• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Of great read and authors..

hotbot

I read sammboy journal daily.

I like to read and study her Ch5.jpg

yinyang

Thanks to all for dropping by, to share good lays... oops, good reads I mean:p:wink: Snidey comments welcum too, guess it's all in jest
..if you never read his works before, I would recommend his short collection of stories. Very engaging read. And full of twists. "Twist in the tale", "A Quiver Full of Arrows". In fact I got the 36 collected short stories version.
Done his short collection too way back, spins and tricks. Easy on the eye though.
snrcitizen said:
...getting bored with his books. Then I switched to recommendations from others. "Hunt for the Red October" (can't remember the author) is an example of switch.
Can't disagree, I out grew JA awhile back. So his latest Prisoner of Birth was like dejavu, and besides offerings at Times was kinda short.

yinyang

Either you liked or or don't > Dan Brown's acclaimed bestseller in 2003/4 Da Vinci Code. Movie was a letdown after the book.

Controversial mystery/detective novel. Symbologist Robert Langdon as he investigates a murder in the Louvre, and discovers a battle between the Priory of Sion and Opus Dei over the possibility of Jesus having been married to and fathering a child with Mary Magdalene. (oh dear what will Tee Kee say?)

This novel has provoked a popular interest in speculation concerning the Holy Grail legend and the role of Mary Magdalene in the history of Christianity. The novel has been extensively criticized by Catholics and other Christians as a dishonest attack on the Church. It has also been criticized for historical inaccuracy.

Dan Brown's novel was a major success in 2004 and at times[when?] it was outsold only by the highly popular Harry Potter series.[1] It was the winner of the 2004 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards in the Adult Fiction category. It spawned a number of offspring books and drew glowing reviews from the New York Times, People Magazine and the Washington Post.[2] It also re-ignited interest in the history of the Roman Catholic Church. Additionally, The Da Vinci Code, itself preceded by other Grail books such as The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail by Michael Baigent and others, and Umberto Eco's Foucault's Pendulum, has inspired a number of novels very similar to it, including Raymond Khoury's The Last Templar, and The Templar Legacy by Steve Berry.

It is a worldwide bestseller which had 60.5 million copies in print by May 2006 and has been translated into 44 languages. It is thought[by whom?] to be the 19th best-selling book of all time. Combining the detective, thriller and conspiracy fiction genres, the book is the second book by Dan Brown to include the character Robert Langdon, the first being his 2000 novel Angels and Demons. In November 2004 Random House published a "Special Illustrated Edition" with 160 illustrations.

In 2006, a film adaptation, The Da Vinci Code, was released by Columbia Pictures.

• 200px-DaVinciCode.jpg
    200px-DaVinciCode.jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 201

pfingo

eh...TEE KEE never come her to recomend his GOOD BOOK ah?!?!?! :oIo: :rolleyes:

catherine lim for me BEST

yinyang

eh...TEE KEE never come her to recomend his GOOD BOOK ah?!?!?! :oIo:
Our learned friend needs no encouragement. As local authors go, my personal opinion is Shirley Lim's (malacca mui made good in US academia etc) got more liao.

Born in Melaka, Malaysia into a life of poverty, deprivation, parental violence, and abandonment in a culture that, at that time, rarely recognised girls as individuals, Lim had a pretty unhappy childhood. Reading was a huge solace, retreat, and escape for her. Scorned by teachers for her love of English over her "native" tongue, she was looked down upon for her pursuit of English literature. In 1969, at the age of twenty-four, she entered graduate school at Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts under a Fulbright scholarship, and received a Ph.D. in English and American Literature in 1973.

Lim is a professor in the English Department at the University of California, Santa Barbara. She has also taught internationally at the National University of Singapore, the National Institute Education of Nanyang Technological University, and was the Chair Professor at the University of Hong Kong where she also taught poetry and creative writing.
Neh_Neh_Pok said:
Can playboy or hustler mag consider here?
Penthouse also welcum. Good read also what, for some even help in golden palm therapy, hehehe

yinyang

Local circuit of authors, some fledgings then and moved on whilst others posthumously acclaimed:p

For the latter, our Bonny Hicks was special and open with her sexuality thoughts (her time then):biggrin:

