• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Roy Ngerng: Possible outcomes of the general election

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/08/12/roy-ngerng-possible-outcomes-of-the-general-election/

[h=2]Roy Ngerng: Possible outcomes of the general election[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png

August 12th, 2015 |
PostAuthorIcon.png

Author: Contributions

Roy_Ngerng_future-300x168.jpg

Famous blogger Roy Ngerng

The next Singapore General Election is expected to be held on 12 September
2015, or before the year is out at the latest.

In this article, I will take a quick look at the different scenarios that can
happen depending on how the votes swing, and also what kind of government each
scenario will result in.

As you read through, perhaps you can think about the kind of government that
you think should form, so that policies to protect Singaporeans can finally be
implemented, and then how you would vote accordingly to achieve this government.
You might want to focus on the constituency that you live in, and which party
you would vote for at the coming election (i.e. PAP vs other parties), to allow
Singaporeans to achieve the outcome you would look forward to.

One thing we need to take note of is that for Singapore’s electoral system,
how the political parties do and how many votes they win on a national level is
not as relevant. What is more important is whether the parties win at each
constituency. Thus your focus is to think about how you want to vote in your
constituency, so that the party that you want to win will win the seat(s) at
your constituency, and then go into parliament to represent you.

Unlike in some other democracies, if Party A wins 60% of the votes, for
example, it would also win around 60% of the seats. In Singapore, this is not
the case. The PAP only won 60% of the votes at the last election but more than
90% of the seats. This means that Singaporeans do not have enough members of
parliament from the other parties to represent us in parliament. Thus our focus
should really be on how many seats the opposition parties should have to
win.

As such, this is why this article and this exercise is important. You need to
have a vision of the kind of government you want and how many seats you think
the opposition should have. Then, we need to look broadly at trends over the
past election and what might happen at this coming election, where the
opposition have the best chances of winning the seats, and then vote decisively
in our respective constituencies to let the opposition win enough seats to go
into parliament to fight for Singaporeans.

How Many Seats Can the Opposition Win?

Let’s begin.

As I have written, the PAP has changed the electoral boundaries mainly in the
constituencies where the opposition has won more than 40% of the votes at the
last election. This shows the the PAP believes that the opposition can
potentially win as much as 10% more of the votes at the next election, and that
the PAP can lose as much as 10% of the votes, which is why they have changed the
boundaries in the hope of confusing voters. So, let’s stay focused.

In addition, if you track the constituencies which did not change their
boundaries drastically since the election in 2001, there have been a swing of
10% of the votes to the opposition at each subsequent election in 2006 and 2011,
so we can expect that the votes will still swing by about 10% as well to the
opposition at the next election, everything else being equal.

The PAP has also attempted to buy votes, such as via the Pioneer Generation
Package (though it has been analysed that the “increased subsidies” have been
offset by the increase in healthcare bills). Many commenters have also suggested
that the PAP has been giving out new citizenships in the hope that new citizens
will vote for them (this effect might be real or not), so as to help them win
back the vote shares. The results at the next election will give us an
indication of whether the PAP’s underhanded tactics will work. For those who are
still uncertain as to which party they would vote for, this also means that if
they want to balance out the effects of the PAP’s vote buying, they would have
to vote opposition to pull back the votes.

Otherwise, if the PAP’s vote buying tactics work, then it might pull back
about 5% of the votes. If so, there might only be a 5% swing of the votes to the
opposition. Hopefully, the new citizens who become Singaporeans and who have
also understood and been affected by the policies will realise that the PAP’s
policies will not benefit them in the long term, and would vote for the
opposition to improve the policies, to protect all Singaporeans.

Next, let’s take a look at the scenarios.

At the next election, if we assume that the votes for the opposition will
increase by 5% in each constituency (if the vote buying works), the following
outcome is what we will see. The opposition will win the seats in their current
seats in Aljunied GRC, Hougang SMC and the Punggol East SMC, and also just a few
more in East Coast GRC, Fengshan SMC and Potong Pasir SMC. This would mean that
the Worker’s Party (WP) will win 12 seats and the Singapore People’s Party (SPP)
will win 1 seat.

Note that the seats won by the opposition are shaded in dark red, red and
orange.

(Click to enlarge)

Now, if we assume that the votes for the opposition will increase by 10% in
each constituency as would be the normal trend, then we will see the following
outcome. On top of the constituencies won above, the opposition will also win
the following additional seats: Bishan-Toa Poyah GRC, Jalan Besar GRC,
MacPherson SMC, Marine Parade GRC, Mountbatten SMC, Nee Soon GRC, Sengkang West
SMC and Tampines GRC. This would allow WP to win another 15 seats, the SPP to
win another 2 seats, the combined SPP and Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) to
win 5 seats and the National Solidarity Party (NSP) to win 5 seats.

(Click to enlarge)

At the last election, the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) was also the party
with the fastest improvement, where the votes that it garnered increased by more
than 10%. This shows that SDP has a growing traction and influence among many
Singaporeans, and could likely continue with its momentum of gaining support.
This is also helped by the SDP having introduced numerous and credible alternative policies, which you can read
here
. If I may surmise, they have attracted Singaporeans largely due to
having a clear vision and mission, as well as having clearly articulated their
policy proposals for Singaporeans.

As such, for the SDP, if the votes to them would swing by 13% to 15%, this
would mean that the SDP would be able to win the seats in Holland-Bukit Timah
GRC and Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, as the following shows.

(Click to enlarge)

Next, if the other parties would field strong A Teams in the constituencies
that they would be running in, there is a chance that the vote swing for these
constituencies will be even higher.

If so, the People’s Power Party (PPP) would be able to win Choa Chu Kang GRC,
Reform Party (RP) would be able to win Ang Mo Kio GRC and Singaporeans First
(SingFirst) would be able to win Tanjong Pagar GRC, as below. (This is assuming
RP would put its A Team in Ang Mo Kio GRC and SingFirst would put its A Team in
Tanjong Pagar GRC. RP will also be contesting in West Coast GRC and SingFirst
will also be contesting in Jurong GRC.)

(Click to enlarge)

Scenario #1: Worst-Case Scenario

Now, if you ask me, the worst case scenario would be where the PAP’s vote
buying tactics actually work and the opposition only garners 13 seats. This
would only give them 15% of the total 89 seats, which is not even one-third of
the seats.

What this would mean is that the PAP would still have the free rein to push
through any policies that it wants, such as the Population White Paper and no
one will be there to block the PAP.

Is this the outcome that you want? It doesn’t change much from the current
situation and the PAP has no need to listen to Singaporeans or respond to the
needs of Singaporeans.

(Click to enlarge)

slide71-640x360.jpg
Scenario
#2: PAP 2/3 Majority Seats Denied (Opposition Wins >1/3 Seats)
In the second scenario, if the votes do indeed swing by 10% to the
opposition, this would give the opposition 40 seats, which would be about 45% of
the total seats. This would give them more than one-third of the seats but would
not be enough for them to form government. Theoretically, having one-third of
the seats would allow the opposition to block policies that the PAP wants to
pass.

As I have explained, even if the opposition has one-third of the seats, as
long as it is not the government, this means that the PAP is still in control.
What this means is the PAP still gets to decide the policies that it wants.

And as the PAP has shown, they would be able to bypass parliament to pass
certain laws, so if the PAP is still the government, even if they do not have
two-thirds majority, they can find ways to change or amend the laws without
going through parliament, which means the PAP still gets to do what it wants,
and not care about the needs of Singaporeans.

How to vote to achieve this scenario: (1) Vote for WP in all the
constituencies that the WP would be running in, (2) vote for SPP for its
constituencies in the central and eastern part of Singapore, (3) and vote for
NSP in Tampines GRC.

(Click to enlarge)

slide111a.jpg
Scenario
#3: Opposition Wins >50% Seats (Slim Majority)

The third scenario would be where the SDP continues to be the best improving
party and wins significantly more votes. This would enable to win the seats in
the northwestern part of Singapore, and help the opposition win 48 seats. This
would make up 54% of the seats or a slim majority. This means that the
opposition would be able to come together to form a coalition government.
However, in the event that this happens, because the PAP will have more than a
third of the seats, if this new government made up of the current opposition
parties want to enact new laws, the PAP can block them from doing so.

Thus if the new opposition-led government wants to implement new policies to
protect Singaporeans, the PAP can sabotage these policies by blocking them from
being passed, and hurting Singaporeans in that process.

constituencies in the central and eastern part of Singapore, (3) vote for NSP in
Tampines GRC, (4) and vote for SDP in the 2 GRCs that the SDP would be running
in.

(Click to enlarge)

slide151a.jpg
Scenario
#4: Opposition Wins 2/3 Majority Seats

There is still a fourth scenario where the other parties would field strong A
Teams in the constituencies that they would be running in and win them. If PPP,
RP and SingFirst do so, this would allow the opposition to win 64 seats and more
than two-thirds of the seats, which allow them to effectively have a
majority-led government.

