• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Local football players ask why fas is hiring a foreigner for technical director again

[h=1]LOCAL FOOTBALL PLAYERS ASK WHY FAS IS HIRING A FOREIGNER FOR TECHNICAL DIRECTOR AGAIN[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
31 Dec 2014 - 12:01pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

[photo credit: The Straits Times]
Why is the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) getting a foreigner to become the new technical director again?

This is the question that is being asked within the local football arena.

FAS is looking for a new technical director after Serb Slobodan Pavkovic resigned in September after a six-year tenure. The new technical director will be announced in March next year.

FAS said on Monday that it has identified five potential candidates, out of 60 applicants. Former England Under-20 coach Brian Eastick seems to be the favourite, with four others coming from Germany, France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

But even Marko Kraljevic, coach of S-League side Balestier Khalsa, is asking if a foreigner is best suited. Kraljevic is from Germany and played in the S-League from 1995 to 2001. He is now a Singapore permanent resident.

“Forget a foreigner, get a local technical director. If Singapore is in Europe, then someone who has experience in European football is ideal," he told Today.

FAS had said that it wanted someone with international experience and who has led a team at FIFA or UEFA age-group competitions, or has a good track record as technical director of a top team in Europe.

“You bring in a foreigner and he will have to start from scratch. He can have the best-laid plans, but can those plans work under the local conditions and the environment the new man will have to work under?” he asked.
Former Singapore international R Sasikumar also did not think that the role of technical director should go to a foreigner.

“What purpose will it serve hiring a big name from Europe?” he asked.

=> The FAP Traitors will feel sibeh proud being able to throw SGs' money at foreigners!

“The FAS needs a technical director who has an intimate knowledge of local football. Not someone who comes from Europe or a top footballing European country where the facilities and the culture are so conducive for producing talent.

“We don’t need someone to tell us that Singapore lacks the facilities; Singapore does not have the football culture and the National Service commitment is hampering the development of young talent here.

“What we need is someone who is familiar with the conditions and the shortcomings of Singapore football, and can work his way around it. Or at least someone who has worked under similar conditions elsewhere and has produced the results.”

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Sasikumar also thinks the role of a technical director has not been clearly defined.

“He must have the full authority to draw up his coaching and development system. He must decide on the system of play for all age-group national teams. And the FAS must decide if teams will also come under him,” Sasikumar said.

“I notice that the previous technical director not only oversaw the development of Singapore football, but also coached the Singapore U-23 side, which shouldn’t be the case.”
This was a similar point to what Kraljevic said.

He felt that football development in Singapore is being hampered not because the young are not playing enough to improve on their skills and talents

“You have 100-odd artificial pitches all over Singapore. Surely, they are enough to accommodate them, but the trouble is that (children) are not spending enough time on a football pitch,” he said.

“I don’t know why. Is it due to the lack of time or money to rent the pitches for the (children) to play? And there are so many football academies spread all over Singapore. Maybe the FAS should join hands with the academies and have a league competition among them. It will surely help with the development of young talent in Singapore.”

Re: Local football players ask why fas is hiring a foreigner for technical director a

Because sinkies have no idea how to make the S-League become anything close to the English Premier League. Most footballers in the S-Leagues are also paid peanuts because they play football like monkeys.

congo9

Re: Local football players ask why fas is hiring a foreigner for technical director a

Because sinkies have no idea how to make the S-League become anything close to the English Premier League. Most footballers in the S-Leagues are also paid peanuts because they play football like monkeys.

For an average player, you need to be paid 20k to 30k per month. You ask those Korea n Japan players plying their trade in their various league. We have football club paying players only 11 month of their salary and they are only paid a few K per month. Who on earth wants to be a soccer player ?

A fresh CEO parachuted from SAF also suggest that club can only sign limited numbers of players who are 30 and above. Who will want to be a soccer players professional ?

Sideswipe

let's face it. our football players simply cannot make it. even if we get Wenger as technical director and Mourinho as coach, it will also be futile in the end.

The FTs they hire also the cheapo 3rd rate type.
Get the real deal i got nothing to say

zeebjii

The FTs they hire also the cheapo 3rd rate type.
Get the real deal i got nothing to say

3rd rate still better than pile of sinkie shit like PN Sivaji, who was the technical director before they angmo came in.

S'pore soccer no hope. We are a small country. To make matters worse, we depend on a minority race. We can have the world's best assembled here to guide local soccer and it will be same same. FAS believes in ang mos.

PAP govt (and its public institutions) is suffering from a peculiar form of Pinkerton Syndrome.

let's face it. our football players simply cannot make it. even if we get Wenger as technical director and Mourinho as coach, it will also be futile in the end.

It will be futile because they hate each other. :biggrin:

FAS wants to hire a foreigners because Ang Mohs are the best.

kezgtree

...I thought slovenia and slovakia was small country too...but they are good, so to say its not about population..I believe if we do
have those football academy for the young ones, like those of UK or Spain ...we will definitely be better..but that will cost gahman alot $$..
..so to say again, why would pappy want to throw out such $$ ..when the return.... fame...will be very very long time...SIGH

ThosayMaureenNeo

Even if Wenger, Pardew and a few of the other coaches and managers including myself form a team and do not train , we can still close our eyes and beat any Sinkie team.

Like Mourinho and Wenger, Pardew and Wenger also hate each other. :biggrin:

Even if Wenger, Pardew and a few of the other coaches and managers including myself form a team and do not train , we can still close our eyes and beat any Sinkie team.

ThosayMaureenNeo

Its mainly because Wenger is a really sore loser.....but the others are no angels too.

Like Mourinho and Wenger, Pardew and Wenger also hate each other. :biggrin:

IMHO, Wenger is the nicest guy among the 3, but that's not saying a lot. :biggrin:

Its mainly because Wenger is a really sore loser.....but the others are no angels too.

ThosayMaureenNeo

Martin Jol also had a few heated moments with Wenger when he was at Spurs but it was derby excitement extended from the pitch to the sidelines I guess.

IMHO, Wenger is the nicest guy among the 3, but that's not saying a lot. :biggrin:

Pellegrini

Martin Jol also had a few heated moments with Wenger when he was at Spurs but it was derby excitement extended from the pitch to the sidelines I guess.

What happened? Stepped on banana skin? :rolleyes::biggrin:

Then do something to throw out the management lah.. Talk only..

Pellegrini

Worse than that....they wanted to bite each other's banana skin.

Obviously the Christmas and New Year holidays has done u in or not enough break for u. I suggest u take a banana boat to Timbuktu. :biggrin: