• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Save $5 a month to Break poverty cycle say PAP

†††††

Breaking poverty cycle with early intervention
By Cai Haoxiang

A TEDDY bear-shaped container is helping to drive home a key message to children of low-income families: the value of savings and building a nest egg.

This project, a two-year programme by the National University of Singapore and community organisations that are the first point of call for such families, has spawned interesting results.

Currently involving some 100 children from families with a monthly household income of $1,800 and below, the programme encourages them to save and provides matching funds from businesses and grassroots organisations.

It is an early intervention programme that will help families and individuals break out of the poverty cycle, said Dr Sudha Nair, a social work assistant professor in charge of the project that involves the use of 'teddy banks'.

'The role models that many such children have are parents who are continuously in financial distress. They see their parents borrowing money or seeking help from social services. One way of breaking the cycle of dysfunction is to show them that self-reliance can start young and can be inculcated if there is a structured way of doing so.'

The encouraging findings since the project's implementation in February last year, underscored a key point made by Minister of State for Community Development, Youth and Sports Yu-Foo Yee Shoon at a seminar yesterday.

This was the importance of early intervention as a way to help families and individuals break out of the poverty cycle.

'We need to provide early intervention to families in need so that they will not become tomorrow's dysfunctional families,' she said.

Dr Nair's project encourages children to save and gives them a bonus of $100 once they have $200 in their accounts.

Children put in $2 a month, their parents $3 a month and volunteers match this with a monthly contribution of $5.

What the programme found is that even when the children were allowed to withdraw money on their birthdays and a festive occasion, few opted to do so.

Their siblings also followed their example and started saving as well. And even when parents dipped into their children's accounts for emergencies, Dr Nair said their children would remind them to replace what they had borrowed.

'The kids learnt the value of money, and didn't ask their parents to buy clothes and toys for them,' she added.

The seminar yesterday also saw other presentations on volunteerism and social workers relating experiences about equipping families with the information and skills to help them become self-reliant and break out of the poverty cycle.

Senior Parliamentary Secretary for National Development Maliki Osman, a social worker by training, also highlighted the importance of early intervention.

He meets a group of 75 low-income families in his Admiralty ward of Sembawang GRC every month and offers them parenting workshops and tuition programmes: 'We connect with them early, even before it becomes a crisis. So by that time, they know we are there.'

Additional reporting by Teo Wan Gek

save money to rid poverty????? WAHAHAHAH!!! These idiots should learn a thing or 2 from Robert Kiyosaki..

Children put in $2 a month, their parents $3 a month and volunteers match this with a monthly contribution of $5.

How to take what the MPs have to say seriously?
Many Sporeans are already providing these MPs with their plates of kway teow.

Isn't it time for these MPs to take a pay cut when there are plenty of Sporeans struggling :confused:

ivebert

Isn't it time for these MPs to take a pay cut when there are plenty of Sporeans struggling :confused:

Little retarded loser

You obviously don't understand the Singapore system.

They don't deserve the millions but without paying the top scholars well, we can never keep them from leaving Singapore for US and Europe. Don't forget, they are keeping SG stable so my business can keep growing :rolleyes:

If the top brains leave, who are going to lead Singapore? A fucking loser diploma holder like you?

Remember hor, when IT was booming in Singapore, you were just playing with Ang Mo technology and did not write a patent, do research or participate in the advancement of our economy :oIo:

That's why you are so jealous now because you are a fucking loser with no achievements, no education, no money and just waiting to die on foreign soil.

LOSER :biggrin:

Boliao

I would ask Lan Chiau Loong how does he expect a family to save if they are already in poverty? Fucking dimwit.

Z

Zombie

There is a saying: Once you go black, you will never go back.

But it does not apply to your accounts. :biggrin:

blackmore

I would ask Lan Chiau Loong how does he expect a family to save if they are already in poverty? Fucking dimwit.

Saving $5 is never going to break the poverty cycle ever; sounds more like a PR stunt for up coming elections.

I have seen enough to know as a fact that those families in the poverty cycle will carry the burden over to the next generation and so forth. It may get better in terms of conditions but they will never leave the trap. They seldom have that golden opportunity available or the means to achieve their dreams. In actual fact, the stigma lingers on for ther poverty stricken.

Unless you have a smart chap/gal from poor background who is able to gain scholarships all the way to adult life and gets a good job. Else nothing will change.

Majority of these kids have defeatist or bad attitudes in life. Mostly never do well in schools.

cheowyonglee

Saving $5 is never going to break the poverty cycle ever; sounds more like a PR stunt for up coming elections.

I have seen enough to know as a fact that those families in the poverty cycle will carry the burden over to the next generation and so forth. It may get better in terms of conditions but they will never leave the trap. They seldom have that golden opportunity available or the means to achieve their dreams. In actual fact, the stigma lingers on for ther poverty stricken.

Unless you have a smart chap/gal from poor background who is able to gain scholarships all the way to adult life and gets a good job. Else nothing will change.

Majority of these kids have defeatist or bad attitudes in life. Mostly never do well in schools.

i agree with this.to break off from the poverty cycle, either you strike toto lottery or someone leave a large amount of asset to you...

or else, anyone got any great idea how to break off from poverty cycle???

i agree with this.to break off from the poverty cycle, either you strike toto lottery or someone leave a large amount of asset to you...

Leave sinkieland and you will break off from poverty cycle.

Agree. How to save that $5 when that $5 is needed for basic essentials and not the LVs, Rolexes, BMWs and Chopards.

This is a trillion dollar question. If any MIW can provide a reasonable answer, he will be sought after worldwide. The brutal fact is that we have no one here who can even suggest something sensible other than saving $5 a day.

ivebert

Depends on whether you have a good education or lots of experience in a industry

I doubt you have both. So stop dreaming of striking it big. Look in the mirror, your family has been a peasant household for 3 generations

I fully agree, we have billions of dollars wastage on ministers who talk more and work less. Or worse, they know they lied to swindle supports. "cheaper, better and faster?" they need to show to us before telling us what to do. A good leader set by example - this rule will never change. Ask Shit times to cut the craps, Singaporeans wanted to move on - by voting out PAP soonest possible.

ivebert

I fully agree, we have billions of dollars wastage on ministers who talk more and work less. Or worse, they know they lied to swindle supports. "cheaper, better and faster?" they need to show to us before telling us what to do. A good leader set by example - this rule will never change. Ask Shit times to cut the craps, Singaporeans wanted to move on - by voting out PAP soonest possible.

"cheaper, better and faster" only applies to peasant employees like you :eek::oIo:

Cruxx

33.4% is hardly representative of "Singaporeans". :rolleyes: