• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Investments in Bluechips

1sickpuppy II

Before I start let me state that I am very new to this buying of shares for investments. The last 2 times I tried was not very good and once I even made a lost so when my friends told me that investing in bluechips is better than putting my retirement $ in a FD account in a bank I am very douteful. Maybe you guys can give me your opinion or share your past experience and advice.
They told me that most bluechip shares will grow and increase in value along the lines of the rate of inflation hence my $ won't devalue down the line. The bluechip companies give better dividends than the bank's FD. So my question to you guys out there what do you think?:confused: Are they just talking cock or are there merits to what they are saying? Thanks

Whats4

listen to yourself, not your friends. believe in yourself, not anybody.

if u really want to trade, speculate, invest or whatever u call it, do research and see what fits u best. then do self study.

losing some $$, just treat it as paying school fees. theres no such things as not losing a trade. its only minimising how many u can lose.

whats most important. be financially independent. its a skill that will help u incase u lose your jobs.

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

ManSGP

Bluechips refer to public-listed companies that are large, liquid, and has steady price-growth trends as well as stable dividend payments. Most index-stocks (those that forms part of the index such as Straits Times Index, Dow Jones, etc) are regarded as bluechips.

Bluechips are often seen as safe bets but as they are part of an index, they may be subjected to speculative trades by big traders who have long (buy) or short (sell) positions in index futures.

If you are prepared for long term investment (more than 10 years) and does not want to spend too much time in personal research, you may want to invest 60-70% of your portfolio in bluechips. Put the rest of your money in small-caps that are promising.

Never trade on rumours or based on street talks. You'll be burned badly. Avoid margin trading totally. Interest alone can wipe out your capital gains.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Put the rest of your money in small-caps that are promising.

FD rate has become so pathetic, I am also thinking of moving my money to stock.

Question, historically how does small cap index perform against blue chip? And where can I start doing my research on small cap?

ManSGP

FD rate has become so pathetic, I am also thinking of moving my money to stock.

Question, historically how does small cap index perform against blue chip? And where can I start doing my research on small cap?

For reference, analysis reports can be obtained easily from your broker/remisiers or can be purchased from financial media such as shareinvestor.com. Take the buy/sell recommendations from the analysts with a pinch of salt. I have mixed enough with these stock analysts in the past not to fully trust their recommendations. Best way is to extract company announcements and reports from SGX directly and learn how to extract vital information from these reports.

First, identify the macro (industry) which you think has positive growth and then on the micro (companies belonging to that particular industry). As the consumer market in Singapore is very limited, lookout especially for companies that has expanded or have very good plans for overseas expansion.

They told me that most bluechip shares will grow and increase in value along the lines of the rate of inflation hence my $ won't devalue down the line.......

Be careful if you intend to invest in blue chips in Spore because there is no such thing:smile:

I've got money invested in Malaysia & US. The Malaysian stocks are giving me regular dividens,

I only invest in large US companies & so far they are doing well even in this recession.

You should invest in a basket of shares & avoid putting everything in one stock.

1sickpuppy II

Oh? How do you trade overseas Johnny333? Some of us were discussing on taking 70% of our retirement $ and invest in 10 bluechip companies in different industries.
Listed below are some of them maybe you guys can give us some pointers
Property
FnN
Capital

Transport
SIA
SMRT
Delgro SBS

Banks
DBS
OCBC
OUB

Still got 2 more not decided yet any advice?

S

sodoMee

Before I start let me state that I am very new to this buying of shares for investments. The last 2 times I tried was not very good and once I even made a lost so when my friends told me that investing in bluechips is better than putting my retirement $ in a FD account in a bank I am very douteful. Maybe you guys can give me your opinion or share your past experience and advice.
They told me that most bluechip shares will grow and increase in value along the lines of the rate of inflation hence my $ won't devalue down the line. The bluechip companies give better dividends than the bank's FD. So my question to you guys out there what do you think?:confused: Are they just talking cock or are there merits to what they are saying? Thanks

buy share is good, you make money super fast that way....but in SGP stock market is really boring with Temasek playing hanky panky all the time....

now try to save as much cash as you can, wait until that ofart drop dead, short every blue chips you can find in the market....especially those weak companies headed by incompetent MIWs.

SURE WIN! courtesy of Temasek Hldgs! Chairman is LKY!

Take back the money LKY stole from taxpayers!! :biggrin:

Dun be greedy, when you are on a winning streak, like in CASINOs, quickly exit from the scene, let the rest of the rich suckers take in the losses! :biggrin:

this is how you play the stock markets...:biggrin:

S

sodoMee

Never trade on rumours or based on street talks. You'll be burned badly. Avoid margin trading totally. Interest alone can wipe out your capital gains.

true! research the company's finance, leadership qualities yourself don't trust others to do it for you...etc...

when analyst recommend buy, don't buy because you are a sucker if you do!....:biggrin:

S

sodoMee

Oh? How do you trade overseas Johnny333? Some of us were discussing on taking 70% of our retirement $ and invest in 10 bluechip companies in different industries.
Property
FnN
Capital

Transport
SIA
SMRT
Delgro SBS

Banks
DBS
OCBC
OUB

dun buy property, bubbles are going to burst soon!

dun buy SIA.....planes are empty....

buy crowded MRT and buses....

Banks better dun touch it until the Lehman brother is no longer around! :biggrin:

If you want to trade US stocks, the cheapest option is to open an Etrade account. They have offices in Spore & HK. You can go to their website at:

https://us.etrade.com/e/t/home

As a Sporean you don't have to pay ANY US taxes. Each trade will cost only US$10, which is much cheaper than going through a broker. The cheap fees allow you to do scalping.

For Malaysian stocks you can open a Malaysian trading account with Maybank in JB. By opening a Malaysian trading account you can by-pass expensive Spore brokers & the gst. With a Malaysian account you can keep funds in ringgit until exchange rates are more favourable.

Used to have lots invested in unit trusts bought from the local banks but they were giving poor returns. :(
As a small time investor without any PAP contacts I'm at a disadvantage. I've made more from investing in the US market than I did in the Spore mkt. So just before the recession I pulled out all my investments from Spore. :smile:

Property
FnN
Capital

Transport
SIA
SMRT
Delgro SBS

Banks
DBS
OCBC
OUB

S

sodoMee

remember to support the oppositions...after you made tonnes of money...:biggrin:

can sue them for address discrimination or not? :biggrin:

Why would Ameritrade accept clients from Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand ....but not from Spore? I think there must be some Spore law or regulation that is preventing them from doing so.

Etrade has a small office in Spore & have no problems accepting Spore clients. Since they already have an office in HK, why would they need a Spore office :confused:

Etrade is ok if you are doing simple buying/selling. However I can't comment on shorting, buying/selling options... since I don't those services.

Unrepented

IMO, agricultural and energy stocks. Economy good or bad still need to eat. And world population is increasing and freak weather. Gold is also good to hedge your risks. Depending on your long or short term investment plan, weather you are in for "capital maintenance" or "profit seeking". These are the stuff you need to ask yourself. Of course, the old motherhood statement "high risk, high returns".