• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No smoking in more public areas from 15 January

NoBallsToTokMCH

Posted: 11 January 2013 1342 hrs

display_image.php

(AFP/File - Adek Berry)

SINGAPORE: Smoking will be banned in more public areas, when changes to the law kick in on 15 January to better protect the public from second-hand smoke.

This means smokers will not be able to light up at the common areas of all residential buildings, covered linkways and walkways, overhead pedestrian bridges, outdoor compounds of hospitals, as well as within a five-metre radius of bus shelters.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) will give the public time to get used to the changes.

Those caught smoking in the new areas in the first three months will be let off with a warning.

However, those who keep flouting the law even though they had been warned can be fined up to S$1,000.

NEA has been working with stakeholders to put up signage at places such as staircase landings and lift lobbies. Educational posters will be put up at bus stops.

Bins with ashtrays will be shifted or replaced with bins without ashtrays, and will be moved five metres away.

- CNA/ck

Sideswipe

smokers should protest. so troublesome. here ban, there ban... how to remember where can or cannot smoke...

Bigfuck

Posted: 11 January 2013 1342 hrs

display_image.php

The National Environment Agency (NEA) will give the public time to get used to the changes.

Those caught smoking in the new areas in the first three months will be let off with a warning.

However, those who keep flouting the law even though they had been warned can be fined up to S$1,000.

NEA has been working with stakeholders to put up signage at places such as staircase landings and lift lobbies. Educational posters will be put up at bus stops.

Bins with ashtrays will be shifted or replaced with bins without ashtrays, and will be moved five metres away.

- CNA/ck

Many workers and contractor bosses are still smoking in operating shopping malls when they do their works.

"Bins with ashtrays will be shifted or replaced with bins without ashtrays, and will be moved five metres away"

Encourage littering cigars butts ? instead of solving problem .. They create problem . What a stupid move .

If they banned smoking in casinos, it will be half empty.
Good also lah, it's one more reason to prevent me from going.

It is probably the only place in S'pore where you can legally smoke in an aircon room/hall other than your own home. I enjoy going there. Relaxing. Free kopi.

Bro think about it ... Your coffee worth $100 meh ? $100 can buy u how many cup of kopi Liao ? :wink: