• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MBT Admits Tampines Is Very Dirty

lockeliberal

Dear GMS

I believe you know me well enough to understand that I owe no particular allegiance to cause, party personality or policy, my interest remains primarily in making things work. You know as well the extent of my disagreements with my current party but to the extent that I disagree I also acknowledge the good they do and what they have proven capable of. Your ambitions are for the national stage or to grow your party into a force on the national stage, in so much as Chiam or LTK have proven effective managers of a town council and ineffective in growing the party on a national stage, in so much as I agree your analysis might have some validity I would like to remind you of the following salient points.

1. All politics is local, the same holds true in the US as it is in the UK. Senators in the US take care of their local constituents first before debating national issues, Westminster MPs will lobby for hospitals and or universities in their counties when national policies affect their interests. Similarly they work together with local councillors on local issues.

2. Captian GMS, how much moral authority can you claim to have to criticize MBT for not taking care of his estates when you personally claim that your job role does not include that scope ? At least MBT accepts some degree of responsibility by accepting that the estate is dirty and that there are problems. You seem perfectly happy to blame everyone and everything accept to realize that the "buck" stops with you.

3. Lets not conflate the issues of upgrading and day to day running and taking care of the estate. PAP mp's claim that they are taking care of the estate by "upgrading". That however is a far cry from :LKY's claim when the town council act came into being that the rubbish would not be collected, the estate would fall into repair etc etc. The fact that their position has shifted is due in large part to LTK and CST whose legacy you seem willing to ditch.

4. How abt MPS. Letter writing, is that a priority for you as an MP, Grassroots or is all of these to unimportant to the role of legislation ? Would you outsource these to your town councillors to like your PAP mps ?

5. The BUCK stops with you because with the local council act, you are in charge of real funds. If your constituents ask " why is there this %^&***( problem " are you going to say my town councillor estate manager etc will look into it or are you going to say I am going personally to look into it ?

6. Politics is about the perception of reality as it is reality, You may be technically correct that a large part of the job is done by councillors and estate managers. but because you head the organization and are in charge of the budget the buck at the end of the day ends with you. So in reality you are responsible for everything and you can only push responsibility that much before you end up damaging your political capital.

7. As the leader of a team of councillors and estate managers you are responsible for their plans and execution whether good or bad. What sort of MP are you if you keep on firing estate manager and claim that its their fault and not yours ? The buck ends with you and you alone

Locke

Dear GMS

I believe you know me well enough to understand that I owe no particular allegiance to cause, party personality or policy, my interest remains primarily in making things work. The buck ends with you and you alone

Locke

Locke, is there an echo? I hear u repeating all my points:biggrin:

Perspective

I believe there is no local councillor or local assembly to run any fief in Singapore, which was scrapped with the City Council. The roles were supposed to have gone into the role of the MP (after having gone to HDB and PUB helpdesk) which explains why the MP's pay in Singapore is higher than those of other countries. Therefore, the MP's role in Singapore is a combination of two, and those who think you only do one is playing half the role.

However, I am surprised people threatened to vote against GMS or spoil their vote for his remarks. I don't think people realise that when you vote, the outcome has to be balanced. A "quality" Parliament made up of people from one party is a freak Parliament, no matter how you argue against it. That's because no Parliament is like that. Citizens there know many choices would be meaningless with only one outcome.

Thick Face Black Heart

I will definite vote for GMS, or anyone from NSP if they came to my ward.

Its just that I lost sleep last night laughing from this thread, and I feel I should at least write a half-baked play/drama as "payback". :eek::eek::eek:

:smile::smile::smile::smile::smile::smile::smile:

I believe there is no local councillor or local assembly to run any fief in Singapore, which was scrapped with the City Council. The roles were supposed to have gone into the role of the MP (after having gone to HDB and PUB helpdesk) which explains why the MP's pay in Singapore is higher than those of other countries. Therefore, the MP's role in Singapore is a combination of two, and those who think you only do one is playing half the role.

However, I am surprised people threatened to vote against GMS or spoil their vote for his remarks. I don't think people realise that when you vote, the outcome has to be balanced. A "quality" Parliament made up of people from one party is a freak Parliament, no matter how you argue against it. That's because no Parliament is like that. Citizens there know many choices would be meaningless with only one outcome.

We spent the longest amount of time together in the football thread in WC2010. In all the time you have been on SBF, have you ever known Goh Meng Seng to talk about football, bookies, card counting and casino gambling?
Yes of cox i remember, but the way you defend him is atrocious man, and who say politicians cannot talk about soccer and gambling? heck, even GMS is a member in sggirls.com, i dun even have leh, so what kind of person he is, who knows? :p:p

aurvandil

Yes of cox i remember, but the way you defend him is atrocious man, and who say politicians cannot talk about soccer and gambling? heck, even GMS is a member in sggirls.com, i dun even have leh, so what kind of person he is, who knows? :p:p

Go check with your buddy Ramseth. He knows nuts about soccer and gambling.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Alamek! I thought I have explained in the old SBF about this thing! I am a member of SGForums and was participating actively in its Speakers Corner forum. SGForums include a lot of other forums as well, including Sggirls Forum. As long as you are log on to any forums in SGForums or Speakers Corner, your name/nick will be shown throughout all the other forums, including SGGirls. That is how that page comes about.

Goh Meng Seng

Thick Face Black Heart

Alamek! I thought I have explained in the old SBF about this thing! I am a member of SGForums and was participating actively in its Speakers Corner forum. SGForums include a lot of other forums as well, including Sggirls Forum. As long as you are log on to any forums in SGForums or Speakers Corner, your name/nick will be shown throughout all the other forums, including SGGirls. That is how that page comes about.

Goh Meng Seng

Give me back my 2 hrs sleep. :p

silverfox@

From your perspective, you are not wrong to think this way. But there will be people who check the candidates. Lousy vs Jialat. Pick who is also a sin and voting is compulsory. Draw tortoise on vote later kenna marked. Just x the vote.

It's not like eating. Chicken Rice or Wantan Mee. Both equally lousy cooking. Have to choose 1. Some chinchai choose 1. Some will just don't eat.

Z

Zombie

Chicken Rice or Wantan Mee. Both equally lousy cooking.

If someone take care of your food, it could just taste lousy but you are still getting clean food.

If someone don't take care of your food, you might be eating some shit in your food and it still tastes lousy.

longbow

Aiyoh, town council should:

1) set criteria for what is clean.
2) do weekly checks and vet complaints. If keep getting complaints from same block or same area go see what is happening
3) hire an independent 3rd party to check on the cleanliness every 3 months. Gives a futher level of idependence just in case TC and contractor become too friendly with each other.
4) If fail the tests, fire contractor. Once fired, contractor (both registered company as well as directors) cannot bid for cleaning contract for 1 year.

Contractors are businesses so kena fired makes a difference.

So purpose of TC is to check on their vendors and contractors. Ultimately, if vendors keep cocking up then replace TC mgmt.

The number 1 reason of TC is to maintain cleanliness. The rest of it is fluff. If it fails to keep the area clean then it has failed.

If someone take care of your food, it could just taste lousy but you are still getting clean food.

If someone don't take care of your food, you might be eating some shit in your food and it still tastes lousy.

WTF u talking about?

Aiyoh, town council should:

1) set criteria for what is clean.
2) do weekly checks and vet complaints. If keep getting complaints from same block or same area go see what is happening
3) hire an independent 3rd party to check on the cleanliness every 3 months. Gives a futher level of idependence just in case TC and contractor become too friendly with each other.
4) If fail the tests, fire contractor. Once fired, contractor (both registered company as well as directors) cannot bid for cleaning contract for 1 year.

Contractors are businesses so kena fired makes a difference.

So purpose of TC is to check on their vendors and contractors. Ultimately, if vendors keep cocking up then replace TC mgmt.

The number 1 reason of TC is to maintain cleanliness. The rest of it is fluff. If it fails to keep the area clean then it has failed.

Yes, these are good points, I think most TCs are too close with the contractors. U will see that all the TCs only use 2 or 3 contractors. Its like all the TCs get together and decide these are the contracts. WHo arethese companies? Who owns them? How come after so many complains about their quality fo work, the TCs still do not do anything? I would not be surprised if some TC councillors are also shareholders in these companies.

Z

Zombie

basically the same f u were talking :biggrin:

the voters' mentality - even if voters think that both candidates are equally lousy (or equally good), voters will still prefer one who promised them that their homes would be personally taken care of, than the one who says that it is not his job... because most voters would not like to take chances (of getting shit) with their homes

no matter how much or how well you plan to implement the system of controls to ensure proper maintenance, it is usually just a "black box" to most voters and they won't bother to look into details.... they rely on the candidates' promise

RK85

Mr GMS,

Basing on your politically correct but ridiculous argument about MP's job not really taking care of the ward,
I think no need for u to contest the next election, u have already lost. Dun waste time & money.

NSP Goh Meng Seng:"The MP's job is not really about taking care of the ward"

Thick Face Black Heart

Mr GMS,

Basing on your politically correct but ridiculous argument about MP's job not really taking care of the ward,
I think no need for u to contest the next election, u have already lost. Dun waste time & money.

NSP Goh Meng Seng:"The MP's job is not really about taking care of the ward"

Actually, GMS's statement is politically ridiculous.

The MP is the overall in charge, and as such, although he can delegate authority, he is ultimately responsible for what happens in his ward.

For GMS to say MP does not take care of the ward, is politically incorrect as it can be interpreted as a shirking of responsibility.

wizard

MBT meant Tampines is dirty because the way they use GRC to prevent smaller opposition party to contest is dirty.. ??

Hougang and PP also quite dirty.. need SM to go and walk around with carrot..

Luckily the people of HG and PP are sensible human being and not donkeys..

BTW.. delay in upgrading ....it is a stick..?