• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysian bus crash kills 28, mostly Thais

Rakyat

KUALA LUMPUR: Twenty-eight people, mostly Thai tourists, were killed on Monday when their double-decker bus crashed along a highway after a trip to the Cameron Highlands, in Malaysia's worst-ever coach accident.

Police said the Thai holidaymakers were travelling along a winding road to the capital Kuala Lumpur for a flight home when their driver lost control of the vehicle, which crashed into a road divider and overturned into a ditch.

"The latest we have is that 28 people have now died in the accident, with three of them Malaysians, namely the driver, co-driver and tour guide and the rest being Thai tourists," said Zakaria Yusof, acting state police chief.

"Nine other people, all Thai tourists, were wounded in the accident and are now being treated in nearby hospitals. There were 37 people on board the bus," the Perak state police official told AFP.

Images of the accident showed the bus lying crumpled and on its roof, at the bottom of a rocky slope. Nearby the rows of victims' bodies were covered with black plastic sheeting.

The injured were evacuated from the scene on stretchers by emergency workers dressed in fatigues.

"Our initial findings show that the bus driver lost control of the double-decker vehicle and crashed into the road divider before toppling over and falling into the drain," Zakaria said.

The group had been on a package tour that included a journey to the Cameron Highlands, one of Malaysia's top tourist destinations, which features tea estates and strawberry plantations.

Some of the approaches to the highlands are narrow, windy and treacherous, but Monday's accident occurred when the bus had reached the highway.

Coach crashes are relatively common in Malaysia, often involving interstate buses, and accompanied by revelations that drivers were unlicensed, speeding or under the influence of drugs to keep themselves awake.

Last week, four prison officers were killed when a bus lost control and plunged into a ravine after travelling from a sports tournament.

In October, a collision involving two buses, a van and three cars claimed 13 lives on the nation's main North-South highway. Later that month another seven people were killed when their bus overturned en route to Kuala Lumpur.

A year ago, 10 people were killed when a double-decker bus struck a road divider in northern Ipoh state.

In 2007, a bus crash claimed 22 lives in what the transport minister said at the time was the worst accident of its kind in Malaysia's history.

- AFP/ac/al

THE_CHANSTER

Assuming this accident was not due to mechanical failure, what is it with Malaysian Coach drivers? Why is their standard of driving so poor?

kensington

20101220iptc02.jpg

Worst bus accident in Malaysia's history

KUALA LUMPUR (Dec 20, 2010): The bus accident, which occurred at 11.40am at Jalan Cameron Highlands-Simpang Pulai and claimed 27 lives today, is the most horrific bus accident in Malaysian history.

Prior to this, the worst bus accident was reported to have occurred on Aug 13, 2007, at Km229 of the North-South Expressway in Bukit Gantang, where 20 people died and nine others sustained injuries.

Here is a list of the major bus accidents this year, excluding the one that occurred this morning.

Dec 16 – Four Tawau Prison Department staff were killed when the department's bus plunged into a ravine in Kampung Moyog, 35km from Penampang, near Kota Kinabalu.

Dec 14 – Fourteen factory workers were injured when the bus they were travelling in skidded and overturned at Km156.2 of the North-South Expressway near Nibong Tebal, Penang after hitting a trailer lorry which also plunged into a ditch.

Dec 11 – Three students from Mara Skills Institute in Jasin, Malacca, sustained severe injuries when the bus they were travelling in skidded and overturned at Km304.5 of the North-South Expressway near Gopeng, Perak.

Nov 4 – One person was killed, while two others were seriously injured after an express bus skidded and overturned into an irrigation canal at Kampung Sungai Miang, at Km20 Jalan Pekan-Nenasi, Pahang.

Oct 29 – Seven passengers were killed, while 39 others were injured in a bus accident at Km36 of Karak Expressway heading to Kuala Lumpur.

Oct 10 – Thirteen passengers were killed, while 40 others were injured in a bus accident at Km223 of the North-South Expressway near Simpang Ampat-Rembau toll plaza.

Sept 2 – Eighteen people were injured when a tour bus skidded and overturned at Km35.1 of the Kuala Lumpur-Karak Expressway.

Aug 27 – An express bus driver was killed, three passengers seriously injured, while six others escaped with minor injuries when the bus they were travelling in met with an accident at Km306.2 of the North-South Expressway.

April 17 – A passenger suffered a broken rib, while six others sustained minor injuries when an express bus heading to Kuala Lumpur from Johor Baru skidded at Km32 North-South Expressway, near Kulai Jaya.

March 20 – Forty passengers of an express bus cheated death when the bus skidded and plunged into an irrigation canal at Km42 Jalan Kuantan-Kemaman.

Feb 4 – Fifteen express bus passengers heading to Kuala Lumpur cheated death when the bus crashed into two other vehicles at Sungai Dua toll plaza, Penang.

=======================

Big possibility of drivers on drugs, chasing schedules and poor designs of road due to corruptions during construction.

kensington

The following is a complete list of the victims, as provided by the police. Victims are Thai except where noted otherwise.

1. Omar Shahidan, 48, (bus driver, male, Malaysian)

2. Soontorn a/l Kian, 38, (tour group’s driver, male, Malaysian)

3. Charcart Knagsuwan, 48, (male)

4. Thanvaraj Poolsang, 36, (female)

5. Nutthiya Inyyim, 50, (female)

6. Poonporn poolsaene, 41, (male)

7. Sumruay Swatphet, 48, (male)

8. Putharee Akkrarachaw Wanont, 42, (female)

9. Ponethanest Akkrarachaw Wanont, 45, (male)

10. Suchanchida Chaiaueai, 40, (female)

11. Sriwai Swatphet, 42, (female)

12. Prinya Prassakulchai, 48, (female)

13. Chutima Throukool, 25, (female)

14. Thitisak Pongtanarat, 51, (male)

15. Junpen Pongtanarat, 50, (female)

16. Phayong Kruanjinli, 59, (male)

17. Ekachai Na Bangxang, 64, (female)

18. Mantana Phromduag, 51, (female)

19. Rung Da (age not given, female)

20. Darunee Songserm (age not given, female)

21. Isariya Thiangtham, 25, (female)

22. Ampaiwan Thiangtham, 50 (female)

23. Malinan Mekmahaprom, 53, (female)

24. Achara Wiwat, 36, (female)

25. Natkritta Poolsaeng, six, (female)

26. Weera Chuntanagon (age not given, male)

27. Areena Songserm (age not given, female)

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
how many times must say?
never chiong that NS-highway coz u never what is in front.
suddenly got 1 old cow lying halfway there u gonna have beef-stew bath?

postnew

860x.jpg

The wreckage of a tour bus sits on a highway in Pos Slim, in Malaysia's northern state of Perak December 20, 2010.​

myo539

Thats true. I try to keep to speed limit of 110km/hour even when the traffic is clear in front for 1 or 2km. NS highway looks very safe but its still a highway where speed kills! I have seen so many young kids with probation plates and small cars like Honda Jazzz who think they are Honda Jet and literally flies past me at 150km/hour and above. One strong gust of wind and u say byebye to this world.

So sad. That's why I always think we must show our appreciation to the drivers. Each time they deliver me home safely, I tip the driver and co-driver at least $10 each.

It can mean that the chaps have greater motivation to stay alert and drive more safely for the next trip back.

By the way, I saw 600cc kancils flying past me on the outer lane. Amazing!

zuoom

that's the newer route to Cameron highland.
road is relatively new, lanes are wider.

we took this one because the older single lane up/down was deemed too dangerous.

and this happened?

how fast was this bus going prior to the crash?

KNNBCCB

People just want a comfort coach especially sinkies , always looking for the best coach like Super VVIP with massage chair.

Do you guys notice that most of the accidents happened mostly to DOUBLE DECK bus ?

I always see this kind of double deck coach not stable when running on Msia highway. Probably due to their COG is too high.

There is one double deck bus accident happened 2 years ago at Northern Msia. The bus used to be a single deck bus. But that CCB company welded the other remaining half and become double deck. Many kena killed in the accident. One of my relative's fren, died, face also gone. Cannot recognize the feature. sad... :(

so, don't complain when you guys get a normal bus like bus persiaran (mostly 40 seated, single deck ) when you reach somewhere in KL your backbone can be exhausted and tire :biggrin: .. But hey.. at least you are safe on arrival... :smile:

Faidenk

A problem with these long haul drivers is they 'speed' so they won't feel sleepy. A side effect is it gives them a false sense of bravado, much like alcohol but 20 times worse.

postnew

850x.jpg

Hospital staff check the victim list of a bus crash outside a mortuary in Ipoh, in Malaysia's northern state of Perak December 21, 2010.​