• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Out of 407 NUS undergrads polled, 122 support WP, 6 support SDP

ray_of_hope

What SDP needs is not to reach out to the liberal intelligentsia but to those who will put them in parliament - the HDB folks.

You hit the nail on the head. This appears to be the key point.
PAP and WP seem to have significant reach into the heartlands.
It seems that the work that they do there is done quietly but
effectively. The heartlanders are not interested in the clashing
of cymbals or the banging of drums.

Thick Face Black Heart

Sgparent:

Sorry for snapping at you a few posts back. Dunno what has gotten into me today. Maybe didn;t have a good breakfast.

Cheers

wikiphile

Somebody should have told chee that all along, however his congregation never did point out the obvious to him. I have hardcore SDP supporter friends (not that ladyboy pimp tonychat) and they think he was always on the right track towards democracy here.

Peasants obviously don't know what is good for them. If the PAP were grossly incompetent in managing the economy, you think hungry peasants will turn up for the getais and karaoke sessions? Retail politics, a mere distraction. Do we need to be near our deathbeds to remind us the value of life?

The law should be changed so that only Singaporeans who own landed property have voting rights. This will prevent those moron heartlanders who are simpletons and easily bribed from distorting election results.

wikiphile

Peasants obviously don't know what is good for them. If the PAP were grossly incompetent in managing the economy, you think hungry peasants will turn up for the getais and karaoke sessions? Retail politics, a mere distraction. Do we need to be near our deathbeds to remind us the value of life?

it is what it is a sizeable 'minority' has noticed the cracks and wants some painful changes. the rest simply like where their cheese is placed today and tomorrow.

The law should be changed so that only Singaporeans who own landed property have voting rights. This will prevent those moron heartlanders who are simpletons and easily bribed from distorting election results.

It could be better with a bicameral system, where the Upper House is elected on a proportional representation basis. This would probably reduce the retail politics bias and improve the chances that quality legislators are elected in parliament to respond to the ever changing landscape.

They have yet to take out a 35 year mortgage to buy a new flat.

They have yet to experience the anxiety of having their wife or daughter walk home at night through a street crowded with foreign workers.

They have yet to face workplace discrimination from a foreign employer.

They have yet to suffer the brunt of office politics played by a bunch of FTs to ostracize their Singaporean colleagues.

Their parents haven't told them how compulsory annuity locks up their CPF.

They have yet to wait 5 years for a BTO flat.

They have yet to lose a job due to NS liabilities.

They have yet to lose a business contract due to a train breakdown.

They have yet to experience sending out 500 resumes but only getting 3 job interviews, all of which were filled with FT applicants.

They have yet to pay a $50,000 COV for a resale flat.

Yes..Yes.. This is what happened to a reservist chap of mine.. Graduated from NTU in 2004.. PAP loyalist thru and thru..

Voted for the Pappies in the 06 GE.. Had a good career until things came crashing down on him in 2008.. Was marginalised by his FT colleagues from India, and was forced to resign.. Took him awhile before finding a good job again in 2010..

Finally he voted for the Oppos in 2011..

it is what it is a sizeable 'minority' has noticed the cracks and wants some painful changes. the rest simply like where their cheese is placed today and tomorrow.

Haiz.. The ship is sinking and the passengers are in deep slumber. Small wonder the realists choose to emigrate.

Thick Face Black Heart

The younger generation is more educated but not necessarily more politically aware. The education system has indeed served its political masters well, churning out technically skilled people but not people who are aware of their political situation.

I dare say even those in Arts courses suffer from this syndrome. Know everything about the world but somehow blind to their own backyards.

WP has benefitted because its leadership recognized years ago that to win the race you must start from the ground up, working through the heartlands and getting around all the obstacles that the media will place in front of you.

I think no one in the opposition camp has ever been under the delusion that SG is a true democracy. At least, no one credible has ever believed that. The methods must be those relevant to the situation. No use banging your head on a block of iron, thinking your skull can match its strength.

It is basic politics that the canvassing starts at the heartland level. True not only in SG but in all 1st world developed countries too. The only diff is SG is not a 1st world society yet and the playing ground is unfair. A real opposition navigates this minefield with intelligence and political astuteness.

wMulew

The younger generation is more educated but not necessarily more politically aware.

You are totally wrong. They are not only political aware thanks to the internet, they are also aware of the stupidity and incompetency shown by the opposition and know full well those idiots will run the country to the ground if given the chance that is why they chose to stick with PAP

tanwahp

As foolish as he may seem, CSJ is the reason why SDP gets 6 votes and the rest like NSP SPP even less.
Its good to have a fiery guy in parliament for a change, thats teh real alternative voice.

Confrontational is good but Chee Soon Juan talking rubbish and definitely a liar, how to support unless he change? Chee will never win even when he stands cos his constituents will suffer. I may support his minions but not Chee.

Notice that not all SDP members are like Chee. Will support anyone from SDP except Chee. Simple. You mean you will support Chee?

The SDP model is definite nonsense. It calls for a cut of more than 5 billion from defence, increase of corporate tax and introduction of luxury tax, all hallmarks of liberalism.

Can you make up your mind or are you fighting for the same award with Mitt Romney?

The only thing you are consistent about is WP, but that makes it even more interesting.

tanwahp

Note that RP isn't even there. It seems to have fallen off the map.
Will kj again say he is ignored and the rest are merely "approved" oppo? :biggrin:

Maybe RP had zero votes, the MSM would rather not publish RP than put as zero. They will get KJ on their backs for both, but less if they don't publish RP.

It is basic politics that the canvassing starts at the heartland level. True not only in SG but in all 1st world developed countries too. The only diff is SG is not a 1st world society yet and the playing ground is unfair. A real opposition navigates this minefield with intelligence and political astuteness.

SDP candidates lousy tio bo? WP candidates outside HG-AJ, many cannot make it right? Even if you manage to put the entire WP lineup into parliament, they will still fuck up the show. Tell me how WP will get promising new candidates by singing karaoke? Learn a thing or two from the SDP, dun yaya papaya. You think Chee wrote the whole housing report ah? It is good publicity and I think they will attract some more good people to their side, some of which could be fielded in 2016.

tanwahp

Before that, they need to put together a team. I daresay once they start engaging the intelligentsia their lineup will not be worse than WP. Maybe even better. Quality of candidates is the single most important factor for opposition parties at this stage.

As a party that isn't so electorally successful, SDP recruits people of quality. But for some reason many don't stay very long. People think WP has lost the most people but it could be due to the MSM's strategy of playing up every time resignations happens. SDP has lost nearly all of its A Team people.

The problem may be internal, so it'll be good to clean up. The more talented people are, the harder to retain.

Kinana

Good idea. Poor people are easily manipulated and never be allowed to vote.
However, I would suggest those who are 3 room n below not be allowed to vote.

wikiphile

Good idea. Poor people are easily manipulated and never be allowed to vote.
However, I would suggest those who are 3 room n below not be allowed to vote.

or those with an IQ of below 20 like yourself not be allowed to have a say at all