• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More graduates being laid off

FangZiYuen

http://ithinkiseeiblog.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/more-graduates-being-laid-off/

More graduates being laid off
posted on 15 Dec 09

Though the recession is over and the economy appears to be picking up, Singapore university graduates still find themselves at the losing end in an employer’s job market flooded with cheap and readily available foreigners.

According to revised figures from the Manpower Ministry, more of them are without jobs and taking longer to land a job. The number of unemployed graduates increase from 1,600 to 4700. Of those who are employed, a significant portion are on contract jobs.

Graduates also form more than one third of workers who are either retrenched or unemployed. The re-empolyment rates for graduates remains the lowest at 44.4 per cent.

PAP MP Josephine Teo seemed to attribute the blame to graduates during an interview with the state media when she said that “part of the reason is that they often tend to seek jobs that pay close to what they used to earn.”

The same report revealed that more residents are taking more six months to get a job. Known technically as the long-term unemployed, their numbers have ballooned from 9,600 last year to 18,400 this year.

For some strange reasons, MOM prefers to lump citizens and PRs together in the same category as “residents”. The exact figures for the unemployment rates among Singapore citizens remain a mystery.

The starting pay for graduates has remained more or less the same for the last few years while cost of living has increased, especially that of public housing.

Burdened with a hefty study loan, graduates are encountering difficulties supporting themselves and families with their meager salaries let alone start a family of their own which may account for the declining birth rates among locals.

Instead of doing more to help them, the ruling party chose to open the flood gates to allow the influx of mid-level and semi-skilled professionals into Singapore to compete with local graduates directly for jobs.

There are no independent trade unions in Singapore to represent the interests of Singapore workers. The largest trade union is NTUC, a quasi-government organization which is headed by a PAP minister.

Neither is there a free media for workers to air their grievance. The Singapore media is tightly controlled by the ruling party via the Singapore Press Holdings, headed by a former PAP minister.

Singaporeans paid 100s of thousands to MOE to study and earned a degree and only to be told, after graduations, that we need to be realistic and try to apply with e21 to learn some cooking or caterer skills in order to stay on the jobs and work faster, cheaper and good. Foreign pumpkin who earned their degree or diploma in their country can easily secured jobs in Singapore. The best part is, they don't need to serve NS and can come and leave Singapore freely. The whole PAP system is a crap!

why paid so much for sinkies graduates, when employer can hire some ulu indian and chinese graduates for peanuts.

Watchman

Study for a greener Punggol
Consumers remain prudent
No World Cup for S'pore?
Cap for contract length
4 BTO projects launched
MediaCorp ends TVMobile
Jail, rotan for assault
N level results on Dec 18
Paragon launches iPhone app
Private home sales slow
Retail sales improve
Woman jailed for cheating
Dog attack: Owner fined
$50m green chip lab at NTU
Killer litter: Woman charged
Raid alert!
Sistic probed for abuse
Jobless rate to stay up
Childaid raises record $1m
Q3 job vacancies up 46%
Job market recovering
Cremation not possible
4th best place for posting
Spot the mistakes
Killer litter injures guest

Two contradicting report .

cooleo

>>There are no independent trade unions in Singapore to represent the interests of Singapore workers. The largest trade union is NTUC, a quasi-government organization which is headed by a PAP minister.<<

Joke of the world. Trade union headed by Gahmen!

Your govt is telling the graduates to be an employer rather than employee. Get it?

Robert Half

>>There are no independent trade unions in Singapore to represent the interests of Singapore workers. The largest trade union is NTUC, a quasi-government organization which is headed by a PAP minister.<<

Joke of the world. Trade union headed by Gahmen!

Then the more we should vote in more opposition members......

Hope WP or SPP win a GRC in next coming election for balance & check, alternate voices, people voices and
pressure the ruling party to work on the working class people's interest :p

ahleebabasingaporethief

Then the more we should vote in more opposition members......

Hope WP or SPP win a GRC in next coming election for balance & check, alternate voices, people voices and
pressure the ruling party to work on the working class people's interest :p

You guys are all IDIOTS.
What can 1 GRC do?
The whole of Singapore must be contested by the opposition.
If not, please do not waste time fielding candidates for Erections
I rather stay home and masterbate cum erection Day if the whole of S'pore is not contested.

besotted

so sad, after studying so hard they find they are not wanted by employers

hopefully they won't lose heart and things will get better in the long run for them

cooleo

>>For some strange reasons, MOM prefers to lump citizens and PRs together in the same category as “residents”. The exact figures for the unemployment rates among Singapore citizens remain a mystery.<<

To quote a movie....

YOU CAN'T HANDLE THE TRUTH!​

Robert Half

You guys are all IDIOTS.
What can 1 GRC do?
The whole of Singapore must be contested by the opposition.
If not, please do not waste time fielding candidates for Erections
I rather stay home and masterbate cum erection Day if the whole of S'pore is not contested.

As I mentioned before .. I also wanted 84 seats are contested but then ..

you think many Singaporeans like to join opposition parties :confused:

They would rather join the PAP :biggrin:

To win one single seat (apart from PP & HG) is so difficult liao let alone a GRC :rolleyes:

Whoever team can win a GRC is a big acheivement in our political history :biggrin:

ahleebabasingaporethief

As I mentioned before .. I also wanted 84 seats are contested but then ..

you think many Singaporeans like to join opposition parties :confused:

They would rather join the PAP :biggrin:

To win one single seat (apart from PP & HG) is so difficult liao let alone a GRC :rolleyes:

Whoever team can win a GRC is a big acheivement in our political history :biggrin:

Fuck lah, you guys better grow up.
With this kind of 'minute' thinking, where is the motivation for the opposition to field FULL CANDIDATURE for next erections?