• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore’s government lost US$600 million… what now?

garlic

"In 2008, Temasek Holdings – the country’s other sovereign wealth fund – admitted to losing over US$46 billion in just eight months, from March to November. GIC is expected to have lost at least the same amount."

That's US$92b gone.. and the report focuses on US$600m?

this sprawling property has the potential of crawling back to a respectable value due to a housing recovery in important metro areas such as sf and ny. but no where near usd5.4b, which was hyperinflated. whoever assessed the value then needs to jump into the hudson.

ps: in fact, this is the time to strike. buy low, destroy everything, rebuild into a modern marvel and sell by the unit. the visionary beijing real estate billionairess can teach the americans something.

shOUTloud

"In 2008, Temasek Holdings – the country’s other sovereign wealth fund – admitted to losing over US$46 billion in just eight months, from March to November. GIC is expected to have lost at least the same amount."

That's US$92b gone.. and the report focuses on US$600m?

Look. TH and GIC lost a lot of money and they claimed they made a lot of money. All these are open to dispute. The "journalist" in this case is a shit-stirrer.

She should be reporting new developments and not stirring up shit from 5 years ago. That time frame is 2008 for a few months when the stock market plunged! Now taht the stock market is at record high, I can assure you that the fund managers at TH and GIC are giving themselves big fat bonuses.

Charlie99

Look. TH and GIC lost a lot of money and they claimed they made a lot of money. All these are open to dispute. The "journalist" in this case is a shit-stirrer.

She should be reporting new developments and not stirring up shit from 5 years ago. That time frame is 2008 for a few months when the stock market plunged! Now taht the stock market is at record high, I can assure you that the fund managers at TH and GIC are giving themselves big fat bonuses.

May be they should also take into consideration the gains and losses, not just give bonuses for the good years.

this sprawling property has the potential of crawling back to a respectable value due to a housing recovery in important metro areas such as sf and ny. but no where near usd5.4b, which was hyperinflated. whoever assessed the value then needs to jump into the hudson.

ps: in fact, this is the time to strike. buy low, destroy everything, rebuild into a modern marvel and sell by the unit. the visionary beijing real estate billionairess can teach the americans something.

The one who assessed, the seller, the buyer.....all spilt some under table money liao

Make it 76 lah, in line with life expectancy, 9 years higher than the first pension payout age suggested in Germany. Then pay you 1K a mth but decreases 100 per mth every year as you need less as you grow old. So at 87, must pay 100 per mth back to govt for living too long.

As long as we have 60% of the population, who cannot tell the difference between a hill & a mountain, the perpetual financing machine of the hard working people of the country, will continue to finance their "investments", without accountability & transparency. We have become too trusting, one day we may wake up to find out that, we are another "Cyprus" & we have to "SHAVE" our CPF monies to save a collapsing fund. WAKE UP 60% look around you...see the DANGER!

May be they should also take into consideration the gains and losses, not just give bonuses for the good years.

To the elites, like the MIW's it is Greed sharing, basing on Gross gains for there is no stopping them!. For people like you & me, the common people, it is lost sharing..we must take the cut, we must bite the bullet, we must work cheap, be productive, we must embrace the foreigners who come here & steal our rice bowls & listen to the mantras that they make employment for us.

We must be stupid...

Charlie99

To the elites, like the MIW's it is Greed sharing, basing on Gross gains for there is no stopping them!. For people like you & me, the common people, it is lost sharing..we must take the cut, we must bite the bullet, we must work cheap, be productive, we must embrace the foreigners who come here & steal our rice bowls & listen to the mantras that they make employment for us.

We must be stupid...

We are or you are not stupid,
but may be there are many who believe in LKY.

However, he may have been a great and honest leader, but I believe that transparency with the GIC of Singapore, Temasek Holdings and the national reserves, will do more good than harm.

I had a conversation with some Indonesian businessmen & they admired Spore because according to them the "corruption" in Spore is more organised :biggrin:

No insider trading if your advisor is not caught buying the same securities your mega fund is accumulating, vice versa.

escher

The President is part of the rip-off team.

A fucking kuchin kurad 600M lost can create so much cow ba cow bu.

Smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY regime screwed and fucked Sinkies 1000 times that amount, 600++BILLIONS,
AND YOU ALL KEPT FUCKING QUIET AND GO ON WORKING HARD TO EARN MORE $$$$ TO BE SCREWED AND FUCKED FROM ALL OF YOU.

SHOUTING AND SCREAMING ON THIS FUCKING PEANUT OF 600 MILLION

I THINK SINKIES ARE SO FUCKING STUPID IT IS NOT BELIEVABLE.

zeebjii

Socialize losses (CPF), privatize profits (fat bonuses).

We are or you are not stupid,
but may be there are many who believe in LKY.

It is more than being honest, there was must accountablity & transparency, wasn't he the one, when questioned, was it by an opposition leader about the books of GIC, Temasek?, that is not our interest to know?? Yes, we know he is HONEST, but isn't that protecting those who make grave mistakes...

Charlie99

It is more than being honest, there was must accountablity & transparency, wasn't he the one, when questioned, was it by an opposition leader about the books of GIC, Temasek?, that is not our interest to know?? Yes, we know he is HONEST, but isn't that protecting those who make grave mistakes...

Agree.
Thank you

escher

It is more than being honest, there was must accountablity & transparency, wasn't he the one, when questioned, was it by an opposition leader about the books of GIC, Temasek?, that is not our interest to know?? Yes, we know he is HONEST .

PUKE!

Smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY is the most dishonest and crooked bastard in all of creation.
LKY will make Marcos and Suharto and Madoff appear as innocent choir boys in comparison to him.

LKY used about the most dirty and underhand ways he could think of to maintain his power so he can continue to screw and fucked us of 600++ billions into his Stinkapore sovereign funds to play play with.

LKY IS NOT HONEST AND HAS NO FUCKING INTEGRITY AT ALL.
A DECOMPOSING RAT IN THE SEWER IS SO MUCH CLEANER THAN LKY.