• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Privilege and the Schooling story

Sure or not, poor family can send 4 or 5 siblings to university? Some more expensive and long duration courses like medicine and architecture. Who paid for their education? Parents or scholarships or ownself pay? Anyway those in the 60s now have it easy lah - plenty of chance to buy cheap property and catch the property boom - compare to those in the 40s, but the latter group still has it easier than those in the 20s now.

yah lor. the eldest sacrificed a lot by foregoing uni to help put the rest through school. but she gets her 2nd chance later in life and finishes her degree in london. both parents worked too. gov lends a hand too, especially for two who are bonded. doc opens up his first clinic after parents paid off bond with hard earned money. otherwise, he works on cadavers, murder cases, suicides, gruesome cases. one involves eyeballs and body parts all over the floor. very shiong kind of toil on the mind and mental health. all siblings are achievers. except me, i'm not smart and a sure loser. now i go around asking them to rent me a room, if not a mattress.

My family was so poor I had to shit in a bucket shared by 50 other households.

did that too in the kampong of potong pasir. eventually learned to shit first when bucket was empty. otherwise, the pile could touch the tush. it helped me develop an early shit routine. clean shitting is all about discipline. :o

bodycells

You write so much and I can summarise in one sentence... Stay away from PAP, sinkieland and sinkie losers, you will be successful for life aka unsinkification.

Aiya TS, the author is contradicting himself. Ask yourself, who needs the money more, the penniless sportsmen from Cina, or the privileged son of the soil? Oh course you support the underdog. That is the PAP meritocracy, helping poor FTs succeed in the big big world. Sinkies are rich, self reliant and we can succeed on our own. How lucky we are to have such a fair and magnanimous government. :smile:

yangtzejiang

...one big part of the reason why this miracle happened is because the family pursue decisions that are completely Un-Singaporean... Had they ‘just follow lor’ or if Joseph happened to be born in a different family – no amount of hard work alone can produce such a miracle.

there, the secret of success. nothing to do with privilege or birth lottery.

yah lor. the eldest sacrificed a lot by foregoing uni to help put the rest through school. but she gets her 2nd chance later in life and finishes her degree in london. both parents worked too. gov lends a hand too, especially for two who are bonded. doc opens up his first clinic after parents paid off bond with hard earned money. otherwise, he works on cadavers, murder cases, suicides, gruesome cases. one involves eyeballs and body parts all over the floor. very shiong kind of toil on the mind and mental health. all siblings are achievers. except me, i'm not smart and a sure loser. now i go around asking them to rent me a room, if not a mattress.

Very good so your case is solid proof that poor family can study medicine and even break bond and still no need to be escort lah.

hokkienpeng

Supposedly, he is born in a loving but probably more average middle class family with no million dollar house to sell and support his aspiration, would this miracle be possible? Not likely. Your average Singaporean family ‘might consider’ selling their HDB flat to sponsor their son to study Medicine, but for swimming? Honestly guys – don’t kid yourself.

And therein lies the biggest flaw of the CPF system. Why must you let GIC and Temasek decide where to invest your hard earned money? Can Schooling's parents choose not to invest in Swiber or StanChart but in their son? No they can't. They are forced to hand over a substantial fraction of their earnings to the world's biggest value destroyers. If they want to invest in their son, they have to sell the roof over their heads.

They succeeded despite the PAP's rotten system, not because of it.

I wonder why there are poor people who made it but think others cannot make it like they did? Many such condescending bastards around, especially mudlanders. Truly low class people.

lifeafter41

Aiya TS, the author is contradicting himself. Ask yourself, who needs the money more, the penniless sportsmen from Cina, or the privileged son of the soil? Oh course you support the underdog. That is the PAP meritocracy, helping poor FTs succeed in the big big world. Sinkies are rich, self reliant and we can succeed on our own. How lucky we are to have such a fair and magnanimous government. :smile:

I am just amazed by your sense of reasoning........:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

In that case why do we need PAP?whyy are we payiing taxes to these worthless leeches?sinkies are rich,self reliant and can succeed on our own,off with their heads already,singapore for singaporeans.

normally these type of poor kampong family ten sibling stay in one shophouse stories is accompanied by at least one rags to riches story,the eldest brother or something sacrificing to send siblings to school while father is alchoholic/gambling addict,but later in life becomes a billionaire real estate tycoon or steel making magnate or newater billionairess/female entrepreneur.sadly it seems like all ur family are paper chasers and end up working nine to five for the man,instead of being the man at the top.

yellowarse

there, the secret of success. nothing to do with privilege or birth lottery.

family pursue decisions that are completely Un-Singaporean — of course that's a a major factor, but the enabling factor is family wealth: it's a minority of Singaporean families who have a landed property to sell and finance a child's living expenses and education and swimming training overseas from the age of 14, to the tune of $1.35 mil.

If Schooling had come from a lower-income HDB family and stayed on in Singapore, with its lack of sporting culture, zero government support, lousy coaches, lack of high-level competition, and kiasu exam-based edu system ('O' levels, 'A' levels, uni exams), he'd have attained Asian Games gold at best, never an Olympic medal, much less an Olympic record.

Then again, family wealth is not needed if there's a lot of state support for athletes, like in South Korea or China and, now, Britain. When we talk about Schooling's privilege, it's in the uniquely Singaporean context where in sports (and everything else), you succeed or you fail your own business.

family pursue decisions that are completely Un-Singaporean — of course that's a a major factor, but the enabling factor is family wealth: it's a minority of Singaporean families who have a landed property to sell and finance a child's living expenses and education and swimming training overseas from the age of 14, to the tune of $1.35 mil.

If Schooling had come from a lower-income HDB family and stayed on in Singapore, with its lack of sporting culture, zero government support, lousy coaches, lack of high-level competition, and kiasu exam-based edu system ('O' levels, 'A' levels, uni exams), he'd have attained Asian Games gold at best, never an Olympic medal, much less an Olympic record.

Then again, family wealth is not needed if there's a lot of state support for athletes, like in South Korea or China and, now, Britain. When we talk about Schooling's privilege, it's in the uniquely Singaporean context where in sports (and everything else), you succeed or you fail your own business.

These people are in denial it's the rich Sporean father with landed property to sell that paid for the swimming lessons in USA. All focus on the MALAYSIAN mother instead.

normally these type of poor kampong family ten sibling stay in one shophouse stories is accompanied by at least one rags to riches story,the eldest brother or something sacrificing to send siblings to school while father is alchoholic/gambling addict,but later in life becomes a billionaire real estate tycoon or steel making magnate or newater billionairess/female entrepreneur.sadly it seems like all ur family are paper chasers and end up working nine to five for the man,instead of being the man at the top.

You just crushed his rags to riches pride and make it sound like his family not that great after all. That's why he is so focused on chichis just like other barbarians who cannot make it in life.

What exactly are chi chis?Im not sure but I have an idea I would like them.

that's a pair of large dolly chichis you're staring at.

image.jpg

Leckmichamarsch

Mark Lin
16 aug 2016

The Schooling phenomenon is amazing – it stir up so much curry in the pot.k to work with). Had they ‘just follow lor’ or if Joseph happened to be born in a different family – no amount of hard work alone can produce such a miracle.

I agree,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk