• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shane Todd's murder cover-up

escher

Re: 3.40AM his hardrive was accessed remotely!!

The Police and Coroner's obligations are to protect the interest of the deceased and not the parents.

And that is so in all other civilized countries.

Stinkapore is a fucking stinking dictatorship under a fucking regime and the police and coroners obligations here will be to toe
the line of that they are told to do.

They will have to find a suicide regardless. We seen that done in Ah Loong first wife and Teh Cheang Wan.

Even if Shane head is found beside his body, the police and coroner will say it was a clear case of suicide and Shane cut off his own head.
And the running dogs and stooges will jump in and say that is so.

But then, you all know that.

ray_of_hope

The fact is that the parents had concocted a story of a hidden HDD which SPF missed. The fact is that the HDD was already found, stupidly accessed by the investigator before passing it to them.

On this point itself, I would discount everything they are saying. Liers.

This is the thing about Americans. Michael Fay thought that what happened to him would bring him a fortune with movie rights etc. He is still waiting for his million bucks.

One of his colleagues at IME has already testified he was simply tasked with logistical matters and not anything serious. In most research organisations around the globe Todd's first job upon graduation with a PhD would be considered a "post-doc".

That's the story that IME wants the public to believe. That's a simple lie. If he was dealing with 'logistical matters', why was he working on that project?

Looks like the FBI and US Embassy were already long acquainted with all aspects of this incident. Hence, their reluctance to do go to bat aggressively for the parents. Not even a single public statement has been made by the US Embassy, which is very unusual considered an American citizen who has died abroad in supposedly suspicious circumstances with all the hoopla generated by a lengthy story in the FT. I am quite sure the Embassy will just do the minimum, as in providing consular services, to humour the parents

I am sure the embassy and US government are aware of sinkapore's role in transferring US technology to PRC. While they may close an eye to that as nothing major has been compromised, it does not mean they condone it.
I would not deem silence from the Administration and the embassy as agreement with the sinkapore's government conclusion. They know that Congress has already taken up the matter to investigate sinkapore's role in transfer of technology to PRC and won't want to add more fuel to that investigation by making statements on Todd's death.

Because too many suicide cases here. If every case must treat like murder, then police force need to double in size liao.

You don't draw any conclusion initially. Some preliminary investigation need to be done first. In Todd's case, the police see him hung and immediately concluded it was suicide. Surely, they have seen people who have been murdered by hanging.

Re: Waste of coroner's time: Yankee Go Home!

Agree. Not even a British or French or German would be able to kick up this ruckuss. Only Americans like to cry mother cry father and say everything isnt their own fault. End in the end, it boomerangs back on them

Whether Todd's death is suicide or murder, the Congressional investigation on sinkapore's role in transfer of US technology to PRC has started. If Todd's death is murder, then the story will be bigger news.

The PAP is in desperate attempt to refute the contention of Todd's parents. Wondering why didn't they sue FT for false reporting when it was first reported.

IME said that they did no work for Huawei, yet its staff testified that IME and Huawei collaborated on testing. So, what's the true story on IME and Huawei's relationship?

IME can keep talking that the GaN project was for commercial use but the research outcome could be used for military purpose as well. Has IME put up a China Wall such that the research will never be used for the military?

The very fact that there are so many PRCs in IME suggest that PRC have their spies there.

Dr. Yuan Li of IME testified that what they did could not be used for military application ...so they did explore how it could be used for military application after all. The device may not set up for military application at the moment but there is nothing to suggest it can't be adjusted to fit military usage.

IME said that Todd was not involved with the machine ...now his colleagues testified that he was but he was not in charge.

The inconsistencies keep coming.

US researcher's death: Todd 'not involved in any work for Huawei'

The Straits Times
Monday, May 20, 2013

SINGAPORE - American researcher Shane Todd's work at the Singapore Institute of Microelectronics (IME) did not involve any classified military research, an inquiry into his death heard on Friday.

A comprehensive account of his employment record there by his colleagues and direct supervisor, Dr Patrick Lo, also showed he was not involved in any work for Huawei Technologies, except for a nine-day stint examining the Chinese firm's commercial radio frequency devices.

In fact, IME does not conduct any classified military-related research work at all, said Dr Lo, the institute's deputy executive director for research.

Dr Todd was found hanged in his apartment near Chinatown last June shortly after he quit IME. His parents have alleged that he was murdered over his work, which they said had links to Huawei, a firm that has been suspected of espionage by the United States government.

On Friday, during the fifth day of an inquiry into Dr Todd's death, three of his colleagues and Dr Lo gave a detailed account of his work at the IME and the institute's dealings with Huawei.

IME has had five contracts with Huawei since 2007, but none of them were military in nature or classified, said Dr Lo. Those contracts also included other firms, such as Hitachi Cable and Nissan Chemical Industries from Japan.

The IME researchers also refuted claims in a Financial Times (FT) article in February about Dr Todd's death, which suggested he was involved in a joint IME-Huawei project that could be put to military ends. This involved a semiconductor material called gallium nitride (GaN), the FT said.

Dr Lo, however, clarified that while Dr Todd had been involved in talks for a project between the IME and Huawei, these were to develop a GaN amplifier for commercial use.

He also gave details of the proposed project, which eventually fell through.

Dr Todd joined the IME in 2010 as a fresh doctoral graduate from the University of California, Santa Barbara, the court heard. But upon his request, he was transferred internally to a new GaN-on-silicon research group in March 2011 even though he had no experience in the field.

"I don't believe that a person should work forever in the same field as his PhD work," said Dr Lo, who headed the new group. "If they are interested, a new programme is a good platform to entertain young staff's interest and to grow that and the programme together."

Dr Todd's colleagues said he helped recruit more people to the group, which is focused on using the material to lower costs for the industry, particularly in the power and radio frequency fields.

The FT article had suggested that after he joined the group, Dr Todd travelled to the US to purchase equipment from Veeco, a manufacturer of process devices, which the article said could be used for military purposes.

Dr Wang Weizhu, 30, who worked with Dr Todd in the group and assumed responsibility for the machine, said it was used to develop semi-conductor films. The only formula or "recipe" which the group received from Veeco was for LED application.

"Currently, we are just starting to develop the recipe for GaN-on-silicon from scratch. None of these recipes are defence or military-related," she said.

Another colleague in the seven-man group, Dr Yuan Li, 28, said the group's projects could not be used for military purposes.

"The speed of the devices would not be fast enough. The operating frequency of the devices used for power electronics is much slower... than for military applications," he said.

Speaking to media after the day's proceedings, Senior State Counsel Tai Wei Shyong said he understood that Mr Raymond Bonner - the journalist behind the FT article - was in Singapore.

He added that the State would welcome Mr Bonner if he decides to testify at the inquiry.

"The State would be happy to make the application (to the court) because we want the full story about this case to be told."

[email protected]

watchman8

You don't draw any conclusion initially. Some preliminary investigation need to be done first. In Todd's case, the police see him hung and immediately concluded it was suicide. Surely, they have seen people who have been murdered by hanging.
Why are you assuming the police did wrong? There are procedures to follow in unnatural deaths, and the state will perform post mortem on corpse to see if there is any foul play. You are the one jumping to conclusion.

watchman8

Whether Todd's death is suicide or murder, the Congressional investigation on sinkapore's role in transfer of US technology to PRC has started. If Todd's death is murder, then the story will be bigger news.
The USA politicians are always looking for an angle to advance their political careers. Did you know that sg taxes on tobacco and spirits are also flagged by the Americans as anti trade practices?

Ask yourself, what kind of advance technology is IME handling? Or what kind of advance technology is any research labs working on that the Chinese really want to have? I hardly can think of any. If china wants to steal, they will have better luck getting anything useful in Israel, Europe and the USA.

Just look at the people who have shared the same position as you. Hardy any and they not the sharpest tool in the shed are they. The sane ones started to comment after the inquiry began and material information started to flow.

No one can make you drink from the water trough. That a call that only you can make.

You trivialize Todd's death? What's your bloody agenda?

wendychan

wow im an fucking bitch, liar etc according to your
'asking around"
god has spoken but not the singapore court, nor the judge

oh and not the sharpest as welll...

who is sharp and balls enough to give evidence in court, i saY YOU SAY I HEARD I HEARD I KNOW 101%

Just look at the people who have shared the same position as you. Hardy any and they not the sharpest tool in the shed are they. The sane ones started to comment after the inquiry began and material information started to flow.

No one can make you drink from the water trough. That a call that only you can make.

Your children are the sharpest tools around. Or rather they will be on the other end of the sharpest tools around.

If you want to continue your cheebye bitchy comments, you will get more in return. Mark My Words.

steffychun

The chap is ill. He previously had depression when he was in school in the US back home and he was receiving treatment as well as medication. The parents surely must be aware of it and sadly are not taking any responsibility. There is a limit to pushing the grief and blame on others. The way the parents are treating this is that SIngapore and Singaporeans are inept, hopeless and irresponsible.

Here is the interesting thing about depression. What do you think a sufferer does if they think they cannot come out of it?

The Financial Times of London is a highly respected newspaper and very well regarded. Why did the father claim that he found the hard drive which the police fail to notice. These stories cannot go to press unless they are corroborated by their staff. That is why Raymond Bonner's story had a second journalist who works for FT. Bonner is a freelance stringer. Anyone who listened to the family would have bought it including FT.

Asians are very timid by nature when dealing with Caucasians. I have seen it so many times. Paralysis sets in when dealing with Causcasians. The mother has no respect for us or our institutions. She does not accord the basic courtesy that she expects from another fellow human being. Just because he son died she can't expect to be given this amount of leeway and tolerance.

Lets face it, the son was receiving treatment from a medical doctor in SIngapore and she was not aware of it despite their weekly skype calls. She however managed to hear all the other things that seem to fit her notion of murder.

We do not tolerate this amongst our kind but we bend over backwards for these people. We should have been more firm.

He risked his own life from the start by choosing IME/Singapore. With such a load of academic credentials, why not work for DARPA or any US government agency? No jobs in the US? Ok US employment sucks. Thne why not find jobs in NATO countries whereby you would never have had the risk of so-called coerced in selling info? Besides, you could have picked up a proper western girlfriend.

lockeliberal

Dear Winnie

What was the motive ? Just the fact alone that he was involved in some form of dual use research ? Any murder of it is murder is based upon motive , motive, motive. Who was TODD and what did he have that was worth Killing for ? Take a look at the risky nature of state sanctioned assassinations. This is the real world, this is not 48. In the real world operations can go south , In the real world even the most expert assasination teams fail , In the real world they get caught and I m not talking the CIA but Mossad and the KGB or FSB here.

Was Todd working or had worked on the crown jewels of US defence technology. "Stealth". "Nuclear weapons design" " Jet engine design " " Submarine acoustic and detection design ? Have u read in Businessweek about how the Chinese are stealing US defense secrets via cyber espionage ? How they have stolen Terabytes from defense contractors with classified contracts ?

I can't see a motive , I cannot see a reason. GAM is dual use, but he was working on the raw component of a GAM chip, that is not the design, but the base on which the design is etched. An analogy would you kill or steal the complete high tech picture after it is drawn or just steal or kill for the high tech canvas ?

Locke

Depression is not a death sentence. He was doing fine all along. He completed his Phd. He worked well in sinkapore for a while.
The parents have a contention ...and wants that explore to the fullest. That the PAP has refused suggest something is amiss here.

You have become the resident expert on depression? The psychiatrist stated that Todd didn't have any suicidal ideation and the depression was not that severe. If it was severe, Todd wouldn't be in contact with his family.

So, you are telling us that the police did not ask Todd's parents to return the hard drive?

Sure, blame the parents. Tell me, why did the police rule Todd's death as suicide? Why did they NOT want to keep an open mind? Then why did the SPF asked for the hard disk back when Todd parents highlighted info they found on the hard disk to suggest that Todd could have been murdered?

Because Todd was not depressed to the point that he was incapable for sound judgment. None of Todd's colleagues or associates observed the depression.

Yeah, play the patriotic angle to the tilt.
You want to be firm ...then get rid of the bunch of PRCs in IME. There are spies amongst them.

Besides, you could have picked up a proper western girlfriend.

You don't know a lot of these Ang Mo dudes, do you? Many of them came to Singapore (or various other Asian countries) precisely to stay away from those 'western girlfriends'. Most Western broads are mouthy sluts and they tend not to age well compared to their Asian counterparts.

To prove my point, look at those single Western (typically American/Canadian/UK) female expats in Asian countries. Nobody is giving them a second glance. I wonder why? :wink:

Asia: Paradise For Men – Nightmare For Women?
http://www.chickynet.com/thailand/blogs/1/120/asia-paradise-for-men-nightmar

Dear Winnie

What was the motive ? Just the fact alone that he was involved in some form of dual use research ? Any murder of it is murder is based upon motive , motive, motive.

Maybe he knew too much, perhaps stumbling upon some information not meant for his eyes.

Dead men tell no tales. After he's dead just insist that he was depressed, had visited 'suicide websites' and let the mouthpiece media take care of the rest.

watchman8

Maybe he knew too much, perhaps stumbling upon some information not meant for his eyes.

Dead men tell no tales. After he's dead just insist that he was depressed, had visited 'suicide websites' and let the mouthpiece media take care of the rest.
What top secrets of great defense or commercial values are there in IME? This is an institute formed many years ago when Philip yeo was pushing hard for micro electronic industry in Singapore. Tons of sg govt money pumped in to feed a bunch of chia Liao bees pretending to do research. Just like the next brain child of the arrogant fucktard Philip yeo, A*star.

kongsimi

Two types of people who would kill Shane Todd's GAN tech.

One who wants to stop him from carrying out the research for Chinese Huawei.

The other who wants to stop him from bringing the technology back home.

Guess who is most suspicious? Suicide is the least suspect.

steffychun

You don't know a lot of these Ang Mo dudes, do you? Many of them came to Singapore (or various other Asian countries) precisely to stay away from those 'western girlfriends'. Most Western broads are mouthy sluts and they tend not to age well compared to their Asian counterparts.

To prove my point, look at those single Western (typically American/Canadian/UK) female expats in Asian countries. Nobody is giving them a second glance. I wonder why? :wink:

Asia: Paradise For Men – Nightmare For Women?
http://www.chickynet.com/thailand/blogs/1/120/asia-paradise-for-men-nightmar

He picked the wrong girl. If she was his girlfriend, she should have stopped him from being depressed.

maxxi

From the FT ariticle SPF looked [Mohd. Kladun what type of Singapore muslim name is this] at the HDD but did not find anything 'relevant'.

DuYunQi

I think we all having been watching too much CSI on Police shows.

People kill themselves all the time - hanging, jumping, etc. No Police Force in the world is going to dust for finger prints, take DNA, send all the storage drives (thumb, HD etc) to the forensic lab just because it is unnatural death. There must be a basis to do so. The world will come to a grinding halt and the Police Force will probably take up a bigger budget than the defence and maybe even the transport component. On a trivial point,some people have dozens of USB and storage device in their house.

His girlfriend found him. They would have drawn some level of understanding from her and formed their opinion including the state of the apartment. The autopsy reveals a lot. You cannot find a more qualified pathologist alive in Singapore as Dr Wee Keng Poh.

It also why a coroner's inquiry is held. Even before the inquiry, the Police must meet the coroner several times and these are the times when the coroner will ask the hard questions.

Only the coroner who is a member of judiciary can rule on the cause of death. Not the Police, his parents etc.

As someone correctly pointed out - what is the motive? With his death what has been accomplished? Who would benefit from his death?

Montana is no different from Ulu Tiram.

What you are saying is very dangerous. "people kill themselves all the time"?? Where the heck do you get this info from? Anything to confirm this statement of yours?

And by your logic, that if a scene looks like a suicide, and cos a certain number of ppl kill themselves in a certain period of time.. then there will be no need to follow procedure.. then. what's there to stop ppl from killing others and making it look like suicide?

If a person commits suicide, insurance companies might not pay to the beneficiaries... and if it is not suicide.. but because it looks like one.. and authorities don't follow the necessary procedures to make sure.. then the beneficiaries are at a losing end.

But.. what you are saying makes me even more scared.. because.. it seems that you are supporting ppl who could have been lax in their duties as both protectors and upholders of the law. They should do their utmost to ensure that no foul play was involved.. and not just use their own reasoning to conclude at the scene that whatever is there.. is a confirmed case.. whether it be murder, suicide or whatever.

Which is why the selection of ppl for doing such work should not be just based on just qualifications, pay range (willingness to accept lower pay), willingness to work long hours. but also of character, integrity and other qualities that I may not know of.. as I am not in the police.. or whatever branch or any related to the workings of the law enforecement agencies.

Seriously, I cringe at your words.. and I can't agree with you. The authorities should never take things for what they appear.. but do the necessary steps to make sure that nobody else can suspect them of not doing enough. You can do more.. and nobody will fault you.. but when you do less.. everybody will point at you. which seems to be the case here.