• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SIA asks pilots to volunteer for unpaid leave

THE_CHANSTER

The Middle Eastern airlines are a good alternative to SIA, particularly Emirates, Etihad and Qatar.
Service standards and value for money are equivalent if not better.

blackmondy

The Middle Eastern airlines are a good alternative to SIA, particularly Emirates, Etihad and Qatar.
Service standards and value for money are equivalent if not better.

And dun have to worry abut terrorists on board as compared to US airlines....

iluvgst

overpriced for the service standard. the competition has already caught up and sq has lost considerable market share.

Capano2121

lumpar one airline run by lumpar one management, using lumpar one airplanes maintained by lumpar one maintenance company, serviced by lumpar one hostesses, flown by lumpar one pilots, based in lumpar one airport, commanding lumpar one ticket fares leh!
Now have to be lumpar one in asking pilots to take lumpar one no pay leave? What happened to the lumpar one shit skin pilots from lumpar one shitland?

soikee

SIA deserves to die!

Their airfares are the most expensive and even though I was a SQ PPS passenger, I've stopped flying with them for many years.

Am sick of the same old caviar and foie gras which they've been serving in 1st class for the last 40 plus years.

I'm surprised that SIA is finding it hard to compete especially since they can keep cost low by hiring cheap 3rd world talent. Where else but in Spore can an employer practice age discrimination e.g. only young stewardesses are allowed in the cabins.

I can only conclude that the problem lies with expensive upper management costs. All those PAP & paper generals cost $$$$ :rolleyes: Same, same with our expensive bus fares, train fares, town councils,.... they are all over staffed by expensive elites.

andyfisher

SIA is no more a national institution than the PA.
Only an idiot takes SIA nowadays, EK and any other gulf airlines as well as the other majors give more value.
The SIA stewardesses also CMI, u get much better service on MAS and the minahs are so much more curvy and nice :smile:

Capano2121

SIA is no more a national institution than the PA.
Only an idiot takes SIA nowadays, EK and any other gulf airlines as well as the other majors give more value.
The SIA stewardesses also CMI, u get much better service on MAS and the minahs are so much more curvy and nice :smile:

Always love GARUDA! Always love cewek to start with!

Satyr

Sad to say SQ has lost what was the best thing about the experience -the quality of their crew. At one time crew were proud to represent SQ. Now you see so many of them with frozen expressions and dead eyes. As though they would rather be elsewhere. A sure sign of poor morale. To save money they recruit non-Singaporeans. These people can never bear your flag with pride. And yet their fares are bloody expensive. Worse still they charge Singaporeans more. This is symptomatic of Singapore. Squeeze locals, welcome foreigners. Plus they are stingy. As a Elite Gold member of many years I have been upgraded just twice. My United airlines 1K friend gets upgraded often. They do not know how to build loyalty. Will fly ME or Jap airlines for a year until SQ improves.

blackmondy

also too much make-up and make-over. some of them i met when they are off in civil, look real horrible....:(

"No choice, we gotta use up all the make-up before their expiry date mah...."

tumblr_lxk749puvc1qb9nsso1_500.jpg

SINGAPORE (AFP) - Singapore Airlines (SIA) has asked its captains to volunteer for unpaid leave amid a global economic slowdown that has dented long-haul travel demand, the airline said on Saturday.

The move came nearly a year after the company - considered a bellwether for the full-service airline industry - made a similar offer to its first officers.

The airline has also frozen its intake of cadet pilots as part of a slew of cost-cutting measures.

"Singapore Airlines began offering voluntary no-pay leave to first officers in March last year and subsequently to captains who expressed interest," company spokesman Nicholas Ionides said in a statement emailed to Agence France-Presse.

All the pilots strike or quit to join another airline, see what SIA can do?

And yet their fares are bloody expensive.

The money goes into feeding the worthless management, possibly those ex-PAP and ex-SAF trash.

Best to vote with your wallet and fly another airline. Don't let silly patriotism cloud your rational judgement.

blackmondy

All the pilots strike or quit to join another airline, see what SIA can do?

SMRT and SBS will "upgrade" their bus captains to airplane pilot captains....

Where else can you find "captains" for less than $1500 a month ?

That means SIA can and still be lumpar 1 if not for all the useless mgt in their midst,,what happen to when LKY say that SIA is establish strictly as a commercial entity and the gahmen will not bail them out if it screws up? LKY is still in parliament so he does not stand by what he say?

The money goes into feeding the worthless management, possibly those ex-PAP and ex-SAF trash.

Best to vote with your wallet and fly another airline. Don't let silly patriotism cloud your rational judgement.

SIA Girls are still world's number one lah...give it to them...they deserve it...:smile:

art-Singapore-Airlines-Flight-Attendants-420x0.jpg