• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sammyboy Moderators are all multi millionaires!

I think u are too much into yourself or over-indulging in thinking that u can come up with a good peom anytime. u are obviously mistaken. a good peom is not simply one that rhythms.

You're not just gullible. You're also dyslexic.

Thanks for the encouragements, I think one day I need to seriously look into this. The only shares I own are those Singtel shares allocated to us before. Never have the thought to get into shares because I believe one need to have some fundamentals to do this. I really don't have the time. I wonder if this is just an excuse or no guts to get in.

There are many ways to accumulating $$ & your business in LOS is one way:smile:

Not many have of us have the bizness acumen to run a business. Just look at those highly paid 'experts' at Temasek. They go from one failure to another :( My way worked for me because I was a passive investor & may not work for someone who can't can't tahan the dips in the stock market. Some friends have recommended that I should liquidate half my assets to protect my profits but I think the US economy is finally recovering.

I remember reading that if you feel uncomfortable about your investments, then you are probably over investing. There are many stable US companies out there that have survived through the toughest recession, so I'm confident of my investments. It only take $ to buy into these companies. It's much better than going to the casino, buying 4D, :wink:

I

there were two nasdaq stocks that created multi millionaires out of simple investors, and they don't happen regularly or all the time. in the late 90's, it was qualcomm (qcom). stock was hovering around usd32 per share unsplit. it split several times in 99 and inflated 2000%. if you had 1000 shares then, you would have been a millionaire when you cashed out just before the crash of 2000 after y2k was milked and done. qcom had nothing to do with y2k, but it rode the comms wave with every other telecom stock, cisco, sun, nortel, lucent included. however, qcom monopolized the cdma chipset ipr, and when the u.s and europe decided to go big on 3g rollouts with cdma and wcdma, its valuation went thru' the roof. the other stock that was hovering at a very affordable level was apple. it was usd20 after the crash of 2000. if you bought 5000 then you would be a millionaire many times over if you sell it now. google started at usd100 at ipo and is now many times oversubscribed. too late for cheap bargains now. the next stock to watch when it comes online is facebook. chance favors the prepared mind.

I've invested in many of the above shares catching the tail end of their glory days. Not many know this but in the early days the PAP prevented people from investing in the US market. To open a foreign investment account you needed something like $100k. These Spore based brokers were expensive because all transactions had to go through a live broker i.e. high commissions. That's why when Etrade 1st started I jumped at the oppurtunity to sign up as it allowed me to buy/sell at only $10.99.

The bestest performing share I've ever purchased is Apple. The 1st APPL share I bought only cost me $7 :biggrin: I plan to sell some of these APPL shares when the prices hits US$750 :biggrin:

Merl Haggard

Not many have of us have the bizness acumen to run a business. Just look at those highly paid 'experts' at Temasek. They go from one failure to another :( My way worked for me because I was a passive investor & may not work for someone who can't can't tahan the dips in the stock market. Some friends have recommended that I should liquidate half my assets to protect my profits but I think the US economy is finally recovering.

I remember reading that if you feel uncomfortable about your investments, then you are probably over investing. There are many stable US companies out there that have survived through the toughest recession, so I'm confident of my investments. It only take $ to buy into these companies. It's much better than going to the casino, buying 4D, :wink:

I

Jeeped Wilmar at $5, OCBC at $7.90, SGX at $6 and Keppel Land at $2.28 end Dec.

All in the money liao.

I posted the above in TracyTan's thread (Singapore Stock the cheapest in Asia) on 25th Jan.

Took my profits of more than 1/2m in the middle of Feb.

Cleared 100 lots Wilmar at 5.90, 100 lots OCBC at 8.95, 100 lots SGX at 7.20 and 300 lots Kepland at 3.20.

Enough profits to sustain my simple lifestyle for year 2012.

For spending money I have some $ invested in the Malayisan stock market. Whenever I need the $ I liquidate only some shares. This allows me to collect the dividens & at the same time benefit from capital appreciation. In Malaysia shares are traded in 100 share lots.

