• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

noordin sacked the whole national team except himself....

sinren67

My colleague, a Malay explained why our lions can't perform in Suzuki Cup.

Several players play for foreign clubs, and they worried if injured, they can't play and income will be affected. Thus naturally they did not give their best during the tournament. Why give your best and eventually hurt yourself and your future when the FAS pay you peanut for the tournament?

What do you think?

Several players play for foreign clubs, and they worried if injured, they can't play and income will be affected. Thus naturally they did not give their best during the tournament. Why give your best and eventually hurt yourself and your future when the FAS pay you peanut for the tournament?

What do you think?
Is your colleague involved in football in any way or does he know the national players personally?

It would be strange since most players at local and foreign clubs would be paid on a monthly or weekly basis and not by the games they play.
This club and country issue is also very big and contentious in Europe, but most of the time, the issue is from the clubs and the manager when the player comes back injured.
There are some compensation arrangements between club and country.
The player still gets paid.

Kim Song was an FAS Director. When even someone as passionate about the game and the country like him threw in the towel and resigned, the writing was on the wall.
Perhaps we don't know all the reasons why he left.
But his non-involvement is certainly a big loss to the association and country. Can't understand why some people don't see that.

The sacking of entire team can only mean one thing. Go figure it out.

Clue: It's got something to do with fishing and fishy.

We have all seen that politicians don't belong in sports or business. This encourage abuse & a civil service attitude.

It's really sad what has happened in Spore :(

sinren67

Is your colleague involved in football in any way or does he know the national players personally?

It would be strange since most players at local and foreign clubs would be paid on a monthly or weekly basis and not by the games they play.
This club and country issue is also very big and contentious in Europe, but most of the time, the issue is from the clubs and the manager when the player comes back injured.
There are some compensation arrangements between club and country.
The player still gets paid.

No, he don't.

Maybe the compensation is no enough, as what my colleague claimed.

If the FAS still treat their players like how the PAP treat the citizens, then might as well leave it as it is. No point change the entire team.

Since Noordin is MIW, we already know our lions forever won't make it.

M

Mdm Tang

Kim Song was an FAS Director. When even someone as passionate about the game and the country like him threw in the towel and resigned, the writing was on the wall.

Fandi was at one time reduced to do selling used car ???

kukubird58

What do you think?

hahaha...don't know but such suspicion was raised in the newspapers/radio interviews by the sports reporters/analysts....so it is national news.

Fandi was at one time reduced to do selling used car ???

Equalisation bought his car from Fandi! :p

Then drove the PRC gal he sianed to utan bukit timah for relac relac rubba rubba one corner, only to find out she's an orang utan! :eek:

M

Mdm Tang

Equalisation bought his car from Fandi! :p

Then drove the PRC gal he sianed to utan bukit timah for relac relac rubba rubba one corner, only to find out she's an orang utan! :eek:

\.

This is Madness ...

Anyway, Fandi also tried selling nasi padang after his marriage, and now I think is managing a club in Indonesia.

M

Mdm Tang

Anyway, Fandi also tried selling nasi padang after his marriage, and now I think is managing a club in Indonesia.

my best wishes to him and family .

hope he and team dont have to sell their

Malaysia Cup Gold medals ... :(:(:(

alvin36

I'm not against noordin, or whatsoever.... but just find it very funny....

firstly, why he talked about it over phone interview in News Channel ?? Why not hold a press conferrence ?

secondly, National players are not employed by FAS or under any contract. What SACKING is FAS talking about ??? As far as I understand, whenever there is a tournament or any competitive games, there will be a players' selection by the coach/manager, players will be "invited" to join the National team. If FAS not happy with those players, just dont invite them lah.... what SACKING are the talking about :confused:

If it is in the midst of a tournament, they can sack a player and send him packing. Just like Anelka in the world cup.

Even France, never say they sack the National players. The only say there need to be a change.

