• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Li Wei Jun unhappy SIA pay bonus to staff

meaninglesslife

Stupidman
www.straitstimes.com

Companies that received aid during pandemic could help rebuild reserves​

I would like to congratulate Singapore Airlines for its record-breaking profits in the past year. It is a testament to its pursuit of excellence in service quality that makes Singaporeans like me proud when we fly with SIA.
Accordingly, SIA has rewarded staff with huge bonuses during the past two years (SIA posts record net profit for FY2024; staff to get 8 months’ bonus, May 15).
However, one wonders if part of these bonuses should go back into rebuilding the national reserves.
During the Covid-19 pandemic, Singapore drew down around $40 billion of its reserves to fund various support schemes.
SIA, among others, benefited greatly from these. Most would agree that it is essential to use public monies to retain the national carrier, considering its strategic importance and the priority to save lives and livelihoods at that time.
Now that it is making record profits, should it return some of these to the reserves?
A suggestion would be to benchmark bonuses to the civil service, add a premium for the staff’s hard work, and return the rest to the nation’s coffers.
The Government has previously committed to rebuilding the reserves that were drawn down during the pandemic. Perhaps getting companies which are doing well now to return taxpayers’ monies they received during the pandemic is one way.

Li Wei Jun

millim6868

Actually the writer is correct,it must be top mgt cb want money,money should return to government,cos during no flight many still get paid for their salary

KingFook Sr

Money from Temasek was in exchange for SIA shares.
The capital gain from those shares are now making $$$$
Dun KPKB lah.
No knowledge.