• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Polish Solidarity Song: We want Independent Unions that are free from Party Minions

Rumpole

Can this strike by SMRT bus drivers imported from the PRC be a harbinger of greater things to come? May it mark the beginning of a movement similar to Solidarity in Poland?

For the unfamiliar, here is some background info on Solidarity from Wikipedia:

"In the 1980s, Solidarity was a broad anti-bureaucratic social movement, using the methods of civil resistance to advance the causes of workers' rights and social change. The government attempted to destroy the union during the period of martial law in the early 1980s and several years of political repression, but in the end it was forced to negotiate with the union.

The Round Table Talks between the government and the Solidarity-led opposition led to semi-free elections in 1989. By the end of August a Solidarity-led coalition government was formed and in December 1990 Lech Wałęsa [leader of the strike at the Gdansk Shipyard that spread nationwide to become the Solidarity movement] was elected President of Poland."

Here’s a cool music video with images of the Solidarity strikes. Is it a crime to want Independent Unions that are free from Party Minions?

[video=youtube;7D4GQ0w04YU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7D4GQ0w04YU[/video]

skponggol

Re: Polish Solidarity Song: We want Independent Unions that are free from Party Minio

This strike cannot be compared with that of Solidarity in1980 when the Polish workers rose up against a puppet government controlled by a foreign regime. That strike was supported by every Polish workers.

This SMRT strike, however, is started by foreign workers against a local government who hesitates to take strong action against them without considering the economic and political backlash from the big foreign country. Not many local workers support this foreign strike.

This is a total mix-up of Gdańsk 1980 with Danzig 1939………This may be a more appropriate music to reflect the sentiments of the foreign workers and their supporters of this strike, especially those in the Chinese microblogs:

[video=youtube;zOZ-h0p1r8A]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOZ-h0p1r8A[/video]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOZ-h0p1r8A

Re: Polish Solidarity Song: We want Independent Unions that are free from Party Minio

I am not quite getting it. Independent unions will eventually want some Party involvement. They have a choice which one, if that is your point.

Asterix

Here’s a cool music video with images of the Solidarity strikes. Is it a crime to want Independent Unions that are free from Party Minions?

Good post. Too bad I gotta no power. If not sure upz you.

Zee number one Party Minion at the NTUC aka Employers' Federation masquerading as some kind of half baked union is one not so crevar minister with no pork-four-leo Lim Swee Say alias Zorros.

Rumpole

This strike cannot be compared with that of Solidarity in1980 when the Polish workers rose up against a puppet government controlled by a foreign regime. That strike was supported by every Polish workers.

This SMRT strike, however, is started by foreign workers against a local government who hesitates to take strong action against them without considering the economic and political backlash from the big foreign country. Not many local workers support this foreign strike.

This is a total mix-up of Gdańsk 1980 with Danzig 1939………This may be a more appropriate music to reflect the sentiments of the foreign workers and their supporters of this strike, especially those in the Chinese microblogs:

Your analogy with Danzig 1939 seems to be based on the fact that there are more and more PRCs in SINKIELAND and therefore SINKIELAND will one day be annexed by PRC. This analogy is totally misplaced. I will refrain from calling you names.

Background on Gdansk (formerly known as Danzig) from Wikipedia:

“When Poland regained its independence after World War I with access to the sea as promised by the Allies on the basis of Woodrow Wilson’s “Fourteen Points” (point 13 called for "an independent Polish state", "which should be assured a free and secure access to the sea"), the Poles hoped the city's harbour would also become part of Poland. However, since Germans formed a majority in the city, with Poles being a minority, the city was not placed under Polish sovereignty. Instead, in accordance with the terms of the Versailles Treaty, it became the Free City of Danzig, an independent quasi-state under the auspices of the League of Nations with its external affairs largely under Polish control. Poland's rights also included free usage of the harbour, a Polish post office, a garrison in Westerplatte district, customs union with Poland etc. This led to a considerable tension between the city and the surrounding Republic of Poland. The Free City had its own constitution, national anthem, parliament (Volkstag), and government (Senat). It issued its own stamps as well as currency.

The German population of the Free City of Danzig favored reincorporation into Germany. …… Hitler used the issue of the status of the city as a pretext for attacking Poland …… As Nazi demands increased, German-Polish relations rapidly deteriorated. Germany invaded Poland on September 1 after having signed a non-aggression pact with the Soviet Union in late August. The German attack began in Danzig, …...”

In 1939, the population of the free city of Danzig was 90% German! And Germany is right next door! Only an idiot will not want to be reunited with the German motherland and continue to be subject to Polish dominance! Therefore, your analogy is totally false and inappropriate.

For SINKIELAND, PRC has no interest in annexing a small peesai island thousands of miles away in a sea full of Malays. Cheap workers from the PRC and elsewhere were imported by a PAP government elected by a bunch of 60% daft and ball-less SINKIES. The PRC government did not ask the SINKIES' government to do this as a favour. The PAP government did it in order to enrich themselves and their cronies and to make up for their inability to create quality economic growth. The effect of this mass and indiscriminate importation of cheap labour is to suppress wages – of SINKIES. These damn useless SINKIES did not rise up to block this importation mainly because:

1) They have been brainwashed to be selfish and cowardly;

2) Their trade union, the NTUC, is not independent or self-governing and filled with Minions from the PAP; and

3) They are too STUPID to realize that better working conditions for foreign labour means better working conditions for them because it reduces the incentive to import cheap labour and reduces the employers’ power to suppress their wages through such importation.

It is appropriate to compare this strike with Solidarity because Solidarity started as a strike but snowballed into a social and political movement. By 1980, Gdansk and its population had become largely Polish. The Germans were expelled as part of ethnic cleansing following World War II.

In SINKIELAND, since SINKIES are cowardly, a strike, if it is to start at all, had to be by more brave souls like the PRC drivers. Whether or not it will snowball into a movement like Solidarity with the initial primary demand being truly independent trade unions and then followed by political and civil liberalisation depends on whether SINKIES wake up or stay SELFISH, MYOPIC, STUPID and COWARDLY.

Many myopic SINKIES are happy that PRC bus drivers are paid lower than SINKIE bus drivers. Makes them feel that being a SINKIE has some privileges. This is the DUMBEST thing that I’ve heard. All bus drivers should be paid the same wages whatever their nationality. Then the bus companies have no incentive to import foreign bus drivers and the SINKIE bus drivers’ jobs are more secure as a result. If the bus company uses this as an excuse to raise fares, the strike instead of coming from the bus drivers will come from the bus riders – it is called a boycott or street protest. The same logic applies to other industries. Since SINKIES have no balls to do any of these, therefore they have to accept whatever crap the PAP throws at them and watch at the sidelines while the PRC bus drivers show them how it’s done.

Remember, this strike would not have happened if the NTUC had been a GENUINE trade union that stood up for workers’ rights instead of a FAKE union filled with Party Minions like Zorro. Many years ago, a NTUC employee stood for election on the Opposition ticket. Once the election was over, he was immediately fired and the reason given by one PAP MP, Lawrence Xia, was that the NTUC and the PAP are one and the same!

Rumpole

I am not quite getting it. Independent unions will eventually want some Party involvement. They have a choice which one, if that is your point.

Involvement and Control are two different things.

The NTUC is CONTROLLED by the PAP.

Independent and SELF-GOVERNING trade unions may form or break alliances with other groups in the wider polity, including political parties, to further their workers' rights and interests, but they do not allow themselves to be CONTROLLED by others.

Involvement and Control are two different things.

The NTUC is CONTROLLED by the PAP.

Independent and SELF-GOVERNING trade unions may form or break alliances with other groups in the wider polity, including political parties, to further their workers' rights and interests, but they do not allow themselves to be CONTROLLED by others.

What if a sizable proportion of union members are aliens? National interests are better served by a union under the purview of the ruling government imho because they will be more able to anticipate and respond to events such as the episode earlier this week. Just so happens PAP currently forms the government.

Rumpole

What if a sizable proportion of union members are aliens? National interests are better served by a union under the purview of the ruling government imho because they will be more able to anticipate and respond to events such as the episode earlier this week. Just so happens PAP currently forms the government.

If in some crucial sectors, maybe because SINKIES don't like to do that kind of work or it is seen as "low class", back breaking, whatever, it comes to be dominated by foreigners, then we can deal with it with targeted legislation.

Has it escaped your attention that the employer embroiled in this strike is SMRT, majority owned by TemaSICK, which is a government entity? Has it also escaped your attention that the PAP "just so happens" to form the government since 1959? Because the SG people love them so much that they decided to give these PAPzies complete power over their lives without need for checks and balances? No, because PAP use tricks like GRC, gerrymandering, fake trade unions, brainwashing newspapers and broadcasters and even PAP kindergartens, fear mongering, sponsoring straw and fake opposition parties with taxpayers' money, planting moles in these parties, internet brigades, etc, etc.

Has it escaped your attention that 60-70% of the SINKIE economy is controlled by the government thro' GLCs, stat boards, etc. In such an environment, allowing PAP to control the unions is tantamount to allowing employers to control unions! Defeats the whole purpose of having unions - which is to strengthen the bargaining position of the lone employee through collective action :p

TracyTan866

Can this strike by SMRT bus drivers imported from the PRC be a harbinger of greater things to come? May it mark the beginning of a movement similar to Solidarity in Poland?

