• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Punggol East By-Election Later News Update

sengkang

[h=1]2013-01-24 Day 9 Campaign[/h]Updated <abbr title="Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 8:49pm" data-utime="1359031752" class="timestamp">8 seconds ago

</abbr>

Day 9 of the campaign trail. Li Lian is back at Punggol East to meet residents.

64900_595719323777988_1141527117_n.jpg

64900_595719327111321_1947250717_n.jpg

19294_595719933777927_1635684527_n.jpg

sengkang

[h=1]2013-01-24 Day 9 Campaign[/h]Updated <abbr title="Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 8:49pm" data-utime="1359031752" class="timestamp">8 seconds ago

</abbr>

408405_595720043777916_173076102_n.jpg

486005_595720220444565_579825404_n.jpg

395442_595720260444561_1008214934_n.jpg

sengkang

</abbr>

399155_595869823762938_25632373_n.jpg

Li Lian stopped by RiverLife Centre For Youth to have a short chat with the staff.

29571_595889683760952_800404453_n.jpg

65812_595895140427073_2065857995_n.jpg

sengkang

2013-01-24 Day 9 Campaign

Updated <abbr title="Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 8:49pm" data-utime="1359031752" class="timestamp">8 seconds ago

</abbr>Day 9 of the campaign trail. Li Lian is back at Punggol East to meet residents.

601304_595918063758114_1359159423_n.jpg

379723_595951523754768_652410280_n.jpg

734544_595978303752090_23116154_n.jpg

sengkang

2013-01-24 Day 9 Campaign

Updated <abbr title="Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 8:49pm" data-utime="1359031752" class="timestamp">8 seconds ago

</abbr>Day 9 of the campaign trail. Li Lian is back at Punggol East to meet residents.

269315_595980397085214_1230072270_n.jpg

270923_595804897102764_1441586287_n.jpg

sengkang

They asked me, “Is it really safe for you to do this?”. But I told them life is too short and too precious, don’t waste time being kiasu, kiasi and kiagui.

Some wondered about my motives. They say, “You are a professor, you got a comfortable life, if you idealistic, go join the PAP, change the system from inside.” I told them change does not come from inside or from outside, but from the correct side. This is the co-driver side where we tell the driver he is heading down the wrong side of the road!

Some laughed at me because they know I am not the slapping type. They say, “Hah, you can slap meh, you are a bookworm.” I told them, even bookworms think of their children and would stand up for them.

- Assoc Prof Daniel Goh, WP Member

I am sharing Daniel's speech because these were exactly my sentiments when I joined WP 2 years ago. Life is short. Do what you believe needs to be done. There's not enough time to think too much about it.

Daniel, Dennis, Terence and Redzwan are part of what I call Bricks in Blue - Building for a new generation. Building for the future is not just about bricks and mortar, but also about building up the people that form the organisation. WP is serious about building itself for a new generation. Lee Li Lian is part of the new generation too - Young, energetic and with the right heart to serve the people. Come 26 Jan, vote WP, vote for Lee Li Lian!

23 Jan 2013 Punggol East By-Election Rally Speech by Daniel Goh : The Workers’ Party of Singapore wp.sg

This is my first rally speech, so let me tell you a bit about myself. My name is Daniel Goh. I graduated from NUS in 1998 and completed my PhD in sociology in the United States in 2005. I have been teaching in NUS since and I am currently associate professor there. My students call me Dr Goh or simp...

sengkang

我们常说“敬老尊贤”。

新加坡立国后一直没有偏离的一项政策,围绕着一个英文词。这词世界上大多数人翻译成“精英统治“,我们新加坡官方的翻译则是“任人以贤",也就是说“政府只用有能力的人"。具体落实就是当官靠文凭啦。

所以可说,敬老尊贤的尊贤我门的社会一直努力希望做到,也愿意付出很高的代价--包括全世界最高的政府部长薪水。

可是敬老呢?

There is an expression in Chinese: "Respect the old and the meritorious."

The latter was instilled into the Singapore nation since young, and we have been willing to pay its price, including the highest ministerial salaries in the world.

But what about respecting our elders?

sengkang

Lilian and the elderly in #punggoleast #byelection

李丽连提出了两点建议:

一,让八十岁以上的年长者,免费乘搭公共交通。公共交通的各种设施,也应该更符合年长者的需要。以真正落实政府“活跃乐龄”的政策?改善公共交通服务,就方便他们多出外走动,可以活得更充实。

二,超过七十五岁的长者,在动用保健储蓄户口时,应该取消所有限制。

丽连说:我们的国家,我们的政府,在照顾年长者方面所做的,远远不够。要建立更具包容的社会,要称得上是先进的发达国家,绝对不能只顾着往前冲,绝对不能忽略了任劳任怨为我们贡献一辈子的年长者。

我认为,让老人家在交通、医疗及其它方面享受到一些优惠,让他们共享我国历年来经济增长的成果,是无可厚非的。合情合理的。

这些优惠的政策,除了使老年人生活质量得到进一步提高,还有另外的作用。它们增强我们社会尊老敬老的意识,弘扬我国各种族尊老敬老传统美德。

这道理很简单。就像我们乘搭的新加坡地铁系统一样。新加坡地铁不单单满足我们公共交通的需求,它更是一个摩登都会的象征,新加坡人引以为豪,它增强我们的国家共同感。

俗话说:家有一老,如有一宝。一个国家也一样。我们应该透过各项优惠优待政策,营造尊老敬老的良好社会风尚。

sengkang

[h=1]Lee Li Lian for Punggol East[/h]
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/k7AGVzeYQ0E?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Published on Jan 24, 2013
Vote Worker's Party! Vote Lee Li Lian!

sengkang

[h=1]Workers' Party's Lee Li Lian and Low Thia Khiang speak to reporters Jan 20, 2013[/h]
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/F9CTX1n_6VU?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

loneshark

[h=1]Workers' Party's Lee Li Lian and Low Thia Khiang speak to reporters Jan 20, 2013[/h]
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/F9CTX1n_6VU?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Wow, the speed at which she tackles the questions!

sengkang

On the lookout for handshakes at the Kangkar LRT station in front of Er Lee Bee Wah for the #punggoleast #byelection

sengkang

[h=1]Crowd at Workers' Party's last rally for Punggol East By-Election campaign on 23rd Jan 2013[/h]
theonlinecitizen toc

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/LYq-dPnkvho?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

sengkang

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rn7everpSRA?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

sengkang

373303_393604124061434_300767154_q.jpg

[h=2]A Note to Voters of Punggol East before Polling Day
[/h]
by Lee Li Lian (李丽连) on Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 11:22pm ·

Dearest voters of Punggol East and fellow Singaporeans,

The 9-day campaign period for this by-election ends tonight. What an amazing few days it has been! I have had the pleasure and honour of walking the ground in this time, meeting you and hearing your concerns. Punggol East is not new to me – it seems like just yesterday that I was campaigning for the General Election in 2011, and it’s heart-warming to see so many familiar smiling faces as well as new ones.

I have met with many young families with many valid concerns. They worry about the competition their children face in our rigorous education system, and about the costs of raising children right from when they are born, all the way till university. They feel the stress of having to wait in long queues to get their children into a good childcare centre that is near their homes. They wonder if they will be able to pay off their housing loans, cover their parents’ medical bills and give their children the best, all at the same time.

Many elderly Singaporeans have also shared with me their fears of not having enough savings to pay for their growing medical bills and day-to-day expenses, and of becoming burdens to their children. They are tired after many years of sacrifice and hard work, but have to keep on working because they need to make ends meet.

Many of you have also shared your frustrations of battling the morning overcrowding at the LRT stations, and not having enough affordable transport options to get you to work on time and in peace. Finding a kopitiam or coffee shop nearby where the family can eat at affordable prices is another problem that has been raised to me as well.

I am an ordinary citizen who faces many of the same challenges you do every day. As a daughter, a wife, and a future mother, I share your concerns. That is why I am running in this by-election, because I want a better Singapore for all of us, and for our children.

I have raised several issues in the course of the campaign that I hope to raise with the relevant authorities as your elected member of Parliament. I will call for:

Young Families

• More affordable, conveniently-located and quality infant care and childcare facilities;
  • Stay-at-home parents to receive the same infant care and childcare subsidies as working parents;
  • Stronger incentives for employers to implement flexi-work arrangements to facilitate better work-life balance;
  • Single parents to receive the same parenthood benefits as married parents;
  • A study of the feasibility of a primary-secondary school integrated programme and other ways to reduce the stress to perform at PSLE.
The Elderly

• Allowing unrestricted use of Medisave for senior citizens above 75 years of age;
  • Allowing elderly patients to receive subsidised rates at specialist clinics at public hospitals with or without referrals from the polyclinics;
  • Public transport for senior citizens above 80 years old to be free to encourage active ageing.
Transport

• Earlier development of a 2-car system for LRTs in Punggol East;
  • Increasing feeder bus services and raise the frequency of buses and trains during both peak and off-peak hours so as to reduce overcrowding;
  • Focusing public transport on the needs of commuters, over the shareholders of profit-oriented Public Transport Operators;
  • Removing unnecessary or additional taxes (for example, ERP) on public buses or taxis to contain transport costs.
Facilities & Public Amenities in Punggol East

• Greater availability of affordable eating places;
  • More halal-certified eating places for Muslim residents;
  • Building of a wet market;
  • The completion of stalled renovations at Rivervale Plaza.
If I am elected to be your representative in Punggol East on Polling day, my first priority would be to set up the Town Council and consolidate a strong grassroots movement led by committed and dedicated volunteers. I will set up regular Meet-the-People sessions to keep in constant touch with you. Parliament will also resume shortly, and I will work hard to make your voices heard. I look forward to building a strong and engaged community in Punggol East together with you!

To sum up my campaign, I would like to thank everyone from the bottom of my heart. To the residents of Punggol East, for welcoming me back with so much warmth. I look forward to serving you. To the members and volunteers of the Workers’ Party, who have worked tirelessly on this campaign with me, this would not have happened without you. To my family, thank you for being my pillar of strength and understanding why I am doing this.

With your support, I will make your interests be heard in Parliament. With your support, I will address your concerns on the ground. Come 26th January 2013, vote for me, Lee Li Lian, and send me to Parliament to work for you.

RogerK

Lee Li Lian is very good.

Excellent replies she gave.