• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My horrible connection

mlovfc.jpg

I give up on Starhub liao.... the internet is damn jialat for the last 3 days -_-"

switch off wireless

or connect directly to PC for speed check

it is not accurate when going through router.

patrickv

your internet speed is now like dial-up:biggrin:

i am using starhub, speed is not even though never as high as what i paid for.:mad:

Char_Azn

your internet speed is now like dial-up:biggrin:

i am using starhub, speed is not even though never as high as what i paid for.:mad:

You usually will never get the speed you actually pay for no matter what country or ISP you subscribe to. Speed depends on a lot of factors

Where U are connected to(locally hosted sites will be a lot faster)

What is the connection speed on the other end

How the traffic is routed

For Starhub cable users, there is the additional factor of number of users sharing the bandwidth

What the ISP can promise you is that the speed on their network Backbone is the speed that you paid for. Going anywhere else is subjected to the above factors.

And due to the last reason I stated, I switched over to Singtel, which I've seen way better performance then I had during my days with Starhub. Starhub internet speed depends too much much on the number of pple around your neighborhood subscribing to their plan. My area is pretty much saturated right now.

The freaking suxhub connection when I made the switch was slower then when I was using my Blackberry as the tether modem which is ridiculous to say the least.

Sorry, i forgot to say this is a 2mb mobile broadband account.....

2MB but cannot even give 10% speed. This thing only happen in 1st world country where the regulation protect the company. If in US/Europe the ISP will be sue for the service they cannot provide as stated.
Happen to me also. Call them up. Is there any solution? Even offer to upgrade the plan Also will be useless. Those have plan 1Mb or 7.2MB during peak they will have the same speed. Because all sharing same antenna/pipe line.

NoelVermillion

2MB but cannot even give 10% speed. This thing only happen in 1st world country where the regulation protect the company. If in US/Europe the ISP will be sue for the service they cannot provide as stated.
Happen to me also. Call them up. Is there any solution? Even offer to upgrade the plan Also will be useless. Those have plan 1Mb or 7.2MB during peak they will have the same speed. Because all sharing same antenna/pipe line.
There is no point. Govt has stakes in both Starhub and Singtel. Fair competition? More like, one branch compete with each other.

Char_Azn

This happens EVERYWHERE!!!! This has nothing to do with 1st world or 3rd world

The *insert bandwidth plan* is to the backbone of *insert ISP company*.

There is no Network company in the world that can guarantee a certain bandwidth connection a particular site or for a particular application.

See my earlier post

You usually will never get the speed you actually pay for no matter what country or ISP you subscribe to. Speed depends on a lot of factors

For Starhub cable users, there is the additional factor of number of users sharing the bandwidth

What the ISP can promise you is that the speed on their network Backbone is the speed that you paid for. Going anywhere else is subjected to the above factors.

And due to the last reason I stated, I switched over to Singtel, which I've seen way better performance then I had during my days with Starhub. Starhub internet speed depends too much much on the number of pple around your neighborhood subscribing to their plan. My area is pretty much saturated right now.

The freaking suxhub connection when I made the switch was slower then when I was using my Blackberry as the tether modem which is ridiculous to say the least.

Seriously when I can stream 1080p videos from various video sites like YouTube, the link doesn't sux

For Starhub users the link is largely dependent on the number of pple utilizing the network in your area. All U need is one joker hoarding the traffic and you are pretty much screwed. If you don't like that idea, go with a non-shared bandwidth plan

Char_Azn

This happens EVERYWHERE!!!! This has nothing to do with 1st world or 3rd world

The *insert bandwidth plan* is to the backbone of *insert ISP company*.

There is no Network company in the world that can guarantee a certain bandwidth connection a particular site or for a particular application.

See my earlier post

Seriously when I can stream 1080p videos from various video sites like YouTube while BT is turned on and my brother is playing games online in another room, the link doesn't sux

For Starhub users the link is largely dependent on the number of pple utilizing the network in your area. All U need is one joker hoarding the traffic and you are pretty much screwed. If you don't like that idea, go with a non-shared bandwidth plan

BusNo64

mlovfc.jpg

I give up on Starhub liao.... the internet is damn jialat for the last 3 days -_-"

now who is the cheapo around here? :rolleyes:

pay the cheapest starfuck plan, then come here to kpkb abt slow connection...LOL......pls lah...if u r downloading ur gay porn, of coz dat speed is slow lah...if u surf this forum...54k dialup also enuff liao...:wink:

cheapo cheapo...now who is the cheapo....LOL