• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Slot games, Casino Rewards & Privileges

Kia0042

Straight from the horse's mouth, was attending to this dealer from MXX during the course of work ....chatted ....

ONLY Table Game that is neutral there is baccarrat
Don't play the other table games as the dealers have been taught somehow to get hold of the cards 1st/special way so they have the advantage ... so beware :wink:

There is a baccarat tournment going on at MBS now, requires entrance fee $80 somemore. :confused:
The prize pool is 10Million dollar! hmmmm, i no interest leh.

MBS promotion for slot play - 25% of your PD earned each day will automatically converted into slot credits -Example : If you earned 100 pts today, that is 200PD, you can use 50PD to convert into slot credits, the balance 150PD goes into your account.

aurvandil

Oh yah, laugh at myself for spending time and money at 2cts CE analysing the payout percentage of each machine.:o

I have been up Genting a couple of times to conduct "experiments". Some findings you might useful:

1) The return increases with the machine denomination. It is therefore better to play 5 cents 1 credit than 1 cent 5 credits.

2) The optimum number of lines to play for many games is 5. If you cannot strike with 5, you will not probably strike even if you play with 20 or 30 lines. If you watch the games long enough, you will notice that whether you win is usually determined by the first 2 columns. Because of this, you will get better returns playing 5 x 5 rather than 25 x 1.

3) It is pointless to try and figure out which are the "loose" machines as the machine return can be quite easily changed. Instead, it is better to spread your play across a large number of machines (e.g. 30). This can be done by limiting play on each machine to 5 mins before moving on to another machine. You probably enjoy your play more too as you avoid those unhappy incidents of a "uncooperative" machine eating up your entire BR. Bonus of course is that because you are walking around and have to sometimes wait before you get to play, you play a little less and therefore lose a little less.

Fook Seng

aurvandil said:
I have been up Genting a couple of times to conduct "experiments". Some findings you might useful:

1) The return increases with the machine denomination. It is therefore better to play 5 cents 1 credit than 1 cent 5 credits.

2) The optimum number of lines to play for many games is 5.

3) Instead, it is better to spread your play across a large number of machines (e.g. 30). This can be done by limiting play on each machine to 5 mins before .

If you have gone up only a couple of times, statistically the results of your "experiments" cannot be too significant.

aurvandil

If you have gone up only a couple of times, statistically the results of your "experiments" cannot be too significant.

That's very true.

1) is based on the observation of other gamblers. Thus far, my experience at Genting seems to confirm this.

2) is fortunately testable these days. Aristocrat has released some of their classics on Apple. WMS games can also be purchased for the PC. After simulating more than 100,000 runs for 2 of my favourite WMS games available in Genting, a 5 x5 has consistently outperfomed a 25x1.

Finally for 3), the reason you are simply averaging your risk. As I mentioned in the posting, the walking around and looking for another machine to play reduces the time you actually play. You don't win more but you do lose less.

In any case 1) to 3) don't let you beat the casino. You simply lose less compared to players who sit there playing max bet max credit.

jjcc888

Dunno why but I was logged out these couple of days and had to change my password again before could log back in .... :confused::confused:

Well today 27 Nov is my RWS Annual Levy Expiry Date and last night when I read the RWS Email on the 70% Off Luxury Sale Last Day today (only 2 days on Sat & Sun) I was toying with the idea of making a trip down RWS to look-see etc
But guess sheer inertia/laziness and LOW slot urge is keeping me away ... still got to get my hair washed etc etc etc ....

Mmmm .... maybe the sheer thought/probability of losing more $$ is keeping me away .... :p :o
SIGHS .... when I think of the other possibilities I could have gotten with the LOST $$$ here
eg. lots of better travel trips, lots more even-higher-end branded handbags and watches etc

At the end of the day - it's NO longer fun when the loss/input is not matched/evened up somewhat by at least One or Two REASONABLY BIG WINs (or output/returns) of at least the 2nd JPs level (which I NEVER EVER GOT during my past over 1-year Slot Play at both MBS and RWS :( :mad: )
ie. for me the Entertainment Fees for this expensive slot play is just Too Much (when there is NO returns for it somehow)
Unfortunately I'm NOT like bro Kia with his deep pockets (and his occasional BIG Wins/returns) to be able to continue with such an expensive hobby on a regular basis ...... will have to be only Occasional Treats for me now onwards and only when the Slot Urge/Extra $/Luck Feeling is/are pretty strong