Zatoichi

Some friends have recommended that I should liquidate half my assets to protect my profits...
And I'm now the latest person to agree with those friends of yours.

The 1st APPL share I bought only cost me $7 :biggrin:
I would strongly advise you to sell those particular shares that you bought at such a dirt-cheap price as soon as possible this year or even within this month...

I plan to sell some of these APPL shares when the prices hits US$750 :biggrin:
Honestly, I think that's being too greedy...

I understand you have survived many big dips during the past decade, but if I were you, I would have realized ALL my profits in the stock market within the past couple of years since late 2009, and invested at least 70% of my cash savings in commodities, especially precious metals and oil, not just because the next really big bull market is in commodities (which is already underway, and probably halfway since the new millennium began), but because of my fear of really strong inflation, or even HYPERinflation, when cash will no longer be "king", but FOOD!!

Even gold and silver might not be "king" because they'll be used to buy food.

As for how to invest in precious metals, I'd recommend owning the physical metal itself and literally keeping it at home or even under your bed! haha

Which reminds me of why the USA (and its allies) is so powerful...
As the saying goes, "He who has the gold makes the rules."

According to: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Official_gold_reserves#Officially_reported_gold_holdings
the USA's gold reserves is right at the top, and most of the top 50 countries on that list are its allies.
Which means that IF ALL paper currencies were to become worthless, all external debt ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_external_debt ) would go to near zero, and all forex reserves ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...s#List_of_states_by_foreign-exchange_reserves ) would consist ONLY of GOLD.
After that, there'll be some kind of currency reform, so whoever owns physical gold would benefit the most...

Of course, if there's war, that would be a different story, in which GUNS would be "king", i.e. whoever or whichever country (and its allies) has the strongest armed forces would survive.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Parliament/Story/STIStory_775331.html

By Tessa Wong

A new pilot programme of remedial lessons for dyslexic children will be rolled out at 20 primary schools this year as well as 2013.

Announcing this in Parliament on Thursday, Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Education Sim Ann said that this programme will target Primary 3 pupils, who are identified through a screening process for dyslexia for students with reading problems at the end of their Primary 2 year.

Its aim is to help these students read at the same level of their peers at the end of Primary 4, said Ms Sim. It will cost the Government $3.6 million.

If successful, it may be expanded to more primary schools.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
pioneer students ......clinton, tony and BosSam. :p

http://www.straitstimes.com/Parliament/Story/STIStory_775331.html

By Tessa Wong

A new pilot programme of remedial lessons for dyslexic children will be rolled out at 20 primary schools this year as well as 2013.

Announcing this in Parliament on Thursday, Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Education Sim Ann said that this programme will target Primary 3 pupils, who are identified through a screening process for dyslexia for students with reading problems at the end of their Primary 2 year.

Its aim is to help these students read at the same level of their peers at the end of Primary 4, said Ms Sim. It will cost the Government $3.6 million.

If successful, it may be expanded to more primary schools.

There are people who make but most lost plenty, some even bankrupted. Better to invest in yourself like drifter says and your own business. Buying shares is not so simple and you need to spend time on it and as you said, you really don't have the time. My 2 cents.

Noted groober2011. What you warned is exactly the reasons I'm not in, no time and no idea. However one day when I have more time I shoud look into it. For long term investors like johnny333 its very good what we saw mostly are the short term gamblers trying to take gain and got burned.

Reinvesting in the business is very important for growth and also for banks to finance the business to grow. I have a basic mantra for myself and all my partners and that's live our lives within one's means and reinvesting 100% we make back to the business for at least the first 5 years, this I did for my Singapore and Thailand businesses and it had paid off handsomely over the past few years. Those partners who work in the business will be paid good salary and bonuses but not dividends or even director's fee. So like I don't get anything from my Singapore business even though I'm got the biggest piece of pie as I don't work there. This is an important business mantra for me and if my potential partners cannot agree then we cannot go into business.