This way, they would be able to implement policies to protect Singaporeans
and the PAP would not be able to block them. Will Singapore, for once, finally
have a new government which will finally look into the needs of Singaporeans and
implement policies to protect our citizens?

constituencies that the WP would be running in, (2) votefor SPP for its
constituencies in the central and eastern part of Singapore, (3) vote for NSP in
Tampines GRC, (4) vote for SDP in the 2 GRCs that the SDP would be running in,
(5) and vote for the PPP (Choa Chu Kang GRC), RP (Ang Mo Kio GRC) and
SingFirst’s (Tanjong Pagar GRC) A Teams in the GRCs that they would be running
in.

(Click to enlarge)

slide191a.jpg
Scenario
#5: Also Lose Khaw Boon Wan Scenario

If you look at Scenario #4, Sembawang GRC is shaded in yellow-orange, where
only a few more percentage of the votes can tip the balance in the opposition’s
favour. According to an online poll by The Online Citizen, Khaw Boon Wan (who
leads the Sembawang GRC) ranks 4th as the member of parliament that Singaporeans
most want to see step down.

If so, there is a chance that the NSP can win big at Sembawang GRC and win
it.

If so, the opposition will win 69 seats or 78% of the seats.

Tampines GRC, (4) vote for SDP in the 2 GRCs that the SDP would be running in,
(5) vote for the PPP (Choa Chu Kang GRC), RP (Ang Mo Kio GRC) and SingFirst’s
(Tanjong Pagar GRC) A Teams in the GRCs that they would be running in, (6) and
vote for NSP in Sembawang GRC.

(Click to enlarge)

slide232a.jpg
And
what will this government look like, if the swing votes follow the historical
trend and if the opposition parties would put their best teams in the
constituencies strategically?
Below is a possibility of what it can look like.​

(Click to enlarge)

slide262.jpg
In
this new government, WP will win all the 28 seats it plans on contesting,
especially since WP has now established itself as a credible and stable party.
Voting for it into parliament will give confidence to Singaporeans, and I am
quite certain that WP can win all its seats, if the votes swing as they
traditionally would.

But in this new government, PAP will still have seats. In fact, PAP will be
the second biggest party with 20 seats. And the ministers overseeing the
financial aspects of Singapore and the economy would still be retained,
namely Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Minister for Trade and Industry
Lim Hng Kiang, Second Minister for Trade and Industry S Iswaran.

SDP, having shown itself to have consistently improved over the past 5 years
through the introduction of its thoroughly and well-researched policy proposals,
would have gained a significant reputation and win it 8 seats. This would
include Professor Paul Tambyah who has said that he would become a member of
SDP, after having volunteered with SDP for so many years.

SingFirst, led by Tan Jee Say and Ang Yong Guan, could be expected to win 5
seats. Over the last few years, SingFirst has also worked hard and in fact, has
even proposed a $6 billion social safety net, with outlined policy proposals to
improve the lives of Singaporeans
. They have also looked into the budget
aspects and have explained how the budget would be met, without changing the
current finances in Singapore.

NSP would be expected to win 10 seats and for Mr Chiam See Tong’s SPP, it
looks like it can quite confidently win 7 seats, 5 of which in a GRC with DPP.
Ms Lina Chiam has said that she would run in Potong Pasir SMC again and
Ms Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss will be returning to Mountbatten SMC, both women
respected by the constituents in their respective areas, having continued in
their endeavours in these areas. SPP also performed well at Bishan-Toa Poyah GRC
and could very likely win this GRC, this time round with DPP.

Finally, Kenneth Jeyaretnam’s Reform Party could win 7 seats. Kenneth has
over the last few years written extensively about the Singapore economy and has
questioned the government on its revenue and expenditure. Kenneth has also outlined his party’s policy
proposals, as well as to similarly explain where the expenditure would come
from
. He has also shown how this can be done “without raising taxes or
cutting defence spending”.

Indeed, if this could be our new government, Singaporeans can finally look
forward to a new government which will finally look into improving the lives of
Singaporeans, and which will finally implement policies to protect Singaporeans.
For far too long, the PAP has gone too far with its pro-business objectives that
it has increased profits for itself but this has come at the expense of
Singaporeans, where it has been estimated that 30% of Singaporeans have
languished into poverty, as wages have stagnated for the past 10 to 20
years.

In fact, Singaporeans today have to pay the most out of our own pockets for
healthcare, after Switzerland. Singaporeans also have to pay the most expensive
university fees in the world, for citizens. Not only that, Singapore is one of
very few countries in the world still without minimum wage and unemployment
benefits to protect the workers. And even thought the PAP makes Singaporeans pay
the most out of our wages into social security for retirement (CPF) in the
world, Singaporeans are left with the least adequate retirement funds because
the PAP takes our CPF to let GIC and Temasek Holdings earn high profits
from.

