• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Over in Msia, electricity tariff down....

oli9

From The Star paper today - MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!
Dont tell me about Msia produces own oil crap. Msia has a population of 25million (Jul08 est) compared to Spore's 4 million. You think their oil not exhaustive meh?

Electricity tariff down by 2.5%
By SIM LEOI LEOI

PUTRAJAYA: Malaysians will enjoy cheaper electricity from next month.

Some 5.2 million domestic users and households can expect a 2.54% reduction in electricity tariffs, while commercial and industrial users will see cuts of 2.7% to 5%. The Government also announced the reduction of gas prices for industrial use of between 32% and 35%.

On average, the price of electricity will come down to 31.31 sen per kilowatt hour from 32.5 sen previously.

Energy, Water and Communications Minister Datuk Shaziman Mansor said the electricity rates would be reviewed again on July 1, and subsequently every six months, to reflect the global price of gas and coal.

“We hope this reduction will benefit all users, particularly those in the industrial sector, and help lower their operational costs during the current economic crisis,” he said yesterday.

“For domestic users, the Government would have liked to reduce the electricity rates by a bigger margin. However, when we reviewed the electricity tariffs last July, we only allowed a slight increase despite the spiralling prices of oil and gas at that time.

“The reduction today will better reflect market prices. Our energy generation is also by coal, which has not shown any significant reduction in price.”

Shaziman said the price of coal was now US$85 (RM307.70) a tonne, up from US$75 (RM271.50) last July.

Shaziman said another reason for the lower than expected reduction was that the Government had decided to divert 100 million standard cubic feet per day’s supply of gas meant for the electricity sector to industries starting this year.

“This is meant to spur the economy as well as enhance investor confidence in Malaysia,” he said.

The reduction received mixed reactions from consumer groups. Most said the cut could have been lower. Fomca secretary-general Muhd Sha’ani Abdullah said the reduction was too small to make any significant impact.

Lestat

The next rebuttal you will get from the PAP internet dog brigade will be:

"Don't compare 1st world country with a 3rd world country" :biggrin:

prince123456

my kawan says not only electrcity down , petrol also down.. . cpf can take 100% when u 55 , no need to pay tv licence ... land tax also low...

walau how to beat them .. :cool:

my kawan says not only electrcity down , petrol also down.. . cpf can take 100% when u 55 , no need to pay tv licence ... land tax also low...

walau how to beat them .. :cool:

Ha ha ha............. Agree
Malaysia no TV license, no school fee & exam fee(free school), cheap medical fee only RM1 included medicine.

JB recently opened their new customs complex. Damn big place something like Changis Terminal 1, however must do alot more walking :eek:

Nice thing is there are more counters, more than enough for non-Malaysian visitors :rolleyes: