• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Now, I'm scared to be alone with women

YanDao

20121105.203234_paul.jpg

SINGAPORE - It was just a handshake with a female colleague, but it shook his world to the core when she accused him of molesting her.

Mr Paul Joseph Smith, 55, lost his job as an IT project manager and went through the ordeal of a trial in which he was convicted and ordered to be jailed for 18 weeks.

He had to depend on family members in Australia for financial support. Even then, he could afford only a meal a day, he said. When he lodged an appeal against the conviction, he didn't think he stood a chance.

But the seemingly impossible happened and he walked out of court a free man.

During a four-day trial in April and May, the woman, 38, told the court that she felt her breast being squeezed twice, although she did not see him do it.

Acquitted

In June, Mr Smith was convicted of molesting his colleague of two years after a meal on Sept 3 last year.

He appealed and was acquitted on Oct 25.

An appeals judge found there was reasonable doubt, noting that the woman had not been sure if the touch was intentional, The Straits Times reported.

Speaking to The New Paper on Thursday, Mr Smith said that on the day of the appeal, he had gone to court fearing the worst.

He said: "I thought if I had zero hope, there wouldn't be a shock (if his appeal failed)." But the acquittal still came as a shock in what he admits was an emotional moment.

He said: "Australian guys aren't supposed to cry. It took me a few minutes to compose myself."

At the time of his trial, he thought the truth would be enough to free him.

He said that when he was convicted and sentenced, "the earth opened up, swallowing me".

He said: "I thought it couldn't be happening."

He spent one night in prison, in what he called an eye-opening experience, before bail was arranged.

He had no money left to pay for an appeal, but his lawyers offered to do it - pro bono if he lost, and they could work out payment if he won.

He told TNP that on the night of the incident, the five colleagues, of whom two were women, had several drinks over dinner at a Mohamed Sultan Road restaurant.

Then, they stood up to say goodbye. Two male colleagues gave the woman a hug and he opted for a handshake.

Said Mr Smith: "I should've given her a hug. It would have been more contact, but socially acceptable."

Instead, he said, his hand ended up wedged under her armpit, and he pulled back, he said.

He said of that fateful accident: "I chuckled a little, it was so absurd. She tried to kick me and I bumped against a table. Then she wandered off."

He said she did not respond to an apology he sent in an SMS the next day.

When he returned to work on Monday, Sept 5, he tried to approach her, but she put out her hand to his face and refused to hear more, he said.

Later that morning, he was at his desk when two policemen came in and asked him to follow them to the station for questioning.

On leaving the office, he said to the only colleague around at the time: "I don't know how long I'll be, if I can come back."

He said he was in a state of shock during the questioning. He was released at 5pm that day and spent a sleepless night, the first of many to come.

What followed was a very lean four months in which he lived on charity.

His two female roommates, friends of four years, at a three-room flat in Redhill covered his rent and utilities. His three siblings, who live in Australia, sent him money for food and transport.

His mother, who has a bad heart, still does not know of his case.

Mr Smith said he lived on char siew (barbecued pork) rice from Redhill Hawker Centre as he could afford only one meal a day.

He said: "I lost 10kg. It was a good way to diet."

More money came when he cashed out his Australian pension, having spent 25 to 30 years working largely in the IT industry.

Four walls

Twice or thrice a month, a male ex-colleague would encourage him to socialise by taking him out for a drink. He said his ex-colleagues remained friends with him after hearing his side of the story.

Otherwise, it was the four walls of his room as he didn't want to spend money on transport.

"I became so good at Facebook games and had many high scores. I read all the few hundred books in my library at least twice.

"It was people like (the male ex-colleague) and my family who kept me going."

Mr Smith said he is now very careful around women, and if he is alone in the lift and a woman enters, he will leave.

"I can't afford a misunderstanding like this again." He looks forward to securing a job and getting back on his feet.

He said: "Though I've won, I've also lost."

UncleTOBY

Yes, some women colleagues prefer to be hugged and fucked than to be publicly have their boobs touched.

The irony.

Women are dangerous creatures and you need to know some of them are crazy in their mind when it comes to their image, yet if you play your game right, they'll let you do anything with them.

Bebeque

my take ang moh got away w molest period

Agreed fully.

Ang mo looks like an old teekoo. Hard to believe that he just shook hands with a girl and landed himself into trouble. If he just shook hands how come woman can complain that her breasts were touched?. Hands to breasts, a rather big distance. Further why did he offer his apologies thereafter? The police do not just charge him based on the words of a woman, especially against an ang mo.

Serves this teekoo right because he thought sinkie women can be so easily eaten 'tofu'. Must have done this stroking of breasts many times in the office until some one cannot tahan liao.

He was convicted in the first place. Whether his appeal was successful or not, we don't need such white trash around. ICA and MOM should revoke his employment pass and fo him back to his own country. He is lucky he did this in sinkieland when the pinkerson factor is so strong now. If he had done it in his own ang mo land, he would be sued till his pants drop.

Good riddance.

This ang mor brought it upon himself. The matter wouldn't have blown up if he had not chuckled.

Instead, he said, his hand ended up wedged under her armpit, and he pulled back, he said.

He said of that fateful accident: "I chuckled a little, it was so absurd. She tried to kick me and I bumped against a table. Then she wandered off."

chorut

This fella knows what he has done or did not do. There must however be an evidential case to prosecute him.
Not sure why it went to court in the first place.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
What kind of AngMo is that? For those few months, he has to rely on his friends and family back home to support his daily expenses?

No savings at all to last a couple of months?

What kind of AngMo is that? For those few months, he has to rely on his friends and family back home to support his daily expenses?

1. bro, i have known many white ft who are literally living from hand to mouth hoh!
2. simply don't plan for some rainy days or what.
3. such specimen is among one of those "poor" ft here.
4. btw, it takes 2 hands to clap mah!
5. women nowadays if boh song, could turn the table around.
6. and cry rape!

Look at his face, won't be surprising if there are many women who are scared to be alone with him too, despite being ang moh. :rolleyes:

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

1. bro, i have known many white ft who are literally living from hand to mouth hoh!
2. simply don't plan for some rainy days or what.
3. such specimen is among one of those "poor" ft here.
4. btw, it takes 2 hands to clap mah!
5. women nowadays if boh song, could turn the table around.
6. and cry rape!

Ya, could be 2 sides of the coin, this AngMo is really CMI, the girl knows it and therefore buay song about the accident or not.

amercia is worse, if you touch an american woman shoulder to get her attention.
If she dun like your face, she will complain to her boss about sexual harassment. You could lose your job.
No police report, no investigation, nothing, Just boom you are out.

Cruxx

You think first world talent would wanna come to Singapore? :biggrin:

Thick Face Black Heart

I find it hard to believe he is innocent. The woman kicked, and then she left in a huff. Obviously the woman instinctively reacted to the feeling of having her modesty outraged.

Yes, he is one lucky ang mo. I opine he was going for cheap thrill but never expected char bor to po mata. I dare say this wasn't his first time engaging in such thrill.

If scared to be alone with women, pcc till death? Find same sex partner? Talk cock ang mo.