• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SGX explains why no Olam query (song bo?)

SGX explains why no Olam query
It looks at firm's financials, industry outlook, analyst reports before acting

Top of The News | Updated today at 01:03 AM
By Melissa Tan

WHEN assessing whether or not to issue a public query to a firm about unusual activity in the trading of its shares, the Singapore Exchange (SGX) takes into account several factors, including the company's financials, the outlook of the industry it is in and analyst reports.

The SGX will issue the query if the unusual trading activity cannot be explained by these factors.

The bourse operator made this statement yesterday after several commentators asked why it had not queried commodities firm Olam International when its share price and trading turnover surged

in the past few weeks - before last Friday's announcement that Temasek Holdings was planning a $2.5 billion takeover of the company.

Corporate adviser Mano Sabnani had also asked why Temasek or Olam had not requested a trading halt much earlier.

The SGX acknowledged that the 34.8 per cent rise in Olam's share price over six weeks from Feb 3 was higher than those of its peers, such as Wilmar International and Noble Group. However, it added, all three companies were trading within the price ranges set out in analysts' research reports.

"Such comparisons should be conducted with care as the financials and outlook of individual companies may differ even if they are within the same industry," it said.

Nonetheless, the bourse operator noted that potential offerors and listed companies should monitor trading activities in their stocks closely and make immediate announcements if there appears to be a leak of information on the possible offer.

It added that since March 3, listed companies must tell SGX "on a confidential basis" if they are in discussions that are likely to lead to a takeover.

"We do not discuss our dealings with regard to individual companies, including notifications as required under the listing rules. If there are possible breaches of rules or requirements, we will investigate and take appropriate action," SGX said.

"We take a serious view of all market misconduct in breach of the Securities and Futures Act, including potential insider trading and manipulation activities. We will spare no effort in conducting investigations on possible transgressions and will cooperate with regulatory agencies to enforce the law against offenders."

Olam's price rise happened before Breedens Investments, a unit of Singapore investment firm Temasek Holdings, offered last Friday to buy all of Olam's shares from its minority shareholders.

The SGX said that "while we do not prescribe a view of value or pricing of stocks", seven out of 13 analysts who issued reports on Olam last month raised their target price for the counter by up to 21.4 per cent. The 13 analysts had target prices of $1.50 to $2 for Olam.

But for Wilmar, eight analysts raised their target prices by an average of 2.6 per cent, with the highest raise being 4.8 per cent, SGX noted.

Only one analyst raised the target price for Noble last month.

Temasek's takeover offer of $2.23 apiece for Olam's shares values the company at $5.45 billion. Olam's shares rose 23.5 cents last Friday, or 12 per cent, to end the week at $2.23.

[email protected]

escher

SGX explains why no Olam query
It looks at firm's financials, industry outlook, analyst reports before acting

When the PAP and their collaborators can go laughing all the way to their banks why should they want to query that?
You are fuckturds or something equally stuupid?

borom

Reminds me of what Cedric Foo said in Nov 2003, that 'white horse' was used to identify sons of influential persons to ensure such enlistees were not given preferential treatment.
Tony Tan's son received same treatment as everyone and became a research scientist-while I ended up digging trenches in Hill265,Tekong and .....

That's why i always say Singapore is corruption free! One look at the press release and you can be assured SGX is fair and impartial. Well done PAP!

Reading this, thought Sinking Land now part of Mudland liaoz. Steady Pun Pee Pee, tell lies face no change color.

melzp

Why did Breedens not patiently dictate/depress n buy low when it is the only bidder?
Why the hurry when Breedens are so liquid?

blackmondy

Our gahmen is like a measuring tape....suka-suka pull out the ruler how long it wants. Suka-suka retract the ruler....chow chee bye !

Really "Olam" chow hor fun !

Increased trading before big announcement of takeover. When something is too good to be true, it probably is.

Whoever bought Olam in past 2 weeks made an obscene profit.

escher

Increased trading before big announcement of takeover. When something is too good to be true, it probably is.

Whoever bought Olam in past 2 weeks made an obscene profit.

We all know those who bought Olam are the PAPs and their fucking inner circle.
Not all PAPs the same. Some PAP more PAP than mere run of the mill PAP

Laughters on the way to the banks have different volume from different PAPs.

Some can buy Kate Spade bags. Others can buy entire chains of Kate Spade franchises.

But they all dangle and dance the same dance under the lamp posts when the time come for Singaporeans

Olam International: The Best Performing Blue Chip in 2014By*Ser Jing Chong*- March 17, 2014*|*See also:*O32^STI

It can be instructive to look back at some of the market’s biggest movers in a certain period of time to get a feel of what has happened and what’s*going*to happen.