Please correct me if I'm wrong

M

Mdm Tang

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fandi_Ahmad

Fandi Ahmad​

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search

This is a Malay name; the name "Ahmad" is a patronymic, not a family name, and the person should be referred to by the given name, "Fandi".

Fandi Ahmad (born 29 May 1962) is a football coach and former professional footballer from Singapore. During his playing career, he enjoyed success playing in both Europe and Asia, and was captain of the Singapore national football team (1993–97). He is considered by many to be Singapore's best-ever football player, and Asia's best striker. His most regular playing position was that of striker, though he also sometimes played in midfield.

Playing careerIn 1978, at the age 16, Fandi then became the youngest-ever player ever to play for the Singapore national team (a feat erased in 2007 by young starlet Hariss Harun). In 1980 he was a member of the Singapore representative side which won the Malaysia Cup. He scored the winning goal in the final, where Singapore beat arch rivals Selangor 2-1.

In 1982, Fandi was offered a place at Ajax Amsterdam after a trial, but he rejected it due to his difficulties adapting to the language and lifestyle. Instead he chose to return to Asia and joined Niac Mitra in Indonesia.

In 1983, Fandi did move to the Netherlands, where he played for FC Groningen from 1983 to 1985 in the Dutch football league (Eredivisie). Prior to his arrival, Groningen had qualified for European football for the first time, and Fandi helped them in a dramatic European debut season by scoring in a shock 2-0 second round, first-leg win over Italian giants Inter Milan.[1] During the 1983-84 season, Fandi scored 10 times in 29 games. While in his second season at the club, Fandi made 15 appearances, scoring 2 goals. Fandi made a big impact on the Groningen fans, in 1999 he was voted one of the best 25 players ever to play for FC Groningen, earning him a place in the club's Hall of Fame.[2] In 2003, he was named in the club's best eleven of the twentieth century.

Although Fandi was offered a place again at Ajax Amsterdam, he chose to return to Asia in 1986. (He has since said that he regretted not further plying his trade in Europe. Nottingham Forest made an informal enquiry about his availability in the late-1990s, but decided he was too old.)

Fandi's played for Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia from 1986 to 1990, helping them win the Malaysia Cup three times in 1987, 1988 and 1989. He also won the Malaysian Golden Boot Award in 1988. He then joined OFI Crete in Greece in 1990. But this stint in Europe lasted only a few months, and he returned to Malaysia to join Pahang in 1991, and helped them win the Malaysian League and Malaysia Cup double in 1992.

In 1993, Fandi returned to Singapore to play for the Singapore side in the Malaysian League. That year he tasted Malaysia Cup final defeat for the first time when Singapore were beaten 2-0 by Kedah. But the following year, with Fandi as captain, Singapore won the Malaysian League and Malaysia Cup double, and Fandi scored in the Malaysia Cup final as Singapore routed his former side Pahang 4-0.

1994 was Singapore's last year of involvement in the Malaysian competitions, as the Football Association of Singapore decided to withdraw and focus on developing its own domestic tournaments.

In 1996, Singapore's new S.League was launched and Fandi captained Geylang United to winning the inaugural S. League championship title. Following that he moved to the Singapore Armed Forces Football Club (SAFFC) and captained them to winning the S. League title in 1997 and 1998. He then became SAFFC's coach and guided them to winning the S. League again in 2000.

Fandi won over 100 caps playing for the Singapore national team, scoring 50 goals. He helped Singapore win the Silver Medal at the Southeast Asian Games in 1983, 1985 and 1989.

However, his contribution to Singapore football has not been recognised by FIFA, who have not included Fandi as one of Singapore's members in the Centurion Club.

ClubsTeam Nation Years
Singapore (Malaysia Cup team) 1978–1982
Niac Mitra 1982–1983
FC Groningen 1983–1985
Kuala Lumpur FA 1986–1990
OFI Crete 1990
Pahang FA 1991–1992
Singapore (Malaysian League team) 1993–1995
Geylang United FC 1996
Singapore Armed Forces FC 1997–1998

Coaching careerFandi's first coaching job was at SAFFC, who he guided to winning the S. League title in 2000.

Fandi was appointed a Council Member of the Football Association of Singapore in 2001, becoming the youngest person and the first former international player to achieve this. He continued to coach professionally in Singapore and served as Assistant Coach of the Singapore team which won the regional Tiger Cup competition in 2005. He also coached the national under-23 team and the Young Lions in the S.League.

In 2006, Fandi joined the Indonesian club Pelita Jaya as their coach on a three-year contract, reportedly for US$220,000 a year. In early 2010, he resigned from Pelita Jaya.[3]

Personal and family lifeFandi is the son of Ahmad Wartam, who was goalkeeper in the 1960s for Singapore's national football team.[4]

Fandi is married to South African former model Wendy Jacobs (also known as Sarah Abdullah, now a naturalised Singaporean). The couple have five children.

Two of Fandi's children, Irfan and Ikhsan, received glowing reviews from Spanish scouts at AC Milan's junior training camp in Malaga, Spain, with Ikhsan scoring ten goals in two matches. The two boys were also invited to play in two of Valencia CF's academy team games. The duo, members of Arsenal's football school in Indonesia, and also represented their academy in the English club's global under-13 tournament. Both the son has been head-hunted by English giants like Reading, Arsenal and Chelsea.

You're right. There's no such thing as "sacking" from the national team in context of professional footballing. It just means a policy of not recalling the players under the "sack," i.e. overhaul. France did it once in the mid 90s, drastically kicking out top players like Jean-Pierre Papin, Eric Cantona, David Ginola etc. Very successfully though, rebuilding around Zinedine Zidane, resulting in World Cup and Euro titles following. In fact it was France that inspired the Singapore foreign talent policy. However with Singapore, it has apparently failed and they're re-overhauling.

Cruxx

There's no Zidane in Sinkieland. I looked at the Young Lions. Very average team. The so called "next Fandi" is vastly overrated. Face it. Sinkieland is not a sporting country. Slovenia managed to qualify for the World Cup despite having a population size two and a half times smaller than that of Sinkieland. The crux of the matter is that you Sinkie sheep have neither artistic talent nor athletic prowess. :rolleyes:

no use lah noordin....u shld also sack urself lah....since u all take over, singapore soccer has been going downhill....u bring in foreign trash so how now? State of soccer disappinting? if u wanto knoe the real problem, just look into the mirror lah....wtf...want to select players from "ground zero"?...pls lah...we will still end up with the same old players again becos they are the best of the worse liao...so donch wayang becos election is coming....just follow table tennis and import all `100% foreign trash lah...and then ur master old fart will be veri please with u lah.... :oIo:

Football: Singapore national team set for major revamp

SINGAPORE: Singapore's national football players have been dropped from the team following a year of dismal performances. This is according to the President of Singapore's Football Association, Zainuddin Nordin.

In the last 12 months, the national team failed to qualify for the last 16 of the Asian Cup and the Lions also failed to advance beyond the group stage of the recent Suzuki Cup.

In an interview this morning, Mr Zainudin said, the state of football in Singapore is disappointing.

"What we have done, is that we have analyse the reports and what has happened in 2010 and realise that for the good of football, I think, we have a major revamp of the national team. What is going to happen is that we are going to have a new slate of players that means players that will be totally taken from ground zero.

"That means all the players will be dropped and the national coach and the technical team will do a selection based on merit.. From all the assessments, we believe this is the best thing to do for the good of the future of Singapore football."

Mr Zainudin also called for patience from fans.

"We must also be able to accept that for such a development to happen, it will take time. And this is the thing we need to understand because developments and strategies that need to be done with the young players will require time and opportunities for them to develop."

IF THE WHOLE TEAM is sacked, then I think the problem is the COACH and the FAS management. Are they now telling us that NONE of them are good enough for the new team?

I think the whole problem is that the coach and FAS have lost control of the players and hence, they need totally new players to set the rules from Day One.