Raiders

If you trade using Vickers, OCBC, etc, expect to pay $$$. Using a discount broker like Etrade is much cheaper if you are trading US shares. It will only cost US$9.95 to buy 1 or 1,000 shares.

Etrade has an office in Spore.

Hi, will take some time to read more on investing and on this website.

In short, if I want to slowly build some money for retirement, I should buy those stocks that are stable and has potential or even those blue chips? I understand that it is no stocks will have a label that says, "I am a potential stock", therefore alot of reading/research must be done on the company. Also, the "hunch" feeling plays an important part.

Can anyone comment if my above understanding is right?

I

Again Johnny thanks for all these wise words. I am not ready to get in yet however this should not stop me in opening an Etrade account now.

The bestest performing share I've ever purchased is Apple. The 1st APPL share I bought only cost me $7 :biggrin: I plan to sell some of these APPL shares when the prices hits US$750 :biggrin:

You're one lucky son of a gun . . . cheers

In short, if I want to slowly build some money for retirement, I should buy those stocks that are stable and has potential or even those blue chips? I understand that it is no stocks will have a label that says, "I am a potential stock", therefore alot of reading/research must be done on the company. Also, the "hunch" feeling plays an important part.

In the 21st century, there is no such thing as "blue chip" stock and as far as "stable" stocks are concerned, you can only tell if a stock has been stable in the past which tells you nothing regarding how the stock will perform in the future. 95% of "investors' will get caught up in the herd instinct mentality described at http://www.workforce50.com/Content/Articles/CY7-Lose-Money-in-Stock-Market.cfm Very few actually make any money over the long term.

You get the best returns by investing in yourself because you are then in full control of your own destiny.

This is exactly my reason for leaving Singapore and now in process of permanently migrating (process will take next 2-3 years so I still have time if I thought otherwise or wanna change country). Why leave my money with those motherfuckers who failed again and again in their investments and its money I cannot touch? Money in my pocket is my money, money in CPF is not my money.

Zatoichi

I should buy those stocks that are stable and has potential or even those blue chips? I understand that it is no stocks will have a label that says, "I am a potential stock", therefore alot of reading/research must be done on the company.
Yes, you are right that a lot of research must be done.

But the MOST important factor has always been "INSIDE information" for the "big boys", i.e. those really rich investors.
They are the ones who seldom lose, while the rest seldom win.

Also, the "hunch" feeling plays an important part.
Yes, but that still depends on luck.
Speaking from personal experience, sometimes one's "hunch feeling" can result in huge gains, while at other times, it can also result in massive losses.

The important thing is that you must not be afraid to lose ALL your capital (but not savings), i.e. don't be "kiasu", so that even if you lose, you can still remain sane and survive.
But if you're afraid, then it's better not to trade or invest.

bryanlim1972

They are in a small town and not in the 2 big cities. I cannot see myself sitting at the shop everyday and counting motorbikes :biggrin:
We love Sapa in the north. Thought of setting up shop there. The only thing that stop us is, there is no school for our future children in the mountains.

and this is exactly why you will NEVER be a millionaire. you don't have the right attitude. you want easy passive income. not willing to bust your balls off to make your million.

you are definitely 100% sinkie.

you're better off as a wage slave with a combined income of 8k/mth. with your current attitude, you will only meet with failure if you go overseas.

Clone

and this is exactly why you will NEVER be a millionaire. you don't have the right attitude. you want easy passive income. not willing to bust your balls off to make your million.

You don't really have to "bust your balls off" to make a million. :smile:

Raiders

you are definitely 100% sinkie.

you're better off as a wage slave with a combined income of 8k/mth. with your current attitude, you will only meet with failure if you go overseas.

Yup, Im a 100% sinkie, unlike others who chose to deny it. :biggrin:

Oh yeah, you can be good mates with Singveld. Both of you have a common habit of of fucking up people's comments and thread early in the morning. :oIo: