• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No long haul bus route

cockcansing

MRT will get even crowded with this when they take off all the long haul bus services.

LONG-DISTANCE bus routes taking commuters from one part of Singapore to another could be a thing of the past.

Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office and Second Minister for Finance and Transport, said yesterday that all such 'cross-country' services will be up for review.

No new cross-country bus services will be introduced either, she disclosed after a dialogue with residents from Kampong Ubi-Kembangan constituency, part of Marine Parade GRC.

Describing such services as 'a legacy of the past', she said: 'We will review every one to see whether they can be sustained, because of the strong correlation between the lack of reliability in bus arrival timings and the length of the bus route.

'As you can imagine, the longer the route, the more uncertainty (in bus arrival timings) because of traffic conditions along the way that will accumulate as you get towards the end of the route.'

Mrs Lim was speaking to reporters after a dialogue at the Kampong Kembangan Community Club, during which transport matters took centre stage.

Read the full story in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.

[email protected]

ps07857

Basically, they are limiting our options so eventually ppl have to take public transportation (esp MRT) or buy expensive COEs. SMRT must make back the money they used to build the Circle Line...etc...
:wink:

ps07857

Anyone remember the good old City Shuttle Bus (for e.g. Number 3 Bus) that used to ply the Orchard Road and BAlestier? Those buses cost only about 20 cents or something much lower than usual (for a kid). Gone are the good old days. Shuttle Loop buses (SBS buses that ply the neighbourhood only) used to be only 25cents for everyone!

Boliao

It was on 95.8 radio for discussion today. All the callers were pretty agitated with this despite the best effort by radio hosts to calm them down.

First caller says overall price will increase and there is no way that it will be the same as Mrs Lim said. The caller said she lied.

Second caller says she hope ministers who has never taken public transport, or need to, should refrain from making decisions

Third caller is an old lady who says it is going to be more expensive, troublesome and in her case, painful; as she needs to walk longer, climb flights of stairs just to get to one place.

Maximum fare on bus is roughly $2.60. If you need to change 3 buses to get to a destination, that means that maximum fare on bus and MRT needs to be adjusted down to $0.75. I do not think this is their intention.

So in short - Minister Lim LIED

In other words...reduce costs...increase fares...but they will tell you, change bus, trains, bus...you get rebates...but you forget you give them money first into their bank accounts, when you top up your ezlink link cards, your bank account is depleted of $xx and their immediately $xx...

In short..pay more !! pay more! including the minister salry, soon they tell you cheap minister like her is hard to come by and is a thing of the past; you have to pay more...

pay more...pay more...pay more....:p

Brightkid

Amazing that people who do not take public transport make decisions that affect all who do, and decision on basis of business profitability and convenience for the transport operators :eek:.

Going to be tough for students who now take bus direct from home to school with 55cents (?) flat. Very soon they need to take bus to MRT station, then MRT to nearest bus stop to school, then another bus to school. 3 segments and multiple payments. Not only more expensive, the changing of modes is enough to tired out the poor (emotionally and financially) students.

Amazing MIWs, :oIo:

Blazars

These people havent even solved the mrt overcrowding and now they are telling more people to take mrt. Why cant these people solve 1 problem at a time?
!&!!

Its noy surprise they are known as People Always Pay party :rolleyes:

No lah!, it is too well known about the People's Always Pay Party...it is now:biggrin: People's Affordable Party.

Everything is affordable, your 'palace' aka HBD flat to medical fees to nus fares, train fares...the ministers...anything that has a P.A. P., stamped on it!!

it is People's Affordable Party...

Another short-sighted policy in the making. If Singapore government-linked company cannot be efficient to cater for long haul bus route, please let the private sector run it!! I am sure there are enough room for many private bus companies to take up the business and do not stop them from doing so. Every pieces of land and road belongs to Singaporeans not PAP.

cockcansing

$2.60 for the trip? You guys better check out. The way I see it is that the SMRT will be reaping big time. Sooner they will again increase the fares as they will say that the operating cost will rise and SBS will also raise it's fares as the long haul no more also will come out with a reason that the operating cost will rise. Oil price up raise fare, oil price down also raise fare. So they are just beefing up their accounts and the chairmen and women will get better bonuses. Tough luck for the men in the streets.
Vote wisely my countrymen

cockcansing

Another short-sighted policy in the making. If Singapore government-linked company cannot be efficient to cater for long haul bus route, please let the private sector run it!! I am sure there are enough room for many private bus companies to take up the business and do not stop them from doing so. Every pieces of land and road belongs to Singaporeans not PAP.

Even with the local bus companies run the show, the LTA will disqualify them as their standard of their buses is not up to euro standard like what happen last time. They will chop you off!

Long haul, shor haul, overhaul...just pay, compare to.........it is still affordable, just lie down and die quitely...if you can find a bed to that...

just pay & SHUT UP! if not when you have choices, make a very wise decision!!

So how does she expect ordinary singaporeans to get from one part of the island to another in the most cost effective manner?
What is her solution?

Brightkid

So how does she expect ordinary singaporeans to get from one part of the island to another in the most cost effective manner?
What is her solution?

Ordinary singaporeans are never her slightest worry. she is there to make sure MRT/Bus coys make money.

Anyway, I guess she is driven around by her persoanl car/driver so squeezing in or changing trains/bus and paying more is never her worry.

Microsoft

All singaporean r expected 2 b out of jobs couple of yrs frm now. They will be replace by ft. Since there r so many ft around us, we sinkie can easily go clean their hse and wash their clothes in neighborhood 4 a living. No nid 2 take bus lah...:biggrin::biggrin:

Ordinary singaporeans are never her slightest worry. she is there to make sure MRT/Bus coys make money.

Anyway, I guess she is driven around by her persoanl car/driver so squeezing in or changing trains/bus and paying more is never her worry.

She is so valuable, you think she can travel by bus/train/bus? and mingle with the 'lesser mortals' and probaly die from common ailment like the common cold, she catches...

The government had lost the soul for the COMMON MAN, a very very long time ago, and have sold us to people; who claim YOUR SINGAPORE!! , is thiers !!:p