• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee says immigration is more viable, long-term solution

ahbengsong

lky can say what he wants ... it is no secret selective immigration can boost a country economy but the way it is done by his despotic regime and in a 3rd world way ... it is only disaster for singapore ...

lky is destroying singapore ... he is old and senile and arrogant and ignorant ... a perfect storm for an economic disaster ...

kingrant

At the bottom of it all, he wants to keep Singapore the way it has been for him as his monument even after he dies. Least he wants to see is the country overrun with brown skins that multiply like rabbits. To him, the average IQ will go down. He thinks this place must be populated by force of immigration by the yellow skins and the black skins. If poss, he cld have practised eugenics.

It is about time he produces some evidence to substantiate his beliefs that immigration results in economic growth.

Intuitively, it may sound logical but intuitions are intuitions, and we should ask for convincing stats to show his policy worked.

With the foreign worker/talent policy, the money is being taken away from the Singaporean worker to be put into the pockets of the FW. The FW sends the money back to India/Bangladesh/China by Western Union instead of spending it here. The employers in the domestic economy use the savings to hire more FWs. Those employers in the export-oriented sectors set up factories in China,India, and Vietnam, so do not hire locals anyway and so render the double whammy to the Singaporean workers.

It is about time economic growth is tuned to benefit our citizens,instead of making citizens into economic digits to fuel economic growth to fulfil his vainglories and leave his footprint in history by building edifices based on economic numbers, without the soul.

This entire problem is caused by Lee Con You. For decades, he enforced a stop at 2 childbirth policy, and encouraged abortions, and other methods of birth control because he thought that S'pore would be overpopulated. Now, this fucker is saying the opposite and that we need to import people because our populations is not growing fast enough. Who's fault is it? there are many easy ways to encourage population growth, but they would take years for that to come to fruition. The PAP failed to recognize this and now has to take drastic actions like allowing mass immigration into S'pore. All the govt. has to do is to pass legislature to A) guarantee all mothers that their jobs will be there after they come back from maternity leave at the same position and pay scale. B) Guarantee a 1 year maternity leave with govt. subsidies C) guarantee free childcare for their kids for X number of years. The PAP will not do these things because they cost money. But the cost of letting in all these immigrants is much more in the long run.

cowbehcowbu

I agree in principal with MM..but on two conditions

1] the no must be controlled ,,not a huge influx over a short period..we had 1.2M of foreign workers..1 in 4 ,,very high propotiuion..also also close to 250,000 new PRs and Citizen..over last few years ,,too many too fast..integration will need a long time
just look at the serious degradation of social behaviou,,road manners..and the many sex spots in singapore...

2] only foreigners with enough monies and adequate education to be let in.........stop all those penniless beidomama, students who came in to start working as gigalos..pros..etc ..SINGAPORE DONT NEEDS THESE ..they will erodes our social quality very badly...
hope MM CAN PERSONALLY LOOK INTPO THESE ISSUES.......

angie II

yeah, he die die don't wanna step down. but sporeans also play a part in it! SINGAPOREANS DON'T MIND LEE KUAN YEW IS A TRAITOR!!! DO U KNOW THE IMPLICATION?? WE ARE BLUR FUCK TO THIS EXTEND WE LET A TRAITOR TO RUN THIS COUNTRY! FUCKING IDIOTIC THIS COUNTRY!

IF WE DON'T MIND A TRAITOR TO RUN A COUNTRY, WHY DO WE CARE ABOUT MORALITY AT ALL?? WHY DO WE BOTHER TO TEACH OUR KIDS TO BE GOOD AT ALL, SINCE WE ALL CONDONE LEE KUAN YEW'S PAST? NO SENSE OF RIGHT OR WRONG, WHERE THE FUCK DOES THIS COUNTRY STAND??

LOL..

66% : We got slave mentality leh... so used to kena assed by PAPee liao.

hiddentalent

This entire problem is caused by Lee Con You. For decades, he enforced a stop at 2 childbirth policy, and encouraged abortions, and other methods of birth control because he thought that S'pore would be overpopulated. Now, this fucker is saying the opposite and that we need to import people because our populations is not growing fast enough. Who's fault is it? there are many easy ways to encourage population growth, but they would take years for that to come to fruition. The PAP failed to recognize this and now has to take drastic actions like allowing mass immigration into S'pore. All the govt. has to do is to pass legislature to A) guarantee all mothers that their jobs will be there after they come back from maternity leave at the same position and pay scale. B) Guarantee a 1 year maternity leave with govt. subsidies C) guarantee free childcare for their kids for X number of years. The PAP will not do these things because they cost money. But the cost of letting in all these immigrants is much more in the long run.

Actually, by letting in so many foreigners in singapore and competing with us has actually made the birth rate fall even further! Whose great idea was it anyway?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_and_territories_by_fertility_rate

We are dead last on the list at 1.08 children per woman! If we don't reverse the situation soon, singaporeans will become extinct! Whatever way you look at it, this is genocide!

We have got to get the people to vote PAP out to get a clean start.

Eurekas

Actually, by letting in so many foreigners in singapore and competing with us has actually made the birth rate fall even further! Whose great idea was it anyway?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_and_territories_by_fertility_rate

We are dead last on the list at 1.08 children per woman! If we don't reverse the situation soon, singaporeans will become extinct! Whatever way you look at it, this is genocide!

We have got to get the people to vote PAP out to get a clean start.

Hong Kong is dead last in birth rate lol haha. Hong Kong is small and overcrowded island, the houses down there is more expensive than ours. Many parents will not want to squeeze 3 or 4 children in their tiny house lol. If there is a feeling of plenty of space around and low property prices, the birth rate will go up. Time for PAP to crush their brains. Buy some land in Indonesia to build houses for Singaporeans.