• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

RWS A Great Place for FTrash to Hang Out

Feb 19, 2010

Deter work permit holders from casino visits

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
IT APPEARS the casino at Resorts World Sentosa is a great place for many foreign workers who hold work permits to hang out.
These are people who need to send home money to support their families. Exposure to the excitement in the casino will tempt them to place a bet sooner or later.
Before long, many of them will gamble away their hard-earned money, and their poor families back home will suffer hardship. Their productivity at work will also decline when the urge to place another bet at the casino overwhelms them. They may even be fired for poor performance. Worse still, they may even resort to criminal activities to feed their gambling habit.
There is currently a deterrent in the form of a $100 levy on Singaporeans and permanent residents who wish to gamble at the casino. Should the authorities also consider some form of deterrent for work permit holders? As they do not have much money to gamble, the limited physical space available at the casino could surely be used more economically by tourists. It makes sense for both the work permit holders and the casino, as well as the Government, if some form of deterrent is introduced.
Please empathise with the plight of the unfortunate foreign workers who succumb to gambling on our shores. Of course, many of them bet on Toto and 4-D but these are apparently less addictive compared to gambling in casinos.
Steve Choo

ah steve ...

ze world's bestest paid policitians dun want moni 2 flow out of sg ... dey want it 2 flow back in2 their pockets as much as possible ... thru ze gambling dens, or watever ...

grunt72

In the first place, for a govt of a country to levy special taxes for its own citizens to enter casino is fishy at best. Even Malaysia "bans" its local Muslims from gambling in Genting - now that's decisive action...To levy $100 just means they want to makan more money. As for the FT levy proposal...to do so would indeed confirm our govt is discriminatory (confirm ah...now is only open secret hehe). So they would not do so risking jeers from their peers on the developed nations world stage.

I think the levy is a joke at best - hardly deterring those who really needs to avoid the casino and just simply enriching MOF aka PAP (the line between executive branch and party in power has long long been erased) coffers. If anything, the middle of road gamblers would be even more "motivated" to piah at the tables to win back their entrance fee...creating more desperation. Chinese race has got the piosonous gambling blood...it is def proven the world over!!

We'll see what more damage can be done to the society - if the papers carry it lah of course hahaha

Feb 19, 2010

IT APPEARS the casino at Resorts World Sentosa is a great place for many foreign workers who hold work permits to hang out.

They're the ones who built it. Why can't they hang out in their own creation?:rolleyes:

BS. Why u dun let Banglas sleep on your bed cos they help to move it into your room?

The casino isn't a private residence you twit. It's a commercial enterprise and everyone should be allowed in provided the rules are followed... banglas and eskimos included.

The only people who shouldn't be there are sinkies as they're very poor at handling their finances.

cooleo

The casino isn't a private residence you twit. It's a commercial enterprise and everyone should be allowed in provided the rules are followed... banglas and eskimos included.

The only people who shouldn't be there are sinkies as they're very poor at handling their finances.

Once again...pulling urban myths out of thin air - Sinkies poor in handling finances? Try the Americans - average savings account is a big fat zero for many.

You use your own money to buy a house, can the construction workers hang around your house?

If I owned a food court, the banglas who built it would be most welcome to come back as customers.

My house is private. It's for family and invited guests only regardless of race or nationality.

cooleo

Banglas built many buildings. I suppose we can see them enter Parliament house for a quick nap? Or perhaps enjoy a teh tarik on the seats of Supreme Court's courtrooms?

Once again...pulling urban myths out of thin air - Sinkies poor in handling finances? Try the Americans - average savings account is a big fat zero for many.

If your govt was confident that sinkies are financially prudent, they wouldn't have imposed the $100 surcharge for all citizens and PRs.

Your own govt has played the part of mythbuster as far as this one goes. :p

I rest my case.

Unrepented

Hanging around doesnt mean they are customers ok. If a whole crowd just hang around your food court and seldom buy anything you ok right?

If I owned a food court, the banglas who built it would be most welcome to come back as customers.

My house is private. It's for family and invited guests only regardless of race or nationality.

If your govt was confident that sinkies are financially prudent, they wouldn't have imposed the $100 surcharge for all citizens and PRs.

I rest my case.

It's a self-evident theorem as financially prudent people (and with any measure of self-respect) won't pay $100 (or even ¥1) to enter a casino in their own country where foreigners enter free.

kingrant

Correction pls. Only the Lee family is very poor at it, not Singaporeans.

They're the ones who built it. Why can't they hang out in their own creation?:rolleyes:

In the vein of your logic....the slaves built one the marvel of the world, they should be allowed to enjoy The Great Wall of China....or the pyramids of Giza..

These people who built them, are CHOSEN PEOPLE....:biggrin:

IR123

It's a self-evident theorem as financially prudent people (and with any measure of self-respect) won't pay $100 (or even ¥1) to enter a casino in their own country where foreigners enter free.

I would say that the financially prudent will not even go near a casino, levy or no levy.

I rest my case.

My government is my 'mother', of course they are prudent, they care so much for my money, even my own mother doesn't.... I am blessed indeed!:biggrin:

I would say that the financially prudent will not even go near a casino, levy or no levy.

Have to agree with you in spirit, but not in letter. I've been near and in many casinos before. I've wagered for entertainment's sake but never more than a hundred dollars any day. I win some, I lose some, overall it's a loss. But hey, I take it as paying for entertainment.

Why I say in spirit but not in letter, is because a financially prudent person has no fear of being near or in a casino or anywhere.

IR123

It is possible that singaporeans are not better off than the americans, if you exclude the cpf. Their incomes are heavily reduced by maid, car, children, housing and education. Medical costs can destroy all savings.