• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

National Dengue Campaign launched as dengue cases rise

Leepotism

Singapore has launched a national dengue campaign, which calls on everyone in the community to do his or her part to prevent the disease.

singapore---dengue-fogging.jpg
A worker fogs a housing estate in Singapore. (AFP/Roslan Rahman)

SINGAPORE: Singapore has launched a national dengue campaign, which calls on everyone in the community to do his or her part to prevent the disease.

Leading the call was Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong when he launched the "Do the Mozzie Wipe Out" in Ang Mo Kio GRC on Sunday.

Mr Lee was joined by several other ministers and grassroots advisers islandwide to launch the campaign in various constituencies.
The People's Association (PA) and the National Environment Agency (NEA) emphasised that with dengue cases crossing the 500-mark last week, community support is critical for Singapore to break the chain of dengue transmission.
There were 510 cases in the week ending 20 April and this is the highest weekly number recorded since the major outbreak in 2005.

Since the start of this year, there have been a total of 5,230 cases and the figure is more than the total number of cases for the whole of last year, which stands at 4,632.

Speaking at the event at the Kebun Baru division, PM Lee who is also an MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC, said Singapore is having a problem with dengue fever this year and there are several reasons.

Mr Lee said: “Firstly, the weather is changing; sudden rain, hot sun. So it could be the mosquitoes are finding it easier to breed and the dengue virus is spreading more easily.

"Secondly over the last few years, we have been controlling dengue very well, not many cases, and I think (people's) immunity is down. As a result when the virus comes back in a changed form we have no defences and we get sick easily.

"So we must coordinate our response, we need everybody's help and cooperation to keep your homes clean and prevent the mosquitoes from breeding.

"And we are trying to do it nationwide, all the estates, all the towns, all the homes over this weekend and the next few weekends, to try and break the chain of mosquitoes breeding. We can cut down the mosquitoes, then we can cut down the dengue fever cases this year."

In an island-wide effort, the PA and its grassroots movement will be fanning out to both public and private housing estates every week to remind residents to do their part to prevent the spread of dengue.

Working closely with schools, merchant and hawker associations, community partners and government agencies, they will be distributing publicity materials and demonstrating Mozzie Wipeout measures at over 200 community activities.

Volunteers will also be going house-to-house to spread the message and show residents, especially senior citizens, how to prevent and get rid of potential mosquito-breeding sites in their homes, to complement the educational visits that NEA officers have been conducting.

Separately, the NEA said that the dengue strains that are circulating since the start of 2013 seem to exhibit a higher epidemic potential.

NEA has also found higher numbers of breeding spots on the premises.

Against a backdrop of a low immunity amongst the population, this signals a challenging year ahead as NEA expects to enter the dengue peak season with a higher base of cases.
In a separate event at Chua Chu Kang GRC, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said dengue cases in Singapore take up about one per cent of hospital beds and gave the assurance that hospitals here are ready for any eventuality.

Mr Gan, who was launching the "Do the Mozzie Wipeout" campaign in his constituency, added that doctors in hospitals are being updated on the situation through circulars. And the hospitals are getting ready to meet a possible surge in dengue cases.
Mr Gan said hospitals do several things, for example, looking at measures that can help them create more temporary bed space.

He said: "They will also be looking at deferring some of the non-urgent surgeries; they are also looking at collaborating with step-down care so that some of the patients who no longer require acute attention may then be transferred to step-down care.

"We are more ready than before...today, with better knowledge of the disease, the hospitalisation rate has been lower than before, so we are able to manage more of them within the community rather than to hospitalise them.

"We are also working with the healthcare sector, the doctors in the frontline, on issues regarding clinical management and those who need to receive medical attention will do so promptly."

remember there was this poster that states:
if they breed, you'll bleed

also remember some folks did a cute photoshop on it :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Leepotism

SINGAPORE: Environment and Water Resources Minister Vivian Balakrishnan has cautioned that Singapore is in the midpoint of a full-blown dengue epidemic.

Dr Balakrishnan warned that if nothing is done about the dengue problem, cases could go up to 1,000 per week.
He was speaking as Singapore launched the national dengue campaign "Do the Mozzie Wipe Out" on Sunday.

In an island-wide effort, the People's Association and its grassroots movement will be fanning out to both public and private housing estates every week to remind residents to do their part to prevent the spread of dengue.

In areas with a high number of dengue cases, the NEA wants to get into every single home within one week of residents receiving notice of its officers' visits.

This would mean having to take a more assertive posture by resorting to legislative powers to demand that people open their doors, stressed Dr Balakrishnan.

He said: "The paradox is that an empty home, an untended home, has a very great potential to breed mosquitoes, because no one is there to empty containers, check on toilet bowls, empty pails and check on pots and pans.

"What I have instructed NEA now is that in particular hotspots and particular blocks where you are getting a proliferation of cases, we need to reduce that time interval to one week.

"You need to get in and then to give everybody a sense that we have done 100 per cent checks on all homes in that particular block and vicinity.

"There are other epidemic diseases out there in the world which could affect us. The last thing we want is to be battling on two fronts - to be battling dengue and be worrying about avian flu and other problems, and (so) let's solve this problem."

lower the population density!

I said this before..

All mosquitos in this island should fly to Oxley Rd and attack the Old Bastard..

LeMans2011

A dengue epidemic should only happen in 3rd world countries.
How can a country run by million dollars ministers have a dengue epidemic??? Sack!

LeMans2011

I can never understand why people so readily accept the explanation and campaigns on mozzies wipe out.
NO doubt preventive measures is a must but just go around east coast i can point out the number of clogged drainage.
The primary cause of the dengue epidemic is the fucking govt not doing their job to clear the clogged drains and not households.
How come nobody raise it???

I can never understand why people so readily accept the explanation and campaigns on mozzies wipe out.
NO doubt preventive measures is a must but just go around east coast i can point out the number of clogged drainage.
The primary cause of the dengue epidemic is the fucking govt not doing their job to clear the clogged drains and not households.
How come nobody raise it???

how come you are posting here and not make the complaint yourself???

Sinkie sinkie....talk only and no action... low life.

SingaporeNINJA

Instead of checking all the construction sites and covered drains for mosquitoes breeding, they waste taxpayers money by sending their army of inspectors to knock on every households to inspect the kitchens.

Why don't they use their common sense that if the mosquitoes can breed in a household's kitchens, then the household must really have very think skin, since the mosquitoes will suck the blood of the household members first and they will know.

It's the common areas in the swamps, dumping grounds, construction sites, forested areas, gardens, covered drains that are mosquito breeding grounds and not in the residents' homes.

NEA is purposely wasting taxpayers' money and attempting to put the blame of mosquito breeding squarely on the households instead of seriously finding the root causes of mosquito breeding in those dengue hot-spots.

This is the thread I started that caused Lee Bee Wah to come to the defense of Construction Sites and covered drains. She and her bunch of NEA loafers have obviously read my thread:

http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?145856-NEA-is-a-bunch-of-morons-wasting-taxpayers-money

CNN reported Lee Bee Wah blaming the residents instead of the Construction Sites. If NEA had really been truthful, why is it that even after invading residents' homes and checking, why the dengue cases still keep rising in these clusters? What blatant lies are they going to continue with instead of concentrating on the covered drains and construction sites?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/dengue-cases-up-in-week/632930.html

Ms Lee, who was speaking at an interview on Singapore Connect earlier on Tuesday evening, said NEA officers who combed the ground often found that up to 70 per cent of breeding occurred indoors.

SingaporeNINJA

<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151382084402934" width="352" height="288" frameborder="0"></iframe>

remember there was this poster that states:
if they breed, you'll bleed

also remember some folks did a cute photoshop on it :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

I wonder can dengue be spread from the mosquito biting those FT's who come here with the Dengue virus already in their bodies & bite someone here who does not have the virus & spread it to that person?

Was reading an article, rather obscure one from the Shitty press, it says that, the number of mosquitoes breeding from households, that is water jars etc..is small & is not the cause of the outbreak. My area, we have the NEA here, almost everyday for months, checking & checking, still at one time, there were a rise in dengue cases!! They did find the source once, the Telecoms cable duct, the one with a manhole cover that says TELECOMS..one of them was breeding a lot of mosquitoes, for it was water logged. That is the only thing they found, but still there are cases of dengue & still rises suddenly. Can it be that, these cases maybe people going abroad for holidays or business come back with it or the influx of FT's renting rooms or flats, are already infected or carriers??

I am sure that the NEA educational campaign with their large posters, TV adverts etc.. is effective. BUT WHY IS THERE STILL AN INCREASE??

Maybe we should ask "Jamban Aunty" is it due to the massive construction going on? with Lift uprading, precinct upgrading & residences, Condos, sprouting up like mushrooms all over the island, the cause?

We have a lot of flats that were built before 1980's or up to the 80's with the six bamboo pole holes outside the kitchen & ledges too. For example a block of flats, say 12 stories high with each household of six holders, an average flat will have three columns of flats, each columns of flats with have a pair.

6 holes x 2 flats x one column of 12 stories = 144 holes
1 block of flats, say 3 columns = 144 x 3 = 432 holes

And you multiply that by the number of flats in one housing estates, how many, mosquitoes breeding holes you get?? plus the small ledges there are on one block of flats.

Ok, you can argue, get the homeowners to buy the plastic caps of six to cap the bamboo pole holder, when not in use. But, an average forgetful person, will only occasionally remember to cap all six after use, or cap some & forget some. The point is that is human nature, but those bamboo pole holders retain & collect rain water, for their are no holes at the bottom for any accumulated water to flow out. There, you have natural mosquitoes breeding place...& NEA should fine HDB for it...

Maybe we should ask "Jamban Aunty" is it due to the massive construction going on? with Lift uprading, precinct upgrading & residences, Condos, sprouting up like mushrooms all over the island, the cause?

We have a lot of flats that were built before 1980's or up to the 80's with the six bamboo pole holes outside the kitchen & ledges too. For example a block of flats, say 12 stories high with each household of six holders, an average flat will have three columns of flats, each columns of flats with have a pair.

6 holes x 2 flats x one column of 12 stories = 144 holes
1 block of flats, say 3 columns = 144 x 3 = 432 holes

And you multiply that by the number of flats in one housing estates, how many, mosquitoes breeding holes you get?? plus the small ledges there are on one block of flats.

Ok, you can argue, get the homeowners to buy the plastic caps of six to cap the bamboo pole holder, when not in use. But, an average forgetful person, will only occasionally remember to cap all six after use, or cap some & forget some. The point is that is human nature, but those bamboo pole holders retain & collect rain water, for their are no holes at the bottom for any accumulated water to flow out. There, you have natural mosquitoes breeding place...& NEA should fine HDB for it...

Good point about fining HDB for the no-hole pole holder. Upz you!