• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More than half of S'poreans would migrate if given a choice: Survey

Kensuke

20121007.180824_st_migrate.jpg

The New Paper
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2012

SINGAPORE - In the anonymous freedom of surveys, away from the glare of the National Conversation, more than half of us apparently do not want to be here.

A Mindshare survey carried out early this year found that 56 per cent of the 2,000-odd polled agreed or strongly agreed that, "given a choice, I would like to migrate".

Migration specialist Brenda Yeoh, dean of the National University of Singapore's Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, is not surprised and is hardly alarmed.

"The percentage would be much higher than the reality of emigration (because) then, there is the reality check (of) resources and emotional ties to family. So it shouldn't send the nation into a massive panic about 50 per cent of our population disappearing," she says.

Even so, there is a world of difference between actively wanting to be in Singapore, and simply being here because you can't be anywhere else.

If more than half of Singaporeans harbour some suspicion (no matter how idle or misinformed) that life elsewhere might be more relaxed, more enjoyable, more vibrant - just more - it does not bode well.

It does not help that for some, the vice of paucity continues to tighten in Singapore, heightening the contrast with the perceived abundance in other countries.

The Mindshare survey, for instance, showcases a large wedge of Singaporeans who increasingly feel themselves painted into a corner.

In Singapore's Consumer Price Index last year, the cost of housing rose 8.3 per cent year on year, a rate of increase bested only by that of the cost of transport - another national bugbear - at 11.9 per cent.

For the first time in the history of Singapore, a whole generation of wage earners face the chilling possibility that their lives are going to be worse than their parents'.

But 49 per cent of the respondents in the Mindshare survey agree or strongly agree that the Government is doing a good job running the country.

And the "vocal minority" theory is borne out, with only 8 per cent disagreeing or strongly disagreeing.

What bears further scrutiny, however, is the figure of 43 per cent who are ambivalent on the matter.

So, where does one go from here, literally? Will there be an exodus to the 5pm quitting times of Australia?

In June, there were 200,000 Singaporeans living abroad for at least six cumulative months in the previous 12 months, a 27 per cent increase from nine years ago, says the National Population and Talent Division.

The World Bank has higher figures, with almost 300,000 Singaporeans considered migrants in 2010. "The way I teach migration now has changed. I don't teach it as uprooting and settling (but) as a fluid to-ing and fro-ing," says Prof Yeoh.

It is a comforting thought that more people are not necessarily leaving for good, but what happens when the people you govern are no longer exclusively yours?

Most countries' policies, including Singapore's, have not kept up with this national fluidity. "My view is that we should give more credit to more flexible kinds of identities today. I have evidence to show people are able to cope with multiple identities," she says.

It is ironic, then, that in a time of malleable nationalities, the attitude towards foreigners has hardened.

And the perception of job scarcity is bemusing, given that Singapore has a lower unemployment rate than the countries Singaporeans are moving to.

Why then do people think they would like to be someplace else? Perhaps the National Conversation will clarify matters. It will not be easy - for as we ponder the nation's navel, we have to look past the fluff.

This is a condensed version of the article "Singapore's emigration conundrum' by Joyce Hooi, published in The Business Times first.

larky28

The New Paper
Tuesday, Oct 09, 2012

SINGAPORE - In the anonymous freedom of surveys, away from the glare of the National Conversation, more than half of us apparently do not want to be here.

A Mindshare survey carried out early this year found that 56 per cent of the 2,000-odd polled agreed or strongly agreed that, "given a choice, I would like to migrate".

Most Sporean can only talk when it comes to emigration.. So when they said given a choice, they actually want the host country to roll out the red carpet for them with a posh title cushy job ready on day 1.

So true. NATO is the hallmark of Sinkees.

koala88

So true. NATO is the hallmark of Sinkees.

Not all the time NATO. Sometimes it is the ties that tied one down - especially those of immediate families and loved ones.

If they are freed of these binding ties, or willing to cut it off clinically, then very likely most would have flew somewhere.

axe168

Why ppl are leaving? HK & Sg recruitments told me there are shortage of professionals in Asia with Mandarin speaking background.

They said hot jobs are available but only can pay peanuts slightly above the locals. There's no way Aussies can accept that ! But I m ready to pack my bags to return.

koala88

axe168

No worries bro.. This is not my 1st time dealing with the big bully ATO. If you are assertive and able to support your statements with proof and ATO guide.. There is no way they could bully their way thru.. Ombudsmen is there to help. Otherwise, settle in court with damages. I am Australian Chow Ah Beng ! Haha

Ash007

Wei where you disappear to ah? So long din see you. How is everything?

Back to topic,
The World Bank has higher figures, with almost 300,000 Singaporeans considered migrants in 2010. "The way I teach migration now has changed. I don't teach it as uprooting and settling (but) as a fluid to-ing and fro-ing," says Prof Yeoh.

It is a comforting thought that more people are not necessarily leaving for good, but what happens when the people you govern are no longer exclusively yours?

Most countries' policies, including Singapore's, have not kept up with this national fluidity. "My view is that we should give more credit to more flexible kinds of identities today. I have evidence to show people are able to cope with multiple identities," she says.

It is ironic, then, that in a time of malleable nationalities, the attitude towards foreigners has hardened.

I wonder if he is implying dual citizenship is on the way or is the solution.

No worries bro.. This is not my 1st time dealing with the big bully ATO. If you are assertive and able to support your statements with proof and ATO guide.. There is no way they could bully their way thru.. Ombudsmen is there to help. Otherwise, settle in court with damages. I am Australian Chow Ah Beng ! Haha

axe168

Wei where you disappear to ah? So long din see you. How is everything?

Back to topic,

I wonder if he is implying dual citizenship is on the way or is the solution.

Long story bro.. Trying to sell my naked chicken.. a customer molested it, tricked me into huge discount, signed contract... Then break contract during cooling period - suspected my chicken too cheap.. impossible thingy or dodgy. Knn ! I wanna run away from chicken business and invest in Middle East :-( now I have to up my price, cover chicken's nipples to avoid Tee-Koh-Peh to take advantage of the innocent chicken ;-(

Lobangs called from HK and SG.. For NS service. They pay market price about semi expat terms.. My beside itchy now. Consultant said there's little problem if I return Sg. If Blangalas can get in without big fuss, how can a professional chicken seller like me got prob? Ah Bo I can drop SG and go HK or Macau.

My ex classmates gonna laugh at me if I return with Work Permit. I'll probably laugh at them for the peanut pay :-)

Ash007

I thought chicken biz still booming ah? Can fight with sydney stilletoes or melbourne Daily planet or not ?

Long story bro.. Trying to sell my naked chicken.. a customer molested it, tricked me into huge discount, signed contract... Then break contract during cooling period - suspected my chicken too cheap.. impossible thingy or dodgy. Knn ! I wanna run away from chicken business and invest in Middle East :-( now I have to up my price, cover chicken's nipple to avoid Tee-Koh-Peh to take advantage ;-)

axe168

I thought chicken biz still booming ah? Can fight with sydney stilletoes or melbourne Daily planet or not ?

Bro, I am interested in anything as long as it makes $ense.
So what are you up to lately?

From the earlier survey, dual citizenship is quite possible within the next few months. It doesn't make $ense to bring in inferior FTs compares to its ppl who served the NS and with paper qualifications. Btw, Quitters have more options, we could either go HK, Macau, Dubai etc.. without stepping our foot in Sg. They have much to lose than gain. PAP is not stupid - brain drain is a big issue.

Ash007

Waiting for land registration loh.

Bro, I am interested in anything as long as it makes $ense.
So what are you up to lately?

From the earlier survey, dual citizenship is quite possible within the next few months. It doesn't make $ense to bring in inferior FTs compares to its ppl who served the NS and with paper qualifications. Btw, Quitters have more options, we could either go HK, Macau, Dubai etc.. without stepping our foot in Sg. They have much to lose than gain. PAP is not stupid - brain drain is a big issue.

axe168

oic, good on you ! Soon ya gonna have ya home sweet home to live in !

I am setting up my Christmas tree this weekend ! Ho Ho Ho

axe168

Is Singapore losing our locals because we are bringing in FTs?

According to recruitment (SG), he hinted that Sg govt prefers pure breed (Ang Mo or Blangalas than its ppl that served 2.5yrs of NS).
He claimed there may be restriction if a quitter returns.
Anyway, I don't have to step into Sg, if I am not welcome.. there are Macau, HK Dubai.. alternatively, Melbourne/Brisbane/Sydney/Perth etc.. plenty to choose from, if I am mobile.
If returning Sg means I have to return the CPF, I think i will show the middle finger and move on.. hehe

HotDogWater

These people know how to talk but they expect to be spoon-fed about the migration details and the living details over there.

axe168

These people know how to talk but they expect to be spoon-fed about the migration details and the living details over there.

One sad thing about the Recruitment (HK) bitching to me how inferior the locals and they often go for cheap labour... she said "WE" (meaning UK & Australia) give quality work... CCB, this pisses my off ! I was once a local. I speak with a little Aussie Accent does not mean I am one of them.. @#$%^&*..

Yanzi

Hi, what do they call Chow Ah Beng in Australia? Ha ha!

Yanzi

Is that true?? Lots of Singaporeans would love this.