• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jobless engineer served legal letter for owing DBS $807.36 in instalment repayment f

<tbody>
</tbody>
Jobless engineer served legal letter for owing DBS $807.36 in instalment repayment for $38,000 NUS tuition and study loan

Jobless engineer Mr Teo who suffers from mental/physical illness received a legal letter from law firm Yeo-Leong & Peh LLC to repay $807.36 in owed repayment tertiary loan instalment to DBS bank.

He owes DBS bank the NUS Tuition Fee loan of $22,159.06 and NUS Study loan of another $16,152.69 when he completed his engineering study at NUS.

He has earned a honours engineering degree there.

Transitioning.org has introduced him a job at A2000 Solutions Pte Ltd early this year but he was terminated after working for only 26 days due to personal reasons.

Mr Teo could not hold on to a job for long period due to his physical condition – he also has abnormal bowel syndrome.

But for now, he has a bigger problem – how to repay $38,000 in tuition and study loan to DBS over the next 20 years?

We understand that for NUS study loan scheme for needy cases, undergraduates can borrow:-

a) Loan which covers 10% of the tuition fee payable by Singapore Citizens; or

b) Loan which covers 10% of the tuition fee payable by Singapore Citizens plus $3,600 living allowance per annum

The NUS website also reveals that undergraduates can borrow up to 90% of the tuition fee loan scheme (TFL).

Several conditions of repayment are summarised as follows:-

1. Repayment of the loan can be in one lump sum or by equal monthly instalments commencing not later than two years from the date that interest is first chargeable on the loan.

2. .The minimum amount of repayment is $100 per month and the maximum repayment period is 20 years.

3. .Penalty interest will be levied at the rate of 1% per month on instalments in arrears.

4. In the event that the borrower leaves the University without completing the graduate programme, the loan outstanding will immediately become due and payable. The borrower may, however, repay the outstanding sum by monthly instalments on such terms and conditions as the University may allow depending on the circumstances of each case.

According to the NUS admission website, the current fee for engineering undergraduates is $36,650 without MOE tuition grant for academic year 2014/2015.

Singapore citizens who qualify for MOE tuition grant will need to pay only $7,850 and Singapore permanent residents $11,000. International students need to pay only $15,700 if they receive MOE tuition grant.

It is also uncertain why international students are eligible for tuition grant though they pay a higher fee after subsidy.

The more mportant question to ask here is should the bank harassed Mr Teo who is currently jobless and suffering from mental illness to repay the total tuition fee and study loan of $38, 000?

What will the bank adopt for the next step if Mr Teo can’t pay up the accrued late payment of $807.36 – will they sue him for bankruptcy to recover the total owed amount?

Written by: Gilbert Goh

Re: Jobless engineer served legal letter for owing DBS $807.36 in instalment repaymen

http://thehearttruths.com/2014/01/2...international-students-to-study-in-singapore/

January 22, 2014 [h=1]Singapore Government Spends $400 Million To Invite International Students To Study In Singapore?[/h]On Monday, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat had revealed that the Ministry of Education (MOE) has given international students tuition grants of a total of about $210 million per year. He also revealed that 1,700 international students and 2,200 university students had received tuition grants.
When you look back at what MOE had revealed in 2011, you will be able to get a clearer picture. MOE had said that, “<a href="http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/parliamentary-replies/2011/11/number-of-international-students-prs.php" sl-processed="1">almost all <abbr title="Permanent Residents">PR</abbr>s and <abbr title="International Student">IS</abbr> (international students) are in receipt of MOE’s Tuition Grant (<abbr title="Tuition Grant">TG</abbr>) scheme“.
So, wait a minute, Heng had said that 6% (of each matriculation cohort) or 1,700 in the polytechnics and 13% or 2,200 the publicly-funded universities had received tuition grants. And if “almost all … international students are in receipt of MOE’s Tuition Grant scheme”, then what does this really mean?
If it might be unclear at first, it is because of the way the reply was phrased. On first reading, you might think that only 6% of international students in the polytechnics and 13% of the international students in the universities receive tuition grants, right? Actually, no. The 6% and 13% actually refers to the proportion of the total student population, including Singaporeans.
Then how many international students are there exactly? For the purpose of this article, we will zoom in to look at the university cohort.
18% University Students Are International Students, 13% On Tuition Grants, 5% On Scholarships?
MOE had revealed that, “<a href="http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/parliamentary-replies/2011/11/number-of-international-students-prs.php" sl-processed="1">for the past ten years, … the number of International Student (<abbr title="International Student">IS</abbr>) (is) at 20% of the total intake… For example, in AY2011, <abbr title="International Student">IS</abbr> comprised 18% while <abbr title="Permanent Residents">PR</abbr>s were 4% of undergraduate intake.” So, if there were 18% international students, and only 13% had received tuition grants, what happened to the other 5%?
But what are tuition grants exactly? According to MOE, “the Tuition Grant Scheme was introduced by the Government in 1980 to subsidise the cost of tertiary education in Singapore. The Tuition Grant Scheme is open to students enrolled in full-time diploma or undergraduate courses (subject to guidelines under existing policy).” It also added that, “You will be eligible for Tuition Grant for your new course at approved Institutions of Higher Learning (IHLs) as long as you have not already attained a diploma or degree or higher qualifications through MOE subsidies or sponsorship by the Singapore Government.
So, that means that for the 5% international students who had not received tuition grants, were they already on scholarships? And for the 13% who had received the tuition grants, do they receive additional scholarships thereafter?
In fact, Heng shared that, the international students in the polytechnics who received tuition grants went down from 9% in 2010 to 6%, whereas in the universities, it went down from 18% to 13%. Does this mean that the proportion of students who had received scholarships had went up instead?
52% Of International Students On Scholarships
Last November, I had written about how Singaporeans pay the second highest university tuition fees among the high-income countries and how Singaporeans also receive the lowest scholarships.
In it, I had also shared that MOE had revealed that, “on average, about 14% of our undergraduates and 30% of our postgraduates in NUS and NTU in 2001-2005 were on scholarships. About one-third of the undergraduate scholars were local students.
I calculated that when you breakdown the proportion, you would realise that actually, there were 52% of the international students who were on scholarships, and only 6% of Singaporeans who were on scholarships!

Thus if 52% of the international students were on scholarships, it would mean that of those who had tuition grants, there would be a substantial proportion of them who were on scholarships as well – what this means is that for a sizeable proportion of international students, they were being sponsored to study in Singapore for FREE.
Meanwhile, how many Singaporeans could actually study for free?
Government Gives International Tuition Grants Of $210 Million, Gives Scholarships Of $185 Million?
So, we were told that international students had received tuition grants of $210 million every year. But what if we were to include the scholarships?
Based on a rough estimation, for the 5% who did not receive tuition grants but who could have received scholarships, about $120 million should have been spent on them. Of those who had received tuition grants and who would also have received scholarships, about $65 million should have been spent on them.
In total, there could have been $400 million spent by the government to bring in international students to study in Singapore.

So, the $210 million revealed on Monday doesn’t show the full picture. $210 million represents only the grants given out as tuition grants. But when you add in what was given in scholarship, this amount might be substantially higher. What’s more, we haven’t even added in bursaries.
Now, let’s put the possible $400 million into a bit of perspective. If you just look at how much Singaporeans would have to pay for university tuition fees, this $400 million might actually enable all Singaporeans who are currently studying in the local public universities to study for FREE!
Are you shocked yet?
Singaporeans Pay Second Highest University Tuition Fees, Receive Lowest Scholarships
Why does the government keep claiming that they are providing so much subsidies for Singaporeans? When you look at the subsidy that the government gives to Singaporeans for non-lab courses, this is only $19,100. Singaporeans still have to pay $7,650 out of our own pockets, or about 40% of the subsidy. On the surface, 40% is a discount. But when you compare what Singaporeans pay with what the citizens in other high-income countries pay, Singaporeans actually pay the second-highest university tuition fees, after Ireland!
So, when you look at it in perspective – from how much Singaporeans actually have to pay out from our pockets, it is not cheap. In fact, for Singaporeans, we have to pay one of the highest university tuition fees in the world.
Meanwhile, why is it that for the international students who come, there is a substantial proportion who would be able to study for free, but not for Singaporeans? And why is it that for whatever the government is paying for the international students to invite them to study in Singapore, the government might actually be able to let all Singaporean university students study for free?
Something is very wrong when your government has enough money to let its citizens study for free, but they choose to give that money to other people, other than its own citizens, right?
Singapore Government Spends Least On Education, Priority On International Students Over Singaporeans?
Not only that, I had also written about how the Singapore government spends the lowest on education as a proportion of GDP, as compared to all the other high-income countries. If the Singapore government is already so stingy with how much they spend on education, why would they prioritise what they spend on international students? Why are they not prioritising their spending on Singaporeans? And if they want to prioritise their spending on international students, shouldn’t they then increase their expenditure on education to ensure that Singaporeans also receive at least the same benefits?
Hello! We are the people who vote you into power! We are the people who have a long-term stake in this country, and who would be here to work with you to make Singapore a success story! Hello, we are the Singaporeans! Why has this government forgotten all that the Singaporeans have given them, and decide to neglect the Singaporeans and spend their time buying international students over?
Hello! Which government in the world does that? Which government treats its people as second-class citizens while giving international students who might not have a stake in this country first class treatment? Hello??
Singaporeans, if you haven’t realised, we might have just done ourselves in.
*****​
In the aftermath of the transport fare increase, and in the face of the pending increase of the MediShield premium and Medisave contribution rate, do you have something to say about how the government apportion budget for Singapore?
Do you think the $1,000 wage that the government wants to legislate for cleaners is enough? Do you think more workers should earn a minimum wage and do you think the minimum wage should be higher?
Come join us at the Pre-Budget 2014 Forum, where we would be discussing these issues and sharing with you our recommendations and proposals. This event is jointly supported by MARUAH, Function 8 and Workfair.
You can find out more about the event at the Facebook event page here.

Re: Jobless engineer served legal letter for owing DBS $807.36 in instalment repaymen

no money dun study uni.
sick dun study degree.
in what way gov and bank is to blame. It is the individual mistake to take a loan that he cannot repay.

vamjok

actually 30K student loan is easily repaid in ~2 years if you have the discipline when you just graduated, personal experience. If drag it more than 5 years seriously the issue is with that person.

In my wonderful country Australia, you only need to repay the loan when you have reach the income level of AU$50,000 per year. If not, then no need.

Sinkieland want to have first world policy such as this but dun have the first worldness to act on a graceful manner.. i say this sinkie manner. Please lah, when you are a sinkie means you are a sinkies...you can't be first world.

KNNBNBCB

In my wonderful country Australia, you only need to repay the loan when you have reach the income level of AU$50,000 per year. If not, then no need.

Sinkieland want to have first world policy such as this but dun have the first worldness to act on a graceful manner.. i say this sinkie manner. Please lah, when you are a sinkie means you are a sinkies...you can't be first world.

Luckily you don't earn more than 50k yearly. Neither can you qualify for any uni due to your sinkie fuckard shit infested brain.

kknnbbccbb

You must be living in the desert, the heat has affected your low birth IQ.

looneytan

Forever in your life you don't need to pay back loan?:oIo::oIo:

escher

ONLY WAY OUT FOR STINKAPOREANS IS TO BECOME SINGAPOREANS
THAT CAN ONLY BE DONE BY DANGLING PAPs ON PIANO WIRES TO SEE THOSE BASTARDS DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS
OR BY GIVING THEM NECKLACES OF BURNING CAR TYRES

START WITH SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE LKY
DO NOT LET THAT BASTARD DIE IN BED

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

Australia your country my foot. You are one of the many mudland Chinese who never repay student loan in Msia.

sochi2014

He owes DBS bank the NUS Tuition Fee loan of $22,159.06 and NUS Study loan of another $16,152.69 when he completed his engineering study at NUS.

Walau! These kind of money to study NUS nowadays?

Same amount can give you angmo cert man!!

vamjok

Walau! These kind of money to study NUS nowadays?

Same amount can give you angmo cert man!!

school fee now i think about 8K a year. what do you think?
but seriously as an engineer grad that enter work force with a normal decent degree (2nd lower), repaying 40K in 2 to 3 years seriously is not an issue. this to me has more got to do with personal discipline.

spotter542

Fucktard jiu hoo kia loser dreaming again , your Thai ladyboy wife didn't give you a good anal fuck is it ?

bushtucker

which brings us back to the question:

"should parents fund university education for their kids, or should the kids pay for their own education?"

Fantastic question. :p

Local education - parents can fund becos imo, that fulfills one of the basic requirements of parenting. after they graduate, they are on their own.

Foreign - children should fund themselves, either via scholarship or work. hehehehehe........................

which brings us back to the question:

"should parents fund university education for their kids, or should the kids pay for their own education?"

Pisukesu

Singapore Lang's LIFE sibeh cham, wonder who did this engineer vote for?

RealSingaporean

school fee now i think about 8K a year. what do you think?
but seriously as an engineer grad that enter work force with a normal decent degree (2nd lower), repaying 40K in 2 to 3 years seriously is not an issue. this to me has more got to do with personal discipline.

家家有本难念的经!
maybe his family got other problem that need money.
there a word call luck.
there a word call unlucky.

vamjok

家家有本难念的经!
maybe his family got other problem that need money.
there a word call luck.
there a word call unlucky.

Agree. This one I understand