And also I'm now more inclined spending my time towards looking at Deals etc and to make future plans concerning TRAVEL, SPA/Hair, Meals/Dining, etc rather than focus on the casinos/slots (as even now less inclined to play the Free Online Slots at the various sites even tho' they have more/increased slot games too)
hahahah .... with the deal expiry deadlines too .... my free time will be spent on the appointments for these various heavily-discounted spa/hair/mani&pedicure deals (most Fridays & some Sats gone on these) ....
Also for Travel - eg. have made plans to go away for a pre-New Year-cum-Mom's Birthday getaway and a CNY Getaway too
(Now also waiting for my busy galfriend to confirm whether to do a "sort of Buddy-Valentine Getaway in Feb" or in March as I'll need to clear my carried-forward max 5-days by end-March too .... also got to save some $$ for our next big travel destination Scandinavia sometime in 2012 (Spring/Autumn ?)
SO my time is kept fully-occupied by these seemingly much-more-healthy activities (+ on the pocket too + with returns ) rather than the unhealthy Slot Play at the casinos without meaningful returns (at least so far for me) :wink::rolleyes::p

But whatever - my Good Wishes for the remaining Slot Warriors
I guess I'll still be reading the forum - so pls KEEP POSTING ......

aurvandil

SO my time is kept fully-occupied by these seemingly much-more-healthy activities (+ on the pocket too + with returns ) rather than the unhealthy Slot Play at the casinos without meaningful returns (at least so far for me) :wink::rolleyes::p

But whatever - my Good Wishes for the remaining Slot Warriors
I guess I'll still be reading the forum - so pls KEEP POSTING ......

I think the best analogy to draw with casino gambling is probably with Nasi Bryani.

In the past, it used to be a rich dish eaten only during special occasions like weddings. These days, you can choose to eat it everyday at the numerous stalls which offer it. There is generally no problem if you eat Nasi Bryani only on special occasions. If however you eat it every other day, you will probably set yourself up for a heart attack.

The same applies to casinos. They are fun to visit once in a while when you are on holiday. However if you buy the $2k levy and go every other day, you are setting yourself up for some serious losses. As you have probably learnt first hand, there is no secret gambling kung fu taught by mysterious ah peks and junket operators which can let you consistently beat the casino.

As such, i have therefore not been to any of the Singapore casinos since they open. Instead I drop by Genting once it a while with some kakis to have some fun.

If you buy the PP package, you get the rooms for free. If you buy the daily packages and use Genting points, you can probably eat for free for the entire trip. If you book early, a return flight (Air Asia) and bus ticket from the LCCT works out to only about $100, the price of a 24 hr levy !

I used to play triple shot high stakes Baccarat but have sinced switched to playing slots to roll over the nn credit from the PP package. Although the casino slot edge is higher than baccarat, the higher number of GP I earn more than make up the difference.

Average loss per 3D/2N trip is between RM 200 to RM 500 which is really cheap for 3D/2N holiday that covers food and room.

Kia0042

Interesting "Nasi Biryani" theory, Tambi. I am eating it almost everyday and I know how to balance it by drinking Neem tea. :wink:
I am comfortable with my current gambling status and pay less interest with jackpot prizes. Chasing after JP was the most horrible mistake that I have made, I am out of that for almost 6 months and I found that my wallet gets "healthier".
Whenever I walk by FFF, CE and Prosperity slot areas, I pity those players who chase after JP.... I can only wish them good luck deep from my heart and hope they "wake up" sooner.

aurvandil

I am comfortable with my current gambling status and pay less interest with jackpot prizes.

Among all those who were active in the casino gambling threads, it looks like both of us are still the only ones standing. I suspect we might be the only ones who continue playing in the long run.

I will probably be going up to Genting in Jan with my regular gang of kakis. They are having a 1-for-1 Genting room offer. For as little as 9 GP, you can get a Resort room and they will comp you a resort room free.

http://www.rwgenting.com/en/casino/promotions/2011_genting_wc_roomsfair0711.htm

You can also get free meals for as little as 3 GP.

http://www.rwgenting.com/en/casino/promotions/2011_3gp.htm

We booked our flights early so we are only paying about $100 (the cost of a 24 hr levy !) for a return flight + bus ticket to Genting.

It is shaping up to be a busy and hectic end to 2011 for me and I am looking forward to unwind with some friends. I know you don't like travelling but it migth be something you want to consider doing if you are bored with RWS/MBS and want a change of scenery. I beleive the points you have accumulated on your RWS card can be converted to GP at the rate of 2:1.

