• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

so you've finished your lo hei.....

how many times have you participated in LO HEI /
YOU KNOW WHAT TO SAY?

here is a guide...happy chap goh me..............HAPPY LO HEI !!!!:smile:

Step 1 - Say “Gong Xi Fa Cai” (恭喜发财) & “Wan Shi Ru Yi” (万事如意) when you place shredded carrots & radish on the plate or place the yu sheng on the table

Step 2 - Say “Da Ji Da Li” (大吉大利) & “Ku Jin Jin Lai”(苦尽甘来) when you squeeze in lime or lemon over the fish yu sheng

Step 3 - Say “Nian Nian You Yu” (年年有余) when you place the fish yu sheng on the shredded carrots & radish.

Step 4 - Say “Hong Yun Dang Tou” (鸿运当头) when you sprinkle the red pickled ginger slices

Step 5 - Say “Jin Sha Man Tang” (金沙满堂) when you sprinkle in the chopped peanuts & toasted sesame seeds

Step 5 - Say “zhao cai jin bao” (招财进宝) when you sprinkle pepper all over the dish

Step 6 - Say “Wu Fu Lin Men” (五福临门) when you sprinkle the cinnamon powder & five spice powder

Step 7 - Say “Fu Yun Nian Nian” (富运年年) & “Rong Hua Fu Gui” (荣华富贵) when you drizzle in the peanut oil

Step 8 - Say “Tian Tian Mi Mi” (甜甜蜜蜜) when you drizzle in the plum sauce or kumquat paste or sprinkle in some pickled melon

Step 9 - Say “Man Di Huang Jin” (满地黄金) when you toss in the Pok Chui fried crackers

Step 10 - Say “Bu Bu Gao Sheng” (步步高升),”Feng Sheng Shui Qi” (风生水起), “Zheng Ti Jian Kang” (身体健康) while you toss your Chinese New Year Yu Sheng!

is it true all these will come true if we toss more yu sheng?

what about those vegetarian yu sheng lo hei?

the same ? more luck, more prosperity and more " smooth sailing" ?

haut ah!!!!!!!!! HAPPY CHAP GOH MEH.....

Yusheng, yee sang or yuu sahng (Chinese: 鱼生; pinyin: yúshēng; Pe̍h-ōe-jī: hî-seⁿ or hû-siⁿ), or Prosperity Toss, also known as lo hei (Cantonese for 撈起 or 捞起) is a Teochew-style raw fish salad. It usually consists of strips of raw fish (most commonly salmon), mixed with shredded vegetables and a variety of sauces and condiments, among other ingredients. Yusheng literally means "raw fish" but since "fish (鱼)" is commonly conflated with its homophone "abundance (余)", Yúshēng (鱼生) is interpreted as a homophone for Yúshēng (余升) meaning an increase in abundance. Therefore, yusheng is considered a symbol of abundance, prosperity and vigor.

While versions of it are thought to have existed in China, the contemporary version is created and popularised[citation needed] in the 1960s amongst the ethnic Chinese community and its consumption has been associated with Chinese New Year festivities in Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore. In Malaysia and Singapore, government, community and business leaders often take the lead in serving the dish as part of official functions during the festive period or in private celebrity dinners.

Fishermen along the coast of Guangzhou traditionally celebrated Renri, the seventh day of the Chinese New Year, by feasting on their catches. The practice of eating raw fish in thinly sliced strips can be traced back to ancient China through the raw fish or meat dish known as kuai (膾, kuài). However the present form of yusheng is believed to have started in Chaozhou and Shantou as far back as the Southern Song Dynasty[citation needed]. In Malaya's colonial past, migrants imported this tradition; porridge stalls sold a raw fish dish which is believed to have originated in Jiangmen, Guangdong province that consisted of fish, turnip and carrot strips, which was served with condiments of oil, vinegar and sugar that were mixed in by customers.

The modern yusheng dish debut during Lunar New Year of 1964 in Singapore's Lai Wah Restaurant (Established in Sept. 1963). It was created by four master chefs namely: Than Mui Kai (Tham Yu Kai, co-head chef of Lai Wah Restaurant), Lau Yoke Pui (co-head chef of Lai Wah Restaurant), Hooi Kok Wai (Founder of Dragon-Phoenix Restaurant) and Sin Leong (Founder of Sin Leong Restaurant), as a symbol of prosperity and good health amongst the Chinese . All four Chefs were named as the "Four Heavenly Culinary Kings" of Singapore some 40 years ago for their culinary prowess and ingenuity.

In 1970s, Lai Wah Restaurant started the modern-day method of serving Yu Sheng with a pre-mixed special sauce comprising plum sauce, rice vinegar, kumquat paste and sesame oil --- instead of customers mixing inconsistently-concocted sauce.

yusheng.jpg

where is the best place for the best yu sheng dish???

Lai Wah Restaurant was the world’s 1st restaurant to serve Chinese New Year Yusheng in 1964.

The modern-day method of serving Yusheng with a pre-mixed special sauce comprising plum sauce, rice vinegar, kumquat paste and sesame oil is also created by Lai Wah’s chefs.

Min Jiang’s style of Yusheng is the serving of flying fish roe, wasabi ebiko (prawn roe), french chives, mesclun greens, crunchy sweet potato, yam strips and pine nuts. It’s dressed with a tangy secret sweet sauce and lime juice — a combination you’ll never tire of.

p_ys2.jpg

Tung Lok‘s Yusheng style is the dish served with salmon, fresh vegetables, golden needle mushrooms, yam and shredded sweet potato, served with plum sauce and a dash of lime.

p_ys4.jpg

Sweet Japanese Shrimps are featured in Yu Sheng dish of Golden Peony. Executive Chinese Chef Chung Ho Shi introduces two creative Yusheng dishes: Ama Ebi Yu Sheng and Hoy Sum Lo Hei Yu Sheng, using US Scallop, pan-seared and golden fried to perfection with crunchy Coral Weed. This is accompanied with a choice of traditional Sweet Plum Sauce or Mildly-spiced Sweet Sauce.

p_ys5.jpg

shctaw

This picture no salmon; only abalone.

Tung Lok‘s Yusheng style is the dish served with salmon, fresh vegetables, golden needle mushrooms, yam and shredded sweet potato, served with plum sauce and a dash of lime.

p_ys4.jpg

p_ys3.jpg

Jiang – Nan Chun is renowned for traditional Cantonese cuisine served in contemporary style. It is the best restaurant to savour Yu-Sheng in Cantonese style, served with Salmon, Abalone, Poached Lobster, Japanaeses Surf Clam, Fried Shredded Potato, Fried Vermicelli and Fried Shredded Yam.

I still go for Ah HOR yu sheng at my favourite kopitiam ...use siatoh fish!!!/....the best!@!!

all the salmon and abalone just adulterate the original version...huat ah!!!

HAPPY CHAP GOH MEH TO EVERYONE!!!!!! ALL THE BEST FOR THE YEAR OF THE SNAKE!!!...take care hor:smile:

kulgai

is it true all these will come true if we toss more yu sheng?

what about those vegetarian yu sheng lo hei?

the same ? more luck, more prosperity and more " smooth sailing" ?

haut ah!!!!!!!!! HAPPY CHAP GOH MEH.....

This is what I call fat hope. If that's the case, everyone should be healthy, successfull and prosperous after so much lohei. hehe.. what do u think?

shctaw

Assorted-Fruits-with-Chicken-Duck-Lo-Hei-Min-Jiang-at-One-North.jpg

The most creative Lo Hei of 2013. At Min Jiang Goodwood Park Hotel.

They use fruits, chicken and duck.