This is a step in the right direction. Whether the next step comes quickly is to be seen

julyaric720

They have a choice which one, if that is your point.
black.jpg

yellowarse

No union here can be truly independent if it's controlled by the government, for the simple reason that the govt is the single largest employer in Singapore. The reach of their tentacles is even wider when you consider that up to 70% of the private economy is controlled by GLCs.

How people cannot see the conflict of interest between a genuine labour union and the govt as employer beats me. Not to mention a govt that has sold its soul to free market forces and runs the nation as Singapore, Inc.

I think this strike is a harbinger of a brighter future for Singaporean workers. At the very least it has opened the eyes of the Sinkies to the fact that it is the fundamental and inalienable right of every worker to fair wages and conditions of work, and to representation by independent labour unions which have the autonomy to choose their political affiliation.

It is sad, perhaps, that this lesson has to be taught by lowly paid Third World workers from an authoritarian regime, but such is the irony of the lot of Sinkies—trapped in a wealthy but fascist and illiberal 'democracy'.

Has it escaped your attention that 60-70% of the SINKIE economy is controlled by the government thro' GLCs, stat boards, etc. In such an environment, allowing PAP to control the unions is tantamount to allowing employers to control unions! Defeats the whole purpose of having unions - which is to strengthen the bargaining position of the lone employee through collective action :p

If the industries are dominated by foreigners or of strategic importance, it is in the interest of national security for the government to be able to exert a significant influence on the unions.

This is a level of trust with the gov that is seldom seen elsewhere, and it will persist as long as the government is not screwing up the economy or the social contract. Oh, and it doesn't have to be the PAP in charge!

Rumpole

If the industries are dominated by foreigners or of strategic importance, it is in the interest of national security for the government to be able to exert a significant influence on the unions.

This is a level of trust with the gov that is seldom seen elsewhere, and it will persist as long as the government is not screwing up the economy or the social contract. Oh, and it doesn't have to be the PAP in charge!

Excuse me, did you not read the very first paragraph of my post: if a crucial sector has significant number of foreign workers, this can be addressed with TARGETED LEGISLATION.

Wah, just because one sector has significant number of foreigners, you want all trade unions to be controlled by the government! Machem PAP style propaganda - to protect the minorities, we need the GRC system. Sorry lah, forget to tell you that GRC system also means we can get 60% of the votes but 90% of the Parliamentary seats and too bad, we are not going to change the GRC system because you the daft voters have approved it based on our cooked up "reasons" and mostly because it benefits us the PAP so much!

As for your point about trust, you obviously are living in Alice in Wonderland to fail to realise that the PAP has abused that trust many, many times. Ever heard of the lie that an increase in GST is to help the poor! The fact that trade unions should be self-governing and not be controlled by the government applies to whoever happens to be the ruling party. If the SDP or the WP or a coalition of oppo parties were to form the government in 2016, it is still imperative that the trade unions should not be controlled by the government and be truly independent and self-governing.

A government that controls 70% of the economy through GLCs can screw the workers without screwing the economy. That's how the huge rich-poor disparity is caused in the first place - by screwing those at the bottom and fattening those at the top like the useless SMRT CEOs, useless trade union officials, Minion quality Ministers using Criminal Law (TEMPORARY) Provisions meant for dealing with triads to punish oppressed workers, etc.

yellowarse

If there's an excess of foreigners in any one industry impinging on national security, quotas must be legislated and enforced. Nothing to do with labour rights.

Precisely because any party can be in government by virtue of being elected, safeguards must be put in place to prevent abuse of workers' rights, WHOEVER is in charge.

It boils down to a conflict of interest:

1. Can the govt be a neutral arbiter of workers' interests if the govt is at the same time an employer, the largest employer in the land?

2. Can a neo-liberal govt with a pro-business and pro-market stance be a fair guardian of workers' interests?

Can a cat protect the interest of mice under its charge? Never mind whether it's a black or white, good or bad cat.

Ultimately, it is only the workers themselves who can represent their own interests and speak up for their own rights. The role of the government is to ensure and protect the right of workers to form independent unions by enacting legislation and enforcing it. That's all.

Excuse me, did you not read the very first paragraph of my post: if a crucial sector has significant number of foreign workers, this can be addressed with TARGETED LEGISLATION.

Every industrial situation is different and laws are simply too generalized to work in every situation. Why bother with law making when you can simply strike a deal with our very capable union leaders and representatives? Especially so if all union activities are monitored by an umbrella union organization, nothing will escape the eyes of the state.