Hicks's initial work, Excuse Me, are you a Model?, was published in Singapore in 1990. The 12,000 copy first print-run sold out in three days, prompting its publisher to declare her work "the biggest book sensation in the annals of Singapore publishing". The book is Hicks's autobiographical exposé of the modeling and fashion world and contains frequent candid musings from Hicks about her sexuality, a subject not traditionally broached in Singaporean society. The book was later described by English literature scholars as an important work in the "confessional mode" of the genre of post-colonial literature.[1]
Her second and last book, Discuss Disgust, wherein she continued to broach issues not traditionally spoken of openly in Singapore. Deemed by most scholars to be a semi-autobiographical account of Hicks's troubled childhood years, the novella portrays the world as seen through the eyes of a child whose mother is a prostitute
ExcuseMe.gif

• ExcuseMe.gif
    ExcuseMe.gif
    12.1 KB · Views: 183

lolabunny

i shy 2 say i like sydney sheldon & judy blume also wor :o

Wah why all the authors are hot in the 1980s?

JA & FF & Tom Clancy??? OMG, next thing we know, someone is going to say Jackie Collins! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

How come no one here reads sci-fi? Issac Assimov, Frank Hubert?

Porfirio Rubirosa

Good thread Bro:smile:

Stephen Leather's book is not only a good read but quite accurate on the thai bar girl/prostitute scene with farangs.

On the Singapore sex scene try Gerrie Lim's Invisible Trade I & II[/COLOR]. He has also written an interesting novel on the US porn industry, which includes a chapter on our very own Anabel Chong aka Grace Quek, called In Lust We Trust.

And if anyone's into farang author on LOS (other than Private Dancer by Stephen Leather), Chris Moore is not bad with his latest aptly titled The Risk of Infidelity Index (supposedly real index for wives with expats posted to LOS):p

Porfirio Rubirosa

Yes, I find his short stories are better with more punch. For those interested in dark short stories with a twist try Roald Dahl.

Yes, I like Jefferey collection too. In fact, if you never read his works before, I would recommend his short collection of stories. Very engaging read. And full of twists. "Twist in the tale", "A Quiver Full of Arrows". In fact I got the 36 collected short stories version. Very good.

Porfirio Rubirosa

For newer local writers try Wena Poon's Lions In Winter. Short story collection on Singaporeans working and studying abroad and how they feel about the foreign lands they are in and Singapore from afar.

Btw Wena is a trained lawyer who graduated from Harvard and is presently living and practising law in Austin, Texas.

Our learned friend needs no encouragement. As local authors go, my personal opinion is Shirley Lim's (malacca mui made good in US academia etc) got more liao.

yinyang

..Stephen Leather's book is not only a good read but quite accurate on the thai bar girl/prostitute scene with farangs.
Trivia: It was only available gratis online, as his publisher thought it'd distort his segment image (as if!). So he published himself to a handy paperback 2/3 years back. It's been some reference point for those who kena flower pots in LOS (both farangs and sinkies included).:p

Ps: Koh pun kap for pts:wink:
..Gerrie Lim's Invisible Trade I & II. He has also written an interesting novel on the US porn industry, which includes a chapter on our very own Anabel Chong aka Grace Quek, called In Lust We Trust.
Oh, that reminds me of one of my kaki's classic line: In lust we THrust:p

yinyang

On local authors, Philip Jeyaratnam's Ragtime Raffles Place and Abraham's Promise

• 5196LReFwzL._SS500_.jpg
    5196LReFwzL._SS500_.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 193

pfingo

Wah why all the authors are hot in the 1980s?

JA & FF & Tom Clancy??? OMG, next thing we know, someone is going to say Jackie Collins! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

How come no one here reads sci-fi? Issac Assimov, Frank Hubert?
sci-fi not my cup of kopi me romantic kind like danielle steele :wink:

TeeKee

eh...TEE KEE never come her to recomend his GOOD BOOK ah?!?!?! :oIo: :rolleyes:

of course bible is a must read...but you can expand your horizon by read other books too....

you will realized most of the stories will end up proven what is right in the bible.

lolabunny

sci-fi not my cup of kopi me romantic kind like danielle steele :wink:

are you really a man? :p

danielle steele's narrative voice is the useless drivel of a whiny woman. it's so bad, i don't actually know what she's talking about. and i'm a girl. :confused::rolleyes:

at least jackie collins and sidney sheldon has dialogue instead of some weird inner monologue in long sentences. :smile: