• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition can still use the internet to reach out to voters on “cooling-off” day

jeremyyau555

The opposition has not dismissed the idea of using the internet to reach out to the voters on the “cooling-off” day which will be introduced in the next general election.

Under the new law, the minimum campaign period will be extended from nine to ten days.

All forms of mass rallies, home visits and public display of party symbols will be banned on the eve of polling day to enable voters to reflect “calmly” on their choice.

Assistant Secretary-General Desmond Lim said that the Singapore People Party has planned to use the “cooling-off” day to do some administrative work.

He hopes that supporters will continue to disseminate the message of the party on the day itself in cyberspace to urge Singaporeans to cast their votes for the SPP.

However he admitted that SPP has not come up with any concrete plans yet as the rules are still unclear on campaigning via the internet.

Though PM Lee acknowledged that it would be difficult to enforce the law in cyberspace, he hoped the spirit and principle of the “cooling-off” period would be upheld by Internet users without elaborating on the topics they should refrain from writing or discussing.

I can’t control several million videos on YouTube. But your website, what you are putting out in your own name, I think that should end on the day before cooling-off day,” PM Lee added.

National Solidarity Party Chairman Yip Weng Yew felt that the impact of the internet will be minimal as only those who are interested in politics and the English-educated Singaporeans will look up for political news on the internet.

Sylvia Lim, Non-Constituency MP and Workers’ Party chairman, said:

You have to remember that the eve of Polling Day is a very critical period for the voters and in Singapore’s context, you can say there is a bar on political parties campaigning on this cooling-off day, but you must remember that the role of the PAP as a political party and its role as the government is often blurred.

We may have situations where civil servants could come out to clarify certain government policies and even announce policy reviews for that matter. So practically, I think it is difficult to ensure that the cooling-off period serves its purpose
.”

The Workers’ Party organizing secretary Yaw Shin Leong and Reform Party Secretary-General Kenneth Jeyaretnam had refrained to comment on the matter.

the reach of the internet in sg to those who actually drag their sorry arses to vote is grossly over-estimated.

when i was there not too long ago, only kids who can't vote, youths who can't be bothered with politics, and a few all-talk no-walk old fools surf the web for decent content. the middle-aged men who do are surfing porn, and the women who do are looking for love in chat rooms. when asked what the various oppo acronyms and party names mean, no one has a clue. i can't even find a fucking internet cafe in the "high tech" part of town. and when i found one in arab quarters, it was either teeming with bangla foreign trash who didn't shower or swarmed with al qaeda wannabes consumed with their blogging escapades.

mercbenz

Re: Opposition can still use the internet to reach out to voters on “cooling-off” day

Scully internet service all went down on cooling off day :rolleyes:

Best is to get all the youtubes and news up before cooling day so that people can read during cooling day. PAP cannot say anything because those were posted before cooling day. Damned!! what stupid day was that.

Char_Azn

i can't even find a fucking internet cafe in the "high tech" part of town. and when i found one in arab quarters, it was either teeming with bangla foreign trash who didn't shower or swarmed with al qaeda wannabes consumed with their blogging escapades.

Singapore has one of the highest(i remember earlier in the year we were ranked number 1 not sure if we're still top) broadband penetration rate in the world(before U start flaming me, broadband penetration rate and broadband speed = different topic). Everyone and their grandma has internet at home or on their 3G handphones.

You can get free internet from many Coffee Joints and Fastfood restaurants. It is far easier to find free wifi access here then in most cities in Europe, sorry my mistake, should correct myself, it's way easier to get free wifi internet access here then every freaking major city in Europe.

Which begs the question, why in the world of F would U want to try and find locals in internet cafes here.

The only reason internet cafes can still survive here is becoz
1)LAN Gaming Shops
2)For tourist
3)For Bnagla FTs
The vast majority of locals do not go to internet cafes to surf the net

Singapore has one of the highest(i remember earlier in the year we were ranked number 1 not sure if we're still top) broadband penetration rate in the world(before U start flaming me, broadband penetration rate and broadband speed = different topic). Everyone and their grandma has internet at home or on their 3G handphones.

You can get free internet from many Coffee Joints and Fastfood restaurants. It is far easier to find free wifi access here then in most cities in Europe, sorry my mistake, should correct myself, it's way easier to get free wifi internet access here then every freaking major city in Europe.

Which begs the question, why in the world of F would U want to try and find locals in internet cafes here.

The only reason internet cafes can still survive here is becoz
1)LAN Gaming Shops
2)For tourist
3)For Bnagla FTs
The vast majority of locals do not go to internet cafes to surf the net

high penetration doesn't mean shit if the oppo thinks the internet is gonna save them. all it means is that most users in sg are doing something else on the internet other than reading political blogs. it may also mean that sinkies are getting highly penetrated in the rear by the pappies.

90% of my young colleagues who ain't political blog savvy did not vote for PAP in the last election. When I asked them why, they told me to look around and feel something is very wrong in this Country. New media does help, but PAP is the greatest helper why people didn't want to vote for them.

56% of the locals i surveyed didn't get to vote in the last election. 62% wanted to vote oppo but didn't know which fucking oppo they could trust, and they wouldn't tell you what they voted. 40% are diehard pappies. 72% want to keep their homes; they're afraid to lose them. 90% wealthy and with lots of means were pretty vocal about voting for the pap. all taxi drivers i travelled with hated the pap but would vote either way come election day. such is the bs state of affairs in sg. i left laughing my ass off.

Singapore has one of the highest broadband penetration rate in the world ...
but u noe wat dose ppl do in internet anot? ...

juz like sum ppl oways tel me dey read papers evryday ... den got a few times, me ask dem ...

me: eh, u got saw tis in papers anot ...

dey: dun hv ...

me: so big oso u din c, meh? ...

dey: :o ...

wizard

Before cooling off day

PAP [ ]
Others [ X ]

After cooling off day

PAP [ ]
Others [ X ]

Any other tricks?

Kid278

Scully internet service all went down on cooling off day :rolleyes:

Dont be surprise when that happen. He made the announcement in spain, you have seen how bulls in spain fights. They'll charge at anything that gets in their way........:p