• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SINGAPOREANS tricked into poly educations

†††††

Why SPORE keep promoting POLY education as they recruits foreign degree holders?????? i dont understand

Oct 8, 2010
Poly sector growing
By Leow Si Wan
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20101008/nyp.jpg
PHOTO: NANYANG POLYTECHNIC

A POLYTECHNIC education will become more relevant and valuable in the next two decades.

At the closing ceremony of the 14th Polytechnic Forum on Friday night - a platform for poly students to discuss current and national issues - Education Minister Ng Eng Hen said the polytechnic sector here has bucked the global trend by continuing to expand.

Addressing 300 students from the five polytechnics at the Ngee Ann Convention Centre, he said: 'We are among the very few countries that have kept the polytechnic sector. Countries such as the United Kingdom, New Zealand and Hong Kong have either amalgamated their polytechnics with specific universities or converted them to full universities.'

In Singapore, however, about 42 per cent of the Primary 1 cohort go on to enrol at polytechnics, up from just 5 per cent 20 years ago. Numbers are expected to grow to 45 per cent of the cohort by 2015.

He added that one in three students in Singapore who qualify for junior college opts to attend a polytechnic instead. Demand, he said, is increasing. Employers describe polytechnic graduates here as 'industry-ready the very day they graduate', Dr Ng said.

He also said that Singapore's polytechnics show how institutions can be responsive to a changing environment, where employers are looking for more than just paper qualifications.

shOUTloud

Tricked? These boys and girls are escaping General Paper by moving en masse into polytechnics. They think they are being smart but siaming language will not help them when they try to be managers.

†††††

Tricked? These boys and girls are escaping General Paper by moving en masse into polytechnics. They think they are being smart but siaming language will not help them when they try to be managers.

common la, I have work with china first class honor who cant pronounce "save" la, they say say "sui it" instead of save it

vamjok

this is where you are wrong, at the workplace if you use those flowery language like those fucking arts students. get ready to be fucked by everyone for beating around the bush, especially your boss.

most important thing about language is being able to convey your points and make others believe in you.

congo9

Promotion is largely base on "COMMUNCATION". Ability to argue and talk your way through in logical matter is utmost important (when you are a manager).

You may not have all the answer to situation as a manager or supervisor. But as long as you can manage your thinking process well. Talk in a logical way . Present your point in a logical way.You may not be right , but you sounds right.That the most important matter that counts. Ability to assemble your talking point well and organise it step by step , make people think that you have a thinking process going on.That will make people feel secure with you.

Now you know why some complete ass hole who can't work, but seems to be able to move their way up in coporate ladder ( other then connection ). It just that he is born with that GIFT OF GAB !!!!!

Life is never fair though !

†††††

Promotion is largely base on "COMMUNCATION". Ability to argue and talk your way through in logical matter is utmost important (when you are a manager).

You may not have all the answer to situation as a manager or supervisor. But as long as you can manage your thinking process well. Talk in a logical way . Present your point in a logical way.You may not be right , but you sounds right.That the most important matter that counts. Ability to assemble your talking point well and organise it step by step , make people think that you have a thinking process going on.That will make people feel secure with you.

Now you know why some complete ass hole who can't work, but seems to be able to move their way up in coporate ladder ( other then connection ). It just that he is born with that GIFT OF GAB !!!!!

Life is never fair though !
GIFT OF GAB???? gift of cheebye better, last time when I worked in MNC, they look at your certs. . . . . .. and the useless foreign trash with gift of the gab cannot work

fukyuman

The PAP govt have been doing it all the while, making sure sinkies education reach their natural dead end. First it was technical stream, next vocational institutes or VITB, but parents wise up as many pai kias ended there. The in thing now is poly. These kids thinks its cool to take design or fine arts, wear pretty clothes to schools instead of uniforms. Poly is also the bastion of mandarin speaking so much that students don't even know how to speak simple English. When they go to workplace they will get the low pay jobs while the arty farty arts graduates get into managerial jobs just because they have the paper qualification plus their ability to bullshit. Its also easy for HR not to promote by citing lack of degree qualification. A university education may be worthless in many countries but not in Singapore.

lovesamleong

Tricked? Not according to Cedric Foo, the MP for West Coast GRC.

He is a poly grad and million dollar minister.

Cedric Foo Chee Keng

Educational Qualifications
1967-1972 PSLE (Kim Seng East Primary)
1973-1976 GCE `O' Level (Tanglin Technical)
1977-1980 Diploma (Singapore Polytechnic)
1983-1984 Bachelor's Degree (The University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) USA)
1984-1985 Master's Degree (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA))

eQuipment

sinkie education system is bound for failure. those without any idea what they wanna do in life, they will opt to go to extended secondary called Air-level. those that know what they wanna do/kena cheated by gahmen, will go to poly to pursue the courses offered.

the double standard admission exercises deter people with the genuine interest, allowing half hearted ones to enter the courses.

at the end of the day, all courses the same, they produce redundant skills. easily half of our population hold jobs that are remotely related to the skills they acquired in tertiary education.

cooleo

Polys need to stop fucking students with lameass courses that don't provide good employment opportunities.

shOUTloud

this is where you are wrong, at the workplace if you use those flowery language like those fucking arts students. get ready to be fucked by everyone for beating around the bush, especially your boss.

most important thing about language is being able to convey your points and make others believe in you.

Since when is the General Paper about flowery language? GP is precisely about conveying your points and making others believe in you. This requires critical thinking and a strong command of the English language. That's why these students siam like mad and run to the polys.

†††††

Since when is the General Paper about flowery language? GP is precisely about conveying your points and making others believe in you. This requires critical thinking and a strong command of the English language. That's why these students siam like mad and run to the polys.

the funny thing is our govt imported tons of foreign degree holders who cant write standard English statements

One Malaysian degree holder who works in a big local MNC wrote in his email

Meeting charge to 4 o'clock, see ya

I still remember when all secondary students had to do 2 years of metal work, wood work, basic electricity classes. Since my school didn't have the facilities so had to go to another school to do these workshops :( It was like NS for school children because attendance was compulsory.

Also had to do technical drawing. Remember having to carry the T-square to school:smile:

If I recall none of my classmates followed up with a technical career, so the 2 years of "extra" classes was wasted.

Many who chose to go into these trades must have been played out by the PAP's labor policies.

palden

Agreed. U seems so difficult to get in yet FT can go in easily. When comes to work we cannot deny that U grads have better cosy jobs than poly. In terms of prospect, we had not seen a poly MP or minister yet right?

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Dun be an idiot. Ppl go Poly to siam Chinese, not GP. What makes you think writing a business paper is so different from writing a GP?

What trick is there? If you're an academically average nobody in Singapore and seeking employment, it's either the factory or the army.