However, the opposition parties have said that they would implement minimum
wage, they have also said that they would increase health expenditure so that
Singaporeans would not have to forgo healthcare because they cannot afford it.
SDP has even proposed putting a cap of $2,000, so that Singaporeans do not need
to pay more than $2,000 in a year to see a doctor. This would be a huge relief
for Singaporeans who have to pay tens and thousands for a single operation. The
opposition have even proposed providing free education, up to university and
unemployment benefits to protect Singaporeans. Not only that, they have also
proposed to implement an old-age pension, on top of the CPF, so that
Singaporeans will be able to save enough for our retirement needs.

As such, it is clear that it is the opposition parties which have the
solutions to improve the lives of Singaporeans, and to protect Singaporeans. I
look forward to seeing the opposition form a new coalition government in
Singapore.

As a final note, after going through this exercise, take a look back at the
scenarios again. After reading through this article, which scenario do you think
would form a government that would finally implement policies to protect
Singaporeans?

Last week, I conducted a survey to ask Singaporeans which government that
would want to have. 50% of the respondents said that they would want a new
government where the opposition makes up more than two-thirds of the seats. This
is so that the new opposition-led government would be able to finally implement
policies in the interests of Singaporeans.

(Click to enlarge)

For this to happen, it would mean that Singaporeans would have to vote
strategically to work towards Scenario 4 or 5 and make our dreams come true.

How should we do that? For Singaporeans living in the dark red, red and
orange areas, these are the areas where the opposition have the highest chance
of winning the seats and going into parliament, according to the voting patterns
at the last election.

If so, this also means that for Singaporeans who are living in these
constituencies, we have to vote decisively for the opposition, so that we can
send the opposition parties into parliament. As also mentioned, for the voters
who are still undecided, it would be wise to vote for the opposition to balance
out the effects of the PAP’s vote buying tactics so that the opposition would
not be unfairly penalised.

I have tried to present to you a vision for Singapore’s new government. Do
take some time to think about it and to share with your family and friends. It
is important that we vote right to have the right government that we want, so
that we can finally have policies which will benefit Singaporeans.

We need to know that our votes are more than just about what we feel or
think. We need to look broadly and systematically on the whole, at the election
trends and to imagine the kind of government we want. Our votes have to be
guided by this. We need to take responsibility for our country’s future, by
voting in such a way that will allow the government that we envision to come
true. For this to happen, we have to be strategic.

Over the course of the next few weeks, I will observe the changes in the
landscape and see if there is a need to make amendments to the scenarios, but do
also analyse them for yourselves, so that we can then work towards voting in a
manner that is focused on the seats that the opposition needs to win, and so
that we can vote for a government that will be in the interests of
Singaporeans.

We can do it. It is time for change. It is time for us to vote decisively for
change to come, and for Singapore’s future, and for our
children.

Roy
Ngerng

* Roy blogs at The Heart Truths.

vote_opposition.jpg

Roy's worst case scenario is the opposition winning only 13 seats?? I am expecting a return to the status quo of GE2006, where the opposition hang onto their token Hougang and Potong Pasir SMC (or in this case, PE SMC).

Best case scenario is WP keeps all the existing seats it already won, and loses by a whisker in every other ward it had contested in.

SPP, SDA, RP, NSP, SFP, PPP, SDP lose every ward they contest in.

TracyTan866

this roy is so obvious an opportunist. very very unlikely that he can even secure more than 30%

Don't underestimate Roy. With some other heavyweight partners, AMK GRC is worth watching

Any Opposition can easily get 30%. Roy, with his reputation of being sued by LHL and his CPF tirade, can get at least 40%

Don't underestimate Roy. With some other heavyweight partners, AMK GRC is worth watching

Any Opposition can easily get 30%. Roy, with his reputation of being sued by LHL and his CPF tirade, can get at least 40%

I think you have overestimated his influence. Mind telling us who are the heavyweights there?

Hope he can distract Loong enough to cause a nationwide swing against the PAP. His projections too optimistic. Most likely status quo, maybe one or 2 smcs fall to oppo. GRCs will be narrow win by PAP because sinkies simply feel they are not getting the candidates they deserve.

how many seats would the opposition have to win to be able to open all the cupboards with all the skeletons?

Just imagine how angry the "lesser mortals" would get. If such a thing would happen LHL & co would probably run road rather than stick around to face the music.