• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sometimes I find it really hard to always hate LKY.

seems like you still don't get it or u are just burying you head in the sand , refusing to accept
fact and reason.
as said before , any PM would have done the same.
is it very difficulty to build factory , schools , pigeon holes etc ?
what odds are you talking about ? the people were against all these ?
they do not want your hero to build factories ?

Many countries have built factories but just because you build them doesn't mean that they're going to take the economy and the country to the next level.

Thanks to LKY, Singapore became the largest manufacturer of computer peripherals in the whole world. The wealth that you see around you today is built upon the foundation created by the disk drive and PCB industry. None of the other countries around us succeeded in such a spectacular manner. LKY did not have the monopoly of ideas but his execution was far superior. Hats off to him. I am in awe of his wisdom, his foresight and his leadership when Singapore needed it most.

Big Sexy

mate, again you are using hypothetical assumption.
do u have any solid evidence to support your claim that sg would have been better under malaysia than LKY?
hypothetically reasoning vs Fact, do i need to say more?

your argument in that post is weak at least to say, i dont know why you highlighted the problems, and then said how they provided the solution to it.
the way i look at it... you are actually shooting yourself in the feet.... make up your mind what it is that you want..

i also noticed you said "they", so why just pick on LKY alone?
you guys just dont get it... if you still want a debate on whether LKY was good, stick to the point.
if you wish to debate on PAP, create another thread..

A short-term gain but now we are paying for it ....they need to bring in millions of foreigners to create a domestic market which they already had by remaining in Malaysia ...we are drinking sewage water because we don't have enough water ....we need to bring in cheap labour because we don't have enough people ....the list goes on.
The current and future generations are paying the price for LKY's decision to get out of Malaya.

neddy

Many countries have built factories but just because you build them doesn't mean that they're going to take the economy and the country to the next level.

Thanks to LKY, Singapore became the largest manufacturer of computer peripherals in the whole world. The wealth that you see around you today is built upon the foundation created by the disk drive and PCB industry. None of the other countries around us succeeded in such a spectacular manner. LKY did not have the monopoly of ideas but his execution was far superior. Hats off to him. I am in awe of his wisdom, his foresight and his leadership when Singapore needed it most.

Where are the factories now? Replaced by "next big thing" wealth-generating casinos? :biggrin:

I salute the Chinese Communist Party for creating extreme wealth for China. :rolleyes:

Lumber One World Factory :eek:

922160-beijing-pollution-at-dangerous-levels.jpg

XiaoYueYueChronology.jpg

Big Sexy

Sam, some people here obviously thinks a country is just only about building factories,schools and laying roads.

no wonder "Sim City" sold like hot cakes..

Where are the factories now? Replaced by wealth-generating casinos? :biggrin:

Times change. What worked in the last century won't work today. Expectations change and so do circumstances. It's up to the new leadership to work out what works for Singapore.

However, the present situation in now way detracts from what my hero LKY achieved when he was the PM. In financial terms, he helped me more than anyone else on the face of this earth by creating opportunities which I grabbed with gusto.

neddy

Times change. What worked in the last century won't work today. Expectations change and so do circumstances. It's up to the new leadership to work out what works for Singapore.

However, the present situation in now way detracts from what my hero LKY achieved when he was the PM. In financial terms, he helped me more than anyone else on the face of this earth by creating opportunities which I grabbed with gusto.

Is LKY responsible for the present situation in Singapore?
He overstayed his welcome in the Parliament, created a cult image that is larger than Singapore, his laws is more powerful then Singapore's laws and left behind a dud land of nannified citizens that do not have any idea how to change with the times, and change with foreigners influx.

Do not forget, Singaporeans cant react to the current situation is cos singaporeans are discriminated against in their own country. NS obligations make it easier for employers not to hire.

HDB resale flats favour the foreigners,

Foreigners no NS obligations

Bar is set too low for foreigners to enter PMET category,

Foreigners get free scholarships

Foreigners get to hold high public office despite not serving NS like Cow and Janill

etc etc

So how to change?

He overstayed his welcome in the Parliament, created a cult image that is larger than Singapore, his laws is more powerful then Singapore's laws and left behind a dud land of nannified citizens that do not have any idea how to change with the times, and change with foreigners influx.

No the 60% that continued to vote for him despite the fact that he had overstayed his welcome many times over are the ones to be blamed.

I_Hate_Pappies

FUCK LAH!:oIo:

How much his family and cronies benefited from his appointment? He's fucking paid for all these. You all talk machiam like he's a bloody saint doing of these without returns. :oIo::oIo::oIo: In which other country could he become a PM? Don't fucking tell me what he has done for the country, tell me what the country has given him back in returns! :oIo::oIo::oIo: People here are defending so hard as if he is currently a penniless lonely old man living in old folks home waiting for time after all he has done for Singapore.:oIo::oIo::oIo:

FUCK LAH!:oIo:

There's no need to get so worked up.

I know for a fact that LKY did everything he could out of his love for the country and its people. He could have led a comfortable life as a lawyer without all the pressures of being the PM.

Instead, he sacrificed his personal life for the sake of his fellow Singaporeans.

I_Hate_Pappies

I know for a fact that LKY did everything he could out of his love for the country and its people. He could have led a comfortable life as a lawyer without all the pressures of being the PM.

Instead, he sacrificed his personal life for the sake of his fellow Singaporeans.

Or he can go Japan and be a translator since he has got the experience. :wink:

escher

LANGJIAO

Smear of shit Lee Kuan Yew feared like fuck that his skeletons will be uncovered.
If anyone in a company do not take leave and dare not go on leave, it is a known fact that bugger got lots
of things to hide and dare not take leave in case people uncovered what he been doing

LKY screwed and fucked us so much that he feared people find out what he done.
800++ billions of our money and CPF got screwed and sucked into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY Stinkapore sovereign funds and to pay his
fucking maggots in white and running dogs and kangaroos.
LKY got no fucking personal life, his life forever haunted by ghosts and demons.

Such as the first wife of Ahloong. Who conveniently committed suicide. No doubt a similar kind of suicide like what inflcited Todd.
LKY seemed to leave a fucking trail of suicides whenever he left his fucking slimey trail

When LKY finally eat joss sticks and candle wax, he be facing the real demons he created.
May those ghosts and demons give LKY the same kind of treatment as LKY given to them.

kingrant

The Old man held himself out to be a moderatist, so the Brits found in him the least harmful of the other two, who were then david marshall and Lim Yew Hock. LKY said it so himself in his 12 radio talks Battle for Merger. Marshall wore his heart on his sleeves so was perceived to be soft on the Communists, whereas Lim Yew Hock was perceived to be too hard, which antagonised the Communists even more and provoked more trouble. So the Brits had to settle for LKY. So by playing favourites and playing games with the Brits, LKY ingratiated himself with the Brits. What's so hard abt being a slimy opportunist playing both sides?

Before entering into merger with Malaysia, he again jumped into bed with the British and the Tengku and backstabbed his comrades in PAP by manipulating the British and Tengku into using the ISC to put them away in Op Cold store, and then making it looked as if he was outvoted in the ISC, so that he could grab power all for himself. He knew that he was no match for Lim Chin Siong and his mass popular support in the Chinese middle schools, the unions and the clan associations.

Mostly LKY was a manipulating scheming coward, cowering behind the British and the Tengku, and had said things in 1955-59 which he would backtracked after getting into power. After the communists pulled the rug from under him in 1961, when they sacked every branch office, and over 60% of his branch leaders defected to the Barisan Sosialis, he was totally shattered. He was recorded as staring at the ceiling at a loss of what to do next and was all going to throw in the towel. Only Dr Toh and Goh KS had the gumption and gall to fight on and told him to stop whinging and start rebuilding. Without the resoluteness and toughness of his comrades, he would long have keeled over and gave up.

So when faced with competition, he was not unbeatable. In fact he actually lost in 1961 to the powerful Chin Siong gang. Only when the Brits and Tengku locked them up did he have any hope in the 1963 GE and thereafter. And always by eliminating his rivals thru his many manouvres to capture all the state apparatus for his own total control.

The bastard has got no heart, no humanity. He called it pragmatism. But it was opportunism, coldbloodedness, calculating and being ever chamelion-like. How he manipulated and often criticising the Americans in the 1970s but yet begging them to stay in Asia to counter the Viets and the Chinese. The bastard is an unashamed maggot.

Remember when he was on the steamship going to Cambridge as a student, there was water rationing on board, but he sneakily woke up an hr earlier and took the other people's ration to bathe and wash. What do you tihnk of such a man?

During the Jap occupation, he worked for the Kempetai by translating the messages from English to Japanese and betrayed the Allies cause, causing the loss of many people's lives by his action. And his rationale: it was the only work he could find. What a shmuck!

Why is it so hard to hate him? No, not hate. But despise is the better word.

Without LKY's knuckleduster politics in the early 60s, law and order and stability would not have been achieved and the industrialisation phase would never have come to pass.

LKY had the mongrel in him that no other politician in his team had. The rest were technocrats not leaders. His foes were formidable. The rest of the founding members would never had defeated the BS without his leadership.

Singapore without LKY would have been like Apple computer without Steve J. Wozniak was the brains but it was Jobs that started the revolution.

akunei

you go measure his so called contributions to the damage he has done lor.......
History written by the victors..........
One example....The fact that we got the fast tracked FT policies now can also contribute to LKY's exceptional vision of stop at 2 campaign.........
If i am member of the Lee aristocrats i will no doubt worship him as god as he single handedly started the dynasty for his relations to enjoy wealth and privilege.

in any country, economy comes first then followed by the rest. if yr economy is doing fine, it will attract investments and create jobs.
I believed that his focus on economy is right (at that time) and thus we are well positioned ahead of others. Along the way, there may be some mistakes here and there but he got his first major step right.

issues such as FT policies or stop-at-2 could be hard to digest. but again, these policies are aim at driving economy which by now has caused a lot of unhappiness among citizens. but that certainly doesn't deserved yr hatred towards him.

Why is it so hard to hate him? No, not hate. But despise is the better word.

Your mind has been poisoned by anti LKY propaganda.

If LKY was the weasel you make him out to be, he would not be respected the world over by his peers.

singham

he can summon so much support from sinkies, young and old from his generation, proves that he is a political animal. probably, influenced by his education in great britain when those days GB was the greatest country.

Can provide some examples? He can't even win a debate against CSJ.