Kia0042

It is not that I don't like to travel, I love to travel but I just can't overcome my serious motion sickness, the sickness has been bothering me for years and it can't be cured. I always being sarcastic that I am haoliao, can drive (own) car so can't take public transport lor, so next time fly with own aeroplane lah, can travel oversea liao lor, I am really sick to hear that!

So, I am swtiching to RWS end of this month (consider change of scenery / overseas also :rolleyes:). I still have balance of 10k+ MBS PD which I intend to exchange for wines :wink: Not returning to MBS in short future after switching so I got to need a bigger wine cabinet to stock my wines. :p
I have learnt to reduce bet after a year of slot play at MBS, I may not increase my bet amount after switching to RWS even the payout percentage is known to be better, likely to remain at $3/$6. :wink: Wellaware that betting higher is just shortening my slot life, so, maintain my current bet amount enable me to continue my fun game. :wink:

Mindless

Hi everyone. Nice to see that there are still some life in this forum.

Anyway, in the last 4 weeks, I have been to MBS once and RWS thrice. 2 win 2 loss. Overall slight positive.

My best run were from 3 specific games in orders of win from highest to the lowest: Indian Dreaming 5c (Aristocrat), Crown of Egypt 2c (IGT) and Holiday in Venice 5c (IGT). For ID, I was lucky to get full house of Sheeps with X 3 and X 5 multiplier. I hardly play this game. But once a while, I will just try. It is a very volatile game. For COE, I had many free games and was confident enough to max play to catch the free games. Had a few retriggers too. The free spins were so so but the frequent free games kept me going and going. For HiV, I had a few features but only one that retriggered 10 times for 165 spins! That was really fun. I left it on auto mode without stopping the spin, for fear of messing up the pattern :smile: How I wish it will go on forever....... :biggrin:

My forgetable sessions were at Gold rush. Couldnt get any good spin for the usual 5K, 5D, FK etc. Btw there are 2 new games at Gold rush....Double happiness and Fortune princess. Tried both. DH is ok. 3 random scatters to trigger free games. Quite fun but potential for big win is low. Fortune Princess, I didnt have any good memory. It just sucked my money without spitting out the bones.

Anyway, cheers and have fun at the slots for all the fans. Its the festive seasons again. Good luck.

Kia0042

I came across the word volatility sometimes back and I would like to share.

Copy & pasted from SMF:

Volatility in terms of slot is basically how it pays.

High volatile game is a game that can change rapidly from hot to cold, but usually pay big when it hits. On a high volatile game, you'll tend to find a lot more dry spells, but when it hits, it usually pays out quite well. Examples of high volatile games are: Timber Wolf, Fortune Foo, Monopolis, etc...

Low volatile games are games that do very little change from hot to cold, and usually has a pretty decent stream of low hits to keep you going. The odds of big pays aren't huge, but you'll find a lot of hits where you're getting your credits back per spin. Some examples of low volatile games would be 5D, 5K, FK, Palaces of the riches, Zeus, etc..

Listen to this familiar music:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ll9bZXgj3A

Mindless

Thanks Kia. I think 80-90% of my time/BR spent on non-volatile games. The remainder are for volatile games like Timber Wolf and Indian Dreaming.

On Timber Wolf & Indian Dreaming, the feature hardly comes. After the feature comes, it may be necessary to stop playing because it may take ages for another free spin. I had a good spin on Timber Wolf 2 months ago with Full House "Man" with X3 & X5 mulitipliers.

The high volatile games can offer lots of frustration (especially with the many 2 scatters tease) and very occasional pleasant surprise for a big win:p

aurvandil

I came across the word volatility sometimes back and I would like to share.

It can be sometimes qquite difficult to determine the volatility of a game by just looking at the pay tables. If you are interested to know, slot junkie has the most comprehensive listing of the volatility ratings of the various slots. The following is an example of the 50 lions which I remember you like to play:

http://www.slotjunkies.net/online-slots/aristocrat/50-lions-slot/

jjcc888

I was down at MBS last night Tues 6th Dec [NOT the MBS Casino] ...
BUT at the Grand Theatre for the gala opening night of the WICKED Musical :biggrin::wink::p:smile:

My friend's boss didn't want to go and asked my friend to go instead (with me tagging along hehehe) as VIP Guests of one of the sponsors CANON
Very very good seats very near the stage .... enjoyed ourselves !
Hope CANON will again invite them for some other upcoming events :smile:

Didn't have time to renew my PA Card then ....maybe on this Fri (see how as taking leave for the morning making it a FULL Fri OFF for me - for some 3 Fridays this Dec month to clear some leave/short trip/etc )
Only have several hundred PDs remaining ... could just spend these easily on some meals etc
Same for my RWS Vouchers - must use them up early next year Feb/March

BTW - those free online slot websites (bet365, Kerching, Getminted, GamingClub, etc ) - all have interesting new/increased slot games
eg Grand Monarch butterfly slot, Siberian Tiger, etc etc etc

Mindless

On RWS vouchers, I also have a couple hundreds left. Unfortunately, it cannot be used in all shops. You can used it in Universal Studios shops and RWS gift shops. I used it at Feng Shui Inn restaurants (ate there 2 weeks back with the family. It was a good experience-nice food and ambience).

