• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Seagate violated export ban by shipping 7 million disk drives to Huawei, US says

SBFNews

Seagate violated export ban by shipping 7 million disk drives to Huawei, US says
arstechnica.com
getty-seagate-800x533.jpg
Seagate yesterday agreed to pay a $300 million fine for selling hard disk drives to Huawei, settling US government officials' allegation that shipments to the Chinese company violated export controls imposed in 2020. The fine is "the largest standalone administrative penalty" ever issued by the US Department of Commerce's Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS), the agency said.
"Even after Huawei was placed on the Entity List for conduct inimical to our national security, and its competitors had stopped selling to them due to our foreign direct product rule, Seagate continued sending hard disk drives to Huawei," Assistant Secretary for Export Enforcement Matthew Axelrod said.

As part of the settlement, "Seagate admitted to the conduct set forth in the Proposed Charging Letter involving Seagate US and Seagate Singapore," the BIS said. Seagate violated the rule "by ordering or causing the reexport, export from abroad, or transfer (in-country)" of 7.4 million disk drives to Huawei without BIS authorization, the agency said.
Despite BIS imposing its rules in August 2020, "Seagate announced it would continue to do business with Huawei" in September of that year, the agency said. Huawei's other suppliers, Western Digital and Toshiba, both stopped shipments to Huawei after the August 2020 rule took effect, as Reuters noted.
"The two other companies capable of making HDDs promptly—and publicly—indicated that they had ceased sales to Huawei," the BIS said. "Of the three, only Seagate refused to stop sales and transactions involving Huawei. BIS's $300 million monetary penalty is more than twice what BIS estimates to be the company's net profits for the alleged illegal exports to or involving Huawei."
After announcing that it would continue doing business with Huawei, "Seagate entered into a three-year Strategic Cooperation Agreement with Huawei, naming Seagate as 'Huawei's strategic supplier' and granting the company 'priority basis over other Huawei suppliers,'" the BIS said. Seagate supplied 7.4 million hard disk drives valued at more than $1.1 billion to Huawei between August 17, 2020, and September 29, 2021, the agency said.
Seagate also agreed to a multi-year audit requirement and a five-year suspended denial order. A denial order would revoke Seagate's export privileges but won't be enforced as long as Seagate complies with the settlement. The denial order "is currently suspended and will be waived five years after the date of the order issued under the Settlement Agreement, provided that Seagate has made full and timely payments under the Settlement Agreement and timely completed the audit requirements," the company said.
Seagate said it chose to settle with the federal agency because of "a number of factors, including the risks and cost of protracted litigation involving the US government, as well as the size of the potential penalty and the company's desire to focus on current business challenges and long-term business strategy."
Seagate CEO Dave Mosley said the settlement "is in the best interest of Seagate, our customers and our shareholders... While we believed we complied with all relevant export control laws at the time we made the hard disk drive sales at issue, we determined that engaging with BIS and settling this matter was the best course of action."
Seagate agreed to pay the $300 million over five years with quarterly installments of $15 million each. After recording a $300 million settlement penalty in its earnings, Seagate reported a net loss of $433 million on $1.86 billion in revenue in the quarter ending March 31.

https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy...ping-7-million-disk-drives-to-huawei-us-says/

I though Seagate uplorried?

Sweatshops in Sinkieland uplorried, now their sweatshops are in Thailand or Vietnam or China.

I believe their business kena makan big time by solid state drives. Same for Western Digital.

Back when Seagate was still making hard disks in Sinkieland, 500Gb or 1Tb was the maximum storage capacity.

borom

Says a lot when Huawei still need to import HDD- it appears to an IT ignoramus like me that mainland chinese HDD (and SSD's ?) still not up to international standards.
With American firms AMD, Intel, Apple, and Qualcomm. dominating the CPU market, can we jump to a conclusion that PRC is way behind the Americans in technology and in any war, western technological edge will be decisive in defeating the PRC -over to you mudlander Chinese , what say you ?

Says a lot when Huawei still need to import HDD- it appears to an IT ignoramus like me that mainland chinese HDD (and SSD's ?) still not up to international standards.
With American firms AMD, Intel, Apple, and Qualcomm. dominating the CPU market, can we jump to a conclusion that PRC is way behind the Americans in technology and in any war, western techological edge will be decisive in defeating the PRC -over to you mudlander Chinese , what say you ?

Innovation cannot thrive in a totalitarian regime. I thought Sinkies of all people should know this very well. :biggrin:

Their only way to consistently grow the economy is 'build-demolish-rebuild-repeat'. :cool:

even HDD also cannot export to China thought high tech kenna ban only

The main goal is to decouple China from the rest of the world. Let's see how it goes. :biggrin:

I think the fun will really begin when the likes of Rolls Royce etc stop selling or maintaining the engines for Chinese planes. :cool: