• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

lau goh contradicts on SPEAK MANDARIN

so funny! why he now goes all the way to FUCHOU to look for his ancestral graves and claims that "this is a humbling trip"?

why then over here in sgp, we are discouraged from speaking hokkien, canto, teochew and etc dialects?

he stressed that "we must know our roots and origins..." but then again in sgp, everyone are advised to refrain fr speaking our ORIGINAL dialects but speak MANDARIN only.

one of our roots and origins is also our dialect. why is lau goh contradicting the SPEAK MANDARIN campaign?

:confused::confused::confused:

excerpt from http://www.zaobao.com/xhd/pages/xhd091029.shtml

吴资政表示,新加坡要建立的是一个含有原属国家成分的独有新加坡文化。他举例说,跟其他新加坡人讲福建话时,他会说“我要吃roti(面包)”、“我去巴刹”、“你讲simi(什么)”,这些新加坡式的福建话只有新加坡人听得懂,不过,无论如何,中国的福建人还是能了解一二,毕竟里头的词汇仍有很多是相同的。

吴资政昨天是第一次回到吴岭村的祖乡,他告诉记者,回祖乡探访参观的原因之一,是因为新加坡近日掀起了一股针对新移民的热烈讨论,他觉得此行有助于把这个课题概念化。“当然,这也因为我的祖乡刚好是在前往泉州的路上。”

吴资政的父亲8岁时随父前来新加坡,因此吴资政在新加坡属于第二代。

在新移民课题的炽热讨论中,吴资政认为,新加坡人必须意识到三点:第一,新加坡人其实都是移民,无论是自己或先辈,都来自印度、马来西亚、印尼、中国等国;第二,我国需要另一波的新移民,因为我国的生育率偏低,单靠新加坡人本身,今后的人口不会增长,而新加坡经济今后若要取得至少4至5%的增长,需要更多的人力资源和劳动力;第三,除了欢迎新移民外,也必须帮助他们更好地融入新加坡社会,减少他们与新加坡人的磨擦。

他说:“我们必须意识到这三点,否则继续热议,只会更加情绪化。”

吴资政回乡:有如代祖母回家探亲

“我所知道的吴岭村的情况,是从祖母口中听到的,她很怀念吴岭村,所以常提起吴岭村的事。我今天到这边来,有一点感动,好像代表祖母回家乡来探亲。”

对于能够回到祖乡探亲参观,吴资政昨天颇有感触,他在接受媒体访问时透露了以上心情。

吴资政也说:“我的祖乡是永春县的一个小村落——吴岭村。能够知道自己出身如此平凡,让我有谦卑的体会。我父亲就在中国某个县一个不知名的地方的一个小村落里的一个小房间出世。”在堂侄的带领下,吴资政昨天在祖屋里参观了父亲出生的小房间。

“若其他新加坡人也去追溯他们的根,相信很多人也会有谦卑的体会。我很高兴我的家族史能够追溯到1403年,我是第17代的后人,都记录得很清楚。我来到吴岭村跟亲戚们聊天,从他们的名字,我就知道我们是有血缘关系的,因为我和孩子的名字都根据宗谱的辈分表取名,而这本宗谱是我二叔(当年)从吴岭村带出来的。”

据了解,吴姓源自公元前11世纪的商朝后期,最早居住在陕西歧山一带,真正起用吴姓,是部分族人迁到江苏吴地之后。

吴资政的祖上,可追溯到明永乐二年迁居福建永春湖洋镇五旗岭的吴伦清。从吴资政昨天获赠的宗谱看,吴作栋是吴伦清的第17代世孙。吴资政父亲吴佳昆、母亲柯桂华、祖父吴光锦(字文绣)、曾祖父吴世醋(字景雅)等,都清楚记录在宗谱内。吴资政也在祠堂墙上牌匾看到先辈的光荣事迹,其中包括一名大元帅、一名探花、一名扬州知府、一名西安将军和超过一名进士。

吴资政与夫人昨天在吴岭村参观了祠堂、祖屋以及他叔叔在吴岭村捐钱建设的一栋学校(目前已改用为养老院)。

据了解,分布在世界129个国家和地区的泉州籍华侨华人有750多万人,其中新加坡就有约103万人。新加坡的知名泉州人中除了吴资政外,也包括庄日昆、黄祖耀、李光前、骆水兴、蔡天宝、蔡锦淞、黄奕欢、潘受、刘抗、唐裕和张俰宾博士等。

so funny! why he now goes all the way to FUCHOU to look for his ancestral graves and claims that "this is a humbling trip"?

why then over here in sgp, we are discouraged from speaking hokkien, canto, teochew and etc dialects?

he stressed that "we must know our roots and origins..." but then again in sgp, everyone are advised to refrain fr speaking our ORIGINAL dialects but speak MANDARIN only.

one of our roots and origins is also our dialect. why is lau goh contradicting the SPEAK MANDARIN campaign?

:confused::confused::confused:

He finally got the nerves to visit his poor anscetors in a land he wished he had forgottern?

He was just an officer rank in Neptune or a Mee Siam Mai Hum seller till now..he would have just would not visit his ancestors in Fujian...:rolleyes:

SDP should demand to have our dialect rights back!! allow all singaporeans to watch dialect tv shows, speak the way our forefathers spoke. that's our roots. why is the gov destroying them by compelling everyone to SPEAK MANDARIN?

does it really help? our mandarin is "SINGDARIN" just like our english is very SINGLISH. but that's what make us different from HK or taiwan or worst, PRC!

we stand out individualistically as SINGAPOREAN speaking our unique SINGLISH. we should be proud about it as it's our local flavoured culture unlike the way the hongkies speak which sound like pseudo kwai lo or the british ang mo. it's ludicrous!:biggrin:

He finally got the nerves to visit his poor anscetors in a land he wished he had forgottern?

He was just an officer rank in Neptune or a Mee Siam Mai Hum seller till now..he would have just would not visit his ancestors in Fujian...:rolleyes:

many karang guni in sgp now come from FUCHOW. is lau goh planning to turn this place into a KARANG GUNI HUB?

HUB is the "in" word now for sgp. we are getting closer to be a CONHUB sooner or later.:(

i think lau goh is a minitoot who measures his pay with relevant to the number of plates of char kuay tiao.:p

SM Goh says Singaporeans must maintain their ancestral links
By Channel NewsAsia's China Correspondent Glenda Chong | Posted: 28 October 2009 2212 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong

Related News

• SM Goh meets Singaporeans living in Fujian

• S'pore firms invest in new economic zone in China's Fujian province

• SM Goh on official visit to China's Fujian province

• SM Goh to make five-day official visit to Fujian province

Video

SM Goh says Singaporeans must maintain their ancestral links

QUANZHOU, Fujian Province: Quanzhou municipality in Fujian Province has a long historical link with Singapore.

Among what is now known as the original wave of migrants, many are from Quanzhou.

During his visit to the city, Singapore Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said Singaporeans must maintain their ancestral links, even if they pledged loyalty to the island republic now.

Quanzhou municipality in Fujian Province has a population of 7.9 million people. And more than a million Chinese Singaporeans can trace their roots to this city.

Quanzhou and Singapore enjoy good ties, with more than 270 Singapore-investment projects here totalling $960 million.

To show their appreciation, Quanzhou Party Secretary Xu Gang hosted Senior Minister Goh to lunch and a special Quanzhou marionette show.

Enroute to Fuzhou, Mr Goh has the opportunity to visit his ancestral home in Yongchun County.

His father was only eight years old when he arrived in Singapore, and Mr Goh said that he is a second generation Singaporean. Mr Goh said Singapore is a unique country and we must not sever any ancestral links we have with other countries.

Mr Goh was greeted with much fanfare in the village. He met his distant relatives and was even shown the house where his father was born.

Mr Goh said: "I thought it is important first of all for us to know where our ancestral origin would be, in my case, my ancestral home is in Yongchun, in a small village called Wu Ling. It is in a way humbling to know that my origin was that humble, in a small village in a small room that my father was born, in some unknown place in a county in China."

And having ancestral links with other countries is common for Singaporeans. After all Singapore was built by immigrants.

Singapore, being such a small country, will continue to welcome immigrants but Mr Goh said the island-city must be selective.

He said: "We just can't open our floodgates to all and sundry and Singapore will be overwhelmed. But selectively, we should choose the right people to come to Singapore to help contribute to Singapore - that is key. If they can contribute to Singapore, then they should be welcomed."

Mr Goh also said that Singapore Permanent Residents have every right to participate in the National Day parades of their country of origin. However, once they become Singapore citizens, their loyalties should lie with Singapore.

Mr Goh said: ".. once a person becomes a Singapore citizen, we do not expect him or her to go and march in (the) other country's parade because he has decided that this new country will be the one that (he is) going to be loyal to.

"But that does not mean you should cut ties with the country of origin. We encourage Singaporeans to, in fact, try and establish a link but remembering that you are Singaporean with your ancestral countries, then we are part of a larger whole." - CNA/ms

maybe when he was there, he spoke that way. when he's back, it's back to SPEAK MANDARIN or JIANG CHUA JI or SPEAK MONEY.

many karang guni in sgp now come from FUCHOW. is lau goh planning to turn this place into a KARANG GUNI HUB?

HUB is the "in" word now for sgp. we are getting closer to be a CONHUB sooner or later.:(

It said that Fuchownese are the stingiest dialects in SINgapore...other than Garang guni's...they run the coffee shops other than the Hainanese...:biggrin:

fuchow is another form of hokkien dialect like xiamen, leng na, jiao hwang n etc.

if u check on the number of canto dialects, there are even more. each has its own uniqueness and beauty which is very fragile and easily extinct due to modernisation.

why is sgp encouraging the new generations to in actual fact forget our ancestral links and roots by forcing SPEAKING MANDARIN down our throats?

our minitoot spoke about speaking mandarin to do biz with prc. what do prc or anyone know best?

right! MONEY!! u ve money, they shall speak ur language!:smile:

O

Orochi

lanjiao sucking unemployed parasite old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, betrayer, all rolled into one!

you stole temple donation money and the chief monk told you to fuck off!

you bashed your 80 y.o.father until bloody when he threw away your gay porn!

you called your mother LAUCHEEBYE when she reprimanded you for doing fuck all at home except prostituting yourself round-the-clock in cyberspace!

you also stole handphones and claimed that handphones waved at you!

you steal others forum password!

you tried to con a forummer's property!

you tried to con the same person to include your name in his will when he discovered you tried to con his property!

you cursed an old man at his death bed!

you tried to con laukwayboos but you end up only con some free makan! <!-- / message --> <!-- controls -->

so funny! why he now goes all the way to FUCHOU to look for his ancestral graves and claims that "this is a humbling trip"? ...
humbling trip is correct ...

like his x-boss lidat ... he wil b telling ppl there ... u blahdy fellas hv a lot 2 learn fr sg ... wat u dunno, sg oredi noe ... n sg can teach u evry damn ting u dunno ...

iz a trip 2 humble other ppl ...

... why then over here in sgp, we are discouraged from speaking hokkien, canto, teochew and etc dialects? ...
well ...

tiz ... c man tok man language, c ghost tok ghost language ...

O

Orochi

ltssnakeredundiespp0.jpg

lanjiao sucking unemployed parasite old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, betrayer, all rolled into one!

you stole temple donation money and the chief monk told you to fuck off!

you bashed your 80 y.o.father until bloody when he threw away your gay porn!

you called your mother LAUCHEEBYE when she reprimanded you for doing fuck all at home except prostituting yourself round-the-clock in cyberspace!

you also stole handphones and claimed that handphones waved at you!

you steal others forum password!

you tried to con a forummer's property!

you tried to con the same person to include your name in his will when he discovered you tried to con his property!

you cursed an old man at his death bed!

you tried to con laukwayboos but you end up only con some free makan!

don't we find it rare now that we hardly hear little kids speak in dialects?

something intrinsic seem to missing in sgp. we might have long lost our ancestral links to SPEAK CHUA JI. once it's lost, it's forever lost.:mad:

Brightkid

Is SM paying for his own trip expenses to visit his ancestors' place in China ? What has this got to gain by the tax payers ? If not, isn't this similar as using state funds for personal benefits, as currently being investigated in UK ?

Why are the peasants paying for his personal trip, and with his wife too ? We can then all go back to visit our ancestors' village on PAP account ?

kingrant

The Chinese Govt is also finding a big problem uniting the country when the people speak so many diff dialects. Not only do they have to resolve this babel, they also have to get them to speak English.

Over time, even the Chinese govt is discouraging the use of dialects in favour of Mandarin. Then China can have a common lingo across all its provinces.

They may not succeed in the small villages such as where Lau Goh's father was born, but in the big cities, Mandarin will be the lingua franca.

fuchow is another form of hokkien dialect like xiamen, leng na, jiao hwang n etc.

if u check on the number of canto dialects, there are even more. each has its own uniqueness and beauty which is very fragile and easily extinct due to modernisation.

why is sgp encouraging the new generations to in actual fact forget our ancestral links and roots by forcing SPEAKING MANDARIN down our throats?

Yeah, Cantonese have about 12 sub-variants, the ones spoken in HK are the common Cantonese, then the Malaysian version..SINgapore catonese much closer than HK....

Hokkein the same xiamen...etc..and the various other dialects have their sub-variants too.

That is why unknown to many...MANDARIN is just another Chinese dialects, it is not a language...

and the wooden GO...belongs to the stingiest variation....:biggrin:

Is SM paying for his own trip expenses to visit his ancestors' place in China ? What has this got to gain by the tax payers ? If not, isn't this similar as using state funds for personal benefits, as currently being investigated in UK ?

Why are the peasants paying for his personal trip, and with his wife too ? We can then all go back to visit our ancestors' village on PAP account ?

First, like the U fairprice anunty, always asking the same old monotonus question "MEMBER"..

You mUst be member!....then move up the 'licking ladder'...to that level, where all expenses paid trip to your ancestors home..wherever that maybe......

"MEMBER"??...is Wooden on a governent business trip to China?, or he specailly go to his ancestor's home?..or business trip...sidelined ....who is paying for that, sideline trip?

U a MEMBER?:p

QXD

Three cheers for the Pig Hunters, Protectors of SBF from all that is
vile, disgusting, perverse, aka Boob Sim Kheng Hwee

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/7iArJm9gBvg&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x402061&color2=0x9461ca"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/7iArJm9gBvg&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x402061&color2=0x9461ca" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>