: Singapore society has often been described as "kiasu" - a term used to refer to Singaporeans' innate fear of losing out.

This label still sticks, according to an independent survey by local consulting firm aAdvantage and the Barrett Values Centre.

Singapore residents were asked what values and behaviours described Singapore today.

Besides being "kiasu", Singapore was seen to be competitive, self-centred, defined by material needs, and "kiasi', a term which literally means being afraid of death.

The study polled 2,000 Singapore citizens and Permanent Residents representing different gender, ages and living in different housing types.

Experts behind the study said these are potentially limiting values - not necessarily negative, but possibly so if sustained in the long term.

CEO of Barrett Values Centre, Phil Clothier, said: "One of the numbers we look at is the total percentage of all the limiting values that respondents picked out. Some nations would have limiting values like corruption, blame, manipulation. The total percentage can range anywhere from the high end like 60-70 per cent, to as low as 4 per cent, which is in fact the figure for Bhutan. Singapore's number is 41 per cent, which means it's actually in the lower areas.

"One thing that's interesting about the Singapore current culture, those limiting values particularly, is that they're much more of a psychological nature, rather than, on the street really seeing trouble. So we don't see words like crime and violence, and corruption."

MP for Tampines GRC, Baey Yam Keng, said: "I think it's a reflection that Singaporeans can also be self-critical, and realise our own shortcomings and there are certain areas we need to improve. I think it's not necessarily bad, because it means we're being honest, and hopefully we can turn ourselves in the direction that we can all improve as a society in the way we think, in the way we behave."

This survey comes as the government recently announced that it wants to kick off a national conversation on the future of the country.

Respondents were also asked what values and behaviours best described themselves.

And these were family, friendship, health, happiness and being caring.

But when asked what residents desired in Singapore society, the top five answers that came up were - affordable housing, caring for the elderly, effective health care, caring for the disadvantaged and compassion.

But some said the survey findings don't paint the full picture.

Director of Behavioral Sciences Institute at Singapore Management University, Professor David Chan, pointed to the survey methodology asking respondents to pick 10 values out of a prepared list of about 90.

"I think it's timely to do a survey as this is to find out values. But at the same time, we should be very cautious about the findings of this particular survey.

"My understanding is that there are important values such as religious freedom, freedom of religion, religious harmony, rule of law which are not included in the list provided. So it would never have been able to be endorsed. And these are values which I think are quite important, as shown by previous surveys done in Singapore."

Additionally, the survey sought to find out how Singaporeans see their current and desired workplaces.

Respondents in the private sector saw their current workplaces being defined by customer satisfaction, cost reduction and team work.

Those in the public sector picked team work, bureaucracy and customer satisfaction.

But it was work-life balance, along with employee recognition and team work that came up most often when asked what they desired of their workplace.

But as the country gears up for a national dialogue, most observers agree the survey findings offer compelling food for thought.

- CNA/ck

Another article to deliberately disgrace Singaporeans because of PAP poor show rally. Can tell msm is the last tool for PAP when everything fails.

ConyuConhee

That's done every 5 years and during the last "survey", 60.1% thought the govt was doing a great job.

pap is bestest ......
47 years of proven track records
keep voting for PAP
for more good years
more should cross over to the 60.1%
dun be the 39.9% sheep
together we can make it
even better
huat AH .........ahhhahhhhhhhhhhhhhhahhhhh
stand up for singapore

ionzu

it is amazing that our ivory towered men in white need a survey to tell them that singaporeans are:
kiasu
kiasi
self-centred
materialistic

Singapore residents should be asked what values and behaviours described Singapore Ministers today
1. out of touch