• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is axe168 okay?

neddy

I like this humor. :biggrin:

850x.jpg

neddy

We see the banana-benders in new sunshine!

038203-110115-nicholson.jpg

Free public transport .... Free city parking :cool:
http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/

Waste

All Council transfer stations are accepting general and green waste free of charge.

Transfer stations will operate extended hours of 6:00am to 9:00pm seven days per week.

Residents who are able to present their bins for collection should do so and all efforts will be made to service their bins. Our Northside Depot have all trucks out working, but the Southside still only have a limited amount of trucks out. We will endeavour to collect as many bins as possible.

Council is able to help with dead animals with our pick up service. If you have a request, please contact the Council Contact Centre on 3403 8888.

Clean Up

As the task of cleaning up following floodwater inundation begins in coming days, Council advises residents and business owners to follow these safety tips:

• If your home has been affected by floodwaters, contact a licensed electrician to do a safety check of wiring and switchboards before turning on the power. All electrical equipment that may have come into contact with floodwaters should also be checked by an electrician before using.
  • Protect yourself from possible contaminants and bacteria in or left by floodwaters by always wearing rubber gloves and water resistant clothing, including gumboots. You should also wear goggles or a face mask to protect your eyes from any splashing water and cover any open wounds before you start cleaning.
  • Make sure all gas and electricity is turned off while you clean up.
  • Allow for adequate ventilation by opening windows and doors.
  • Be aware that floors will be slippery, even after water has receded.
  • Throw out any food that may have come into contact with floodwaters or perishables that would have spoiled due to power.
  • Take photos of damaged furniture, draperies, appliances, dishes etc and then remove from your house. Brisbane City Council will have industrial bins available and a kerbside collection for flood damaged goods in affected areas once floodwaters recede. Detailed information of industrial bin locations, kerbside collection areas and times will be advised as soon as possible.
  • Watch out for snakes that may have entered your house to escape floodwaters
Residents in impacted areas can use as much water as necessary to clean flood affected areas but are encouraged to be wise about water use by using high pressure hoses or hose nozzles. Residents in areas not affected by the floods are encouraged to be wise about their water use due to the huge demand on water supplies as the clean up gets underway.

Those residents who have not been affected by the flooding are encouraged to assist neighbours, friends and their local communities in clean up operations.

Bulk Bin Locations

Brisbane City Council has now commenced the rollout of bulk bins to flood affected parts of Brisbane.

The bins are to help residents to dispose of flood affected goods or spoiled food and more than 100 bins will be rolled out.

Bins are now in the following locations and more will be put in place today and over the coming days:

johnsgp1

Mel to Bris is about 2 hrs flight. This is equivalent to SG to Bangkok. Australia has a mere 22 million population, per person can set of foot of 0.35 km square or 350,000 square meter or 3182 nos of 5 room HDB (@ 110m2).

With the strong mining and gas sector, we have an unstoppable future for at least 30-50yrs.

ya, that is why OZ has to bow down to China, without them buying u guys cant even last 2 yrs..lick those chinese boots dude....

johnsgp1

Take a look at this ... http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2011/01/ubs-report-purchasing-power-comparison.html

A Malaysian living in KL has higher purchasing power, compared to a Singaporean.

u cannot look things at just the face value, take a drive up to JB and you understand why their purchasing power is better..their roads are full of holes, traffic is hopeless, security is non-existence, police are corrupted..
they have higher purchasing power because the quality of life is lower...

neddy

u cannot look things at just the face value, take a drive up to JB and you understand why their purchasing power is better..their roads are full of holes, traffic is hopeless, security is non-existence, police are corrupted..

(roads are full of holes, traffic is hopeless, security is non-existence, police are corrupted)
Ain't you also looking at things at face value too. We all do, and guilty of comparing too much.
I try to live up to this - As long as I am happy with myself, I do not have to worry about what others think of me. Perhaps you should try.

axe168

Wah lau eh ! Finally ya providing silly comment.. do you want to have a quality footpath but no $$ in ya pocket ? Purchasing power = CHOICE..
With choice, we are able to decide what's good for us and choose the path fit for our purpose.

Only birds in a cage are living without a 'choice'. It is like having a Straits Times with no Sammyboy forum.. OMG !

johnsgp1

(roads are full of holes, traffic is hopeless, security is non-existence, police are corrupted)
Ain't you also looking at things at face value too. We all do, and guilty of comparing too much.
I try to live up to this - As long as I am happy with myself, I do not have to worry about what others think of me. Perhaps you should try.

wa..u can twist your words any-o-how?
You say you 'can live up to this', that means there are lots of problems to the system that you are unhappy with, but have no channel to express or improve, thus you have to live with it..

Yes, Malaysians may have higher purchasing power, but they are facing with a bunch of useless politicians that only cares abt sending ppl to the space and building the tallest building, but ignore the basic instrastructure that people on the street needs...

you may not worry abt wat ppl think of you because u do not live in malaysia, so dun discuss something u do not understand, and expect ppl to understand u....Perhaps u shld try to live in Malaysia for a long period, and decide for yourself if u r making a fair statement.....

johnsgp1

Wah lau eh ! Finally ya providing silly comment.. do you want to have a quality footpath but no $$ in ya pocket ? Purchasing power = CHOICE..
With choice, we are able to decide what's good for us and choose the path fit for our purpose.

Only birds in a cage are living without a 'choice'. It is like having a Straits Times with no Sammyboy forum.. OMG !

what makes u so sure with your purchasing power, you can have a better choice?
U buy a luxurious car, but the only choice you have on the road is to get stuck in traffic jam in KL or JB..
There are lots of Malaysians, who wanted to study in local Malaysian U, but are unable to do it...do u know why?
they have 'purchasing power', but do they have a choice?
have u live in Malaysia before? if no, stop making unfair statement, and make yourself look silly...

neddy

wa..u can twist your words any-o-how?
You say you 'can live up to this', that means there are lots of problems to the system that you are unhappy with, but have no channel to express or improve, thus you have to live with it..

Yes, Malaysians may have higher purchasing power, but they are facing with a bunch of useless politicians that only cares abt sending ppl to the space and building the tallest building, but ignore the basic instrastructure that people on the street needs...

you may not worry abt wat ppl think of you because u do not live in malaysia, so dun discuss something u do not understand, and expect ppl to understand u....Perhaps u shld try to live in Malaysia for a long period, and decide for yourself if u r making a fair statement.....

Geez ... politicians are like debts. They make good servants but bad masters.
Umno - MCA - PAP - ALP. They are all the same. The only difference is that PAP is smarter and managed to con the people to do the dirty work.