If there's an excess of foreigners in any one industry impinging on national security, quotas must be legislated and enforced. Nothing to do with labour rights.

Quotas? So lay chey! The SMRT incident arose not because there were too many foreigners, but rather because SMRT renege on the terms agreed with all employees, leading to a 6 day week and a defacto pay cut for bus drivers. If the PRC drivers had joined the unions, they would lan lan have to accept the pay cut because union representatives can reach an agreement with management without member quorum or consent. Why did SMRT not mandate new drivers to sign up for membership under the union as a precondition for employment?

Greed and incompetence. Overconfidence in the government cleaning up after them. Heads must roll, and I mean not just the drivers who broke the law!

Precisely because any party can be in government by virtue of being elected, safeguards must be put in place to prevent abuse of workers' rights, WHOEVER is in charge.

It boils down to a conflict of interest:

1. Can the govt be a neutral arbiter of workers' interests if the govt is at the same time an employer, the largest employer in the land?

2. Can a neo-liberal govt with a pro-business and pro-market stance be a fair guardian of workers' interests?

Can a cat protect the interest of mice under its charge? Never mind whether it's a black or white, good or bad cat.

Ultimately, it is only the workers themselves who can represent their own interests and speak up for their own rights. The role of the government is to ensure and protect the right of workers to form independent unions by enacting legislation and enforcing it. That's all.

Conflict of interest? For a neo-liberal government, what is good for the state must be good for you. Conversely in a socialist one, what is good for the worker must be good for the state. If the whole system is intact when a socialist government comes to power, entire ranks of union representatives can be purged and replaced with those friendly to the new government. In theory of course. The power of the state must not be diminished even as government is being replaced.

Asterix

Conflict of interest? For a neo-liberal government, what is good for the state must be good for you. Conversely in a socialist one, what is good for the worker must be good for the state. If the whole system is intact when a socialist government comes to power, entire ranks of union representatives can be purged and replaced with those friendly to the new government. In theory of course. The power of the state must not be diminished even as government is being replaced.

What talk cock rubbish is this. Have you not heard of such a thing called the Constitution - it is neither capitalist nor socialist. It guarantees basic human rights of every citizen that no government of the day, capitalist or socialist, can take away without a super majority. It is arguable whether basic human rights of citizens can be abrogated even with a super majority. One such right is the "freedom of association" - e.g. to form trade unions OF YOUR CHOICE. However, PAP ignores that argument, judges appointed without an independent commission don't dare to rule impartially on the unconsitutionality of such amendments, daft SINKIE electorate thinks everything is fine so long as their lousy HDB lifts are "upgraded", etc.

Here's a simple enough video for you to understand about enhancing workers bargaining power through independent unions.

[video=youtube;ubIWyT7nGdU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubIWyT7nGdU[/video]

Note One: Just minutes after I posted this reply, Mojito sent a very vulgar private message. This proves he is PAP IB member. I am going to report this to the administrator and FUCK YOU TOO Mojito and you can LICK my ass along with those of your masters. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

Note Two: And a few minutes later, this FUCKTARD sends another PM to my reply to his post on this STUPID, IDIOTIC thoughts on the SMRT saga on his happiness at being paid a few hundred dollars more than an ang mor in Dubai. He likes to say DIE, DIE, DIE and wish cancer on other people. Well, if the FUCKTARD Mojito is like his latest avatar, he will die of LUNG CANCER! Ha ha ha! FUCKTARD Mojito if you have the balls, exchange vulgarities with me in the open forum, don't hide behind PMs. You will be exposed sooner or later as a PAP IB. I've zeroed in on you. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

yellowarse

Note: Just minutes after I posted this reply, Mojito sent a very vulgar private message. This proves he is PAP IB member.

I've been suspecting that for some time.

Note One: Just minutes after I posted this reply, Mojito sent a very vulgar private message. This proves he is PAP IB member. I am going to report this to the administrator and FUCK YOU TOO Mojito and you can LICK my ass along with those of your masters. Cheers and have a nice day.

Note Two: And a few minutes later, this FUCKTARD sends another PM to my reply to his post on this STUPID, IDIOTIC thoughts on the SMRT saga on his happiness at being paid a few hundred dollars more than an ang mor in Dubai. He likes to say DIE, DIE, DIE and wish cancer on other people. Well, if the FUCKTARD Mojito is like his latest avatar, he will die of LUNG CANCER! Ha ha ha! FUCKTARD Mojito if you have the balls, exchange vulgarities with me in the open forum, don't hide behind PMs. You will be exposed sooner or later as a PAP IB. I've zeroed in on you.

Interesting. Why don't you post these PMs here where everyone can see?

Oh, and please don't take too long to compose. We are waiting.