Over the past two-and-a-half months since the start of 2014,*Olam International*(SGX: O32), which engages in sourcing, processing, packaging, merchandising and exporting agricultural products, has been the best performing blue chip within the*Straits Times Index*(SGX: ^STI). Even as the latter has floundered with a 3% drop to 3,073 points from 3,167 points at the end of 2013, Olam has gained some 44.6% to S$2.22.

While short-term price movements*can sometimes occur for befuddling reasons, Olam’s was clear – a consortium of Olam’s major shareholders*have elected to acquire the company’s shares*at a price of S$2.23 from other shareholders.

Olam’s shares had hit a post-Global Financial Crisis high of S$3.41 on November 2010 but had steadily declined to S$2.00 on 13 March 2014 before news of the voluntary offer for its shares broke through last Friday on 14 March 2014.

From its financial year ended 30 June 2010 to the last 12 months, Olam hasn’t been able to generate any positive free cash flow from its business as it spent heavily on capital expenditures while having negative or relatively small operating cash flows. In that period, its balance sheet had also remained heavily levered with net debt (total debt minus total cash) ranging from S$3.77 billion to S$7.88 billion. Along the way, attacks on the quality and viability of Olam’s business had also come from short-seller Muddy Waters – the investing firm had started criticising the company in Nov 2012. All of these likely added to the downward pressure on the company’s share price.

But despite the short-attacks and falling share price, the major shareholders of Olam, which include Temasek Holdings (one of the investment arms of Singapore’s government), still retain faith in its business. In the announcement made regarding the acquisition of the company’s shares, the consortium of investors, led by Temasek Holdings’ subsidiary, made known their wish to “provide Olam with a stronger long term shareholder base to support Olam’s strategy and growth plans over the medium to long term.”

While other shareholders might feel delighted to have the chance to sell Olam’s shares at a price higher than where it was prior to Muddy Waters’ short-attack, there’s also a case to be considered for the possibility of the company being worthmore*than the buy-out price of S$2.23.

Olam’s revenue has almost doubled from S$10.5 billion in the 12 months ended 30 June 2010 to S$20.0 billion today. At the same time however, its Price-to-Sales multiple has dropped from around 0.6 to 0.3 and part of the reason has been the company’s compression in its net profit margin from 3.4% to 1.7%.

In such an instance, shares of the company could have some upside to it should profit margins start to recover while sales continue picking up. But, that might take some hard work from Olam’s management as the company’s latest second quarter results showed an 8% year-on-year decline in half-yearly sales while profits dropped by 8.5%.

Currently, the consortium of investors interested in buying over the company’s shares has the intention to keep it going as a publicly-listed entity. This means that any potential improvements in Olam’s business in the future might just get reflected in a higher share price, benefitting shareholders who chose not to cash out. Of course, the company might also get forced to become a private entity depending on the amount of free-float that’s left after the acquisition exercise’s completed.

All told however, what an investor should be doing now is to compare his estimate of the true worth of Olam’s shares with the offer price of S$2.23 per share. When the comparison’s made, a conclusion of ‘What’s next?’ should then become clear. These are certainly interesting times for Olam’s shareholders.

Click here now*for your*FREE*subscription to*Take Stock*Singapore, The Motley Fool’s free investing newsletter. Written byDavid Kuo,*Take Stock Singapore*tells you exactly what’s happening in today’s markets, and shows how you can GROW your wealth in the years ahead. *

The*Motley Fool’s purpose is to help the world invest, better.*Like us on Facebook* to keep up-to-date with our latest news and articles.

Get*FREE*Issues of TAKE STOCK

Want to keep up with our investing thoughts as they develop?*Don't miss a beat!*Just drop your email in the box below and we'll keep you up to date.

By submitting your email address, you consent to us keeping you informed about updates to our website and about other products and services that we think might interest you. You can unsubscribe at any time. Please read our*Privacy Statement*and*Terms of Service

The information provided is for general information purposes only and is not intended to be personalised investment or financial advice. Motley Fool Singapore writer Chong Ser Jing doesn’t own shares in any companies mentioned.*

See all posts by Ser Jing Chong

A MOTLEY FOOL SPECIAL REPORT

10 Steps to Making a Million Dollars in the Share Market

HomeHow To InvestYour MoneyPrivacy PolicyTerms of Service

The information provided is for general information purposes only and is not intended to be personalised investment or financial advice.

Copyright ©2013 The Motley Fool Pte. Ltd. All rights reserved. Company Reg. No. 201227853N

10.11.22.148 43 queries in 0.782 seconds

escher

Olam is a company originally started in Nigeria by Ah Nehs. Can you think of a worse combination for scamming?

Oooii!

They got the money

What you got?

Your CPF all cleared out and in the pockets and banks of PAP maggots cockroaches
PAP and their underlings got to laugh all the way to their banks
Are you able to do that?
Best you can do is to stay head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked to be tiewed to be kanned by PAP

Temasick maintains investment strategy - Buy High, Sell Low.

d0mSIW2.jpg