Kia0042

Hi jjcc88,
The great exchange is back again 6AM-6PM Fri ~ Sun and if you are going to the casino this Fri, just head to PA counter and check how much you can convert your PD to slot credits. 5D Machine 1110 & 1109 still remain friendly, you may like to try.
Thanks for the links to those online slot games, hope to see more Aristocrat games available online.

The new version 5D Deluxe (don't when is it going to be available here) seems more interesting and addictive. It addon 2 new bonus features, Green Dragon with 6 feature games x15, x30, x40, and during the free spin, any 1 green dragon head appears on screen awarded with 1 addition free spin. :eek: Another Purple Dragon new feature which I hardly see from the video, not sure how it pays?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07XF4spTDaU&feature=related

HellBoy

2) The optimum number of lines to play for many games is 5. If you cannot strike with 5, you will not probably strike even if you play with 20 or 30 lines. If you watch the games long enough, you will notice that whether you win is usually determined by the first 2 columns. Because of this, you will get better returns playing 5 x 5 rather than 25 x 1.

3) It is pointless to try and figure out which are the "loose" machines as the machine return can be quite easily changed. Instead, it is better to spread your play across a large number of machines (e.g. 30). This can be done by limiting play on each machine to 5 mins before moving on to another machine. You probably enjoy your play more too as you avoid those unhappy incidents of a "uncooperative" machine eating up your entire BR. Bonus of course is that because you are walking around and have to sometimes wait before you get to play, you play a little less and therefore lose a little less.

Hi aurvandil,

Thanks for sharing your tips. I also like to do no. 3 in Genting :biggrin:

One thing i notices during my last 2 trips to Genting, i saw quite a few auntie playing 81 ways. Anybody knows why? Is the rentur better with 81ways?
I always play max lines (273? ways) as i don't want to miss any "big prize".

aurvandil

One thing i notices during my last 2 trips to Genting, i saw quite a few auntie playing 81 ways. Anybody knows why? Is the rentur better with 81ways?
I always play max lines (273? ways) as i don't want to miss any "big prize".

It is a myth that the payout for slots is consistent regardless of the number of lines you pay. Because of the huge number of combinations, there is usually a variation of between 1% to 2% in the payout depending on the number of lines you play.

Most of the casinos and slot makers don't want advantage players to figure out what is the optimum number of lines to play. Hence they have been very reluctant to release the slots in a format where advantage players can use Monte Carlo simualtion to simulate a large number of plays to figure out the optimum play. Aristocrat for example only release their games for the Iphone and Ipad. With the limited number of tools on this platform, this makes testing hard. WMS released some of their games for the PC and I was able to do some testing. My findings appeared to support the hypothesis proposed by a friend of mine with regard to playing 5 lines.

Based on the the simulations I have done, the optimum play is almost certain not to be the max number of lines. When I first started playing, I used to play max lines. Observing the people around me, I noticed that this was one of the favourite combinations. Later testing revealed that this usually yields one of the poorest long term returns. The optimum number of lines to play is usually somewhere in the middle of the number of lines you can play.

For 81 vs 243, I have not done any testing so I cannot comment. Perhaps the aunties have instinctively stumbled onto the optimum number of lines to play. Until the slot is released for home play and we can do some Monte Carlo simulations, there is no way to know.

The other thing to consider also of course is Genting Points. As mentioned before, Genting allocates more GP if you play 5x5 as opposed to 25x1.

Also clear caveat as before. Even if you find the optimum number of lines to play, you can't beat the casino. All you do is do better than the person sitting there pressing Max Bet Max Credit.

Kia0042

81, 243, 720 and 1024 ways
243 ways (full lines) or 81 ways, the result is still the same. The only different I can think of is the Lenght of your play time.:wink:

HellBoy

Hi Guys, thanks for the response.

I think one thing we can agree is that "max lines max credits" is the fastest way to go!!!
I'll try out the "5x5" & "81ways" methods during my next casino trip :smile:

Good luck to all.