• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to get the FUCK out of Sinking Land with little $$$?

Bros, starting this thread cos' many had made it through all means. Most important is your mindset. Paiseh my England not very good.

1. First of all, you need to tell yourself you have enough of all the pappies shit and you need to get the fuck out of Sinking land (which is true cos' more ice is melting) :smile:
2. You need some savings. No need too much. If you keep waiting to save enough, it will never happen. I suggest 6 months expense for you or family.
3. You cannot expect the best of both worlds. You have to take a risk. The outcome is either good or no good if you make a decision. By not making a decision, there is no outcome. You will remain screwed for a long time in Sinking land.
4. Stop behaving like a Sinkee! You cannot survive elsewhere with a Sinkee attitute. Have to assimiliate into your new host country.
5. Don't give up trying. Even if your first attempt fail, you can always make the second or third. Life is too short to just stay in Sinking land to be screwed by the pappies.

Finally, a real story. A Sri Lankan with USD 500 ask me for a job. He was on tourist visa. I told him his USD 500 can probably last at most a week. I did not give him a job cos' there's no opening but I do respect his courage to sell his land to try out in a foreign country. Many PRCs and Indians did just that and come and screw Sinkees in SG.

Me will me taking another long holiday in the north soon. Counting down to 1st September. :smile:

AhBeng

I remember ............I migrated with only $3000 and I was all alone. Today, my wife is worth seven digits.....and growing......big risk.....and this mind set cannot be set in Singapore. My kids have finished University and have an entrepreneur spirit.....which I don't see growing in my friend’s kids in Singapore. I remember giving my kids $10,000 after they finished university and asked them to make $200,000 a year within 5 years or they will never inherit mummy’s wealth. Both my kids did it and today manage our companies..............hopefully they make it into an empire for the next generation................I have no regret of leaving Singapore. I am happy that I made the plunge.

A lot of friends used to laugh at me and discourage me when I was leaving Singapore.........including my family. All my family is in Singapore and I am all alone....which was very difficult for many years. Today, I don't work much...mostly travelling with my wife to resort areas and enjoy the beaches of the world. When I was in Singapore, I had not even seen Malaysia or Bali...I was poor and saved the money to migrate.....every penny Upon finishing the army, I left Singapore within a week......and never turned back.

Today, my friends want to migrate and ask me many questions........and I am trying and encouraging them to migrate.............because Singapore is going to spiral into a black hole...........................that is my next vision.......and Singapore property will be lelong.........................

Bro, absolutely delighted that you started to started this thread. I am sure many in this forum have wondered, envied and considered what Joe, Drifter and you have done away from Singapore.

There are many in Singapore absolutely capable people looking to expand their horizon. This thread will hopefully spark that little bit in them to venture and create a new life.

Bros, starting this thread cos' many had made it through all means. Most important is your mindset. Paiseh my England not very good.

Me will me taking another long holiday in the north soon. Counting down to 1st September. :smile:

I know a guy who bought a small photo store and did very well. He did it just after he completed his MBA. He told me his secret was nothing to do with MBA. He said that he thought "small" rather than follow the Singaporean trait of thinking big and then become very cautious. The small photo store at a train station in Perth was a very small outlay.

He said that after his 12 yr contract had finished with SAF and Army Captains in their early 30s were not very particularly attractive to the commercial sector, he took the the MBA course thinking it will give him a lift. As he kept passing the store to attend classes he just jumped at it with eyes closed more out of desperation.

roadrunner

here's just a few pointers..

1. the first 2 yrs are the worst after arriving becos you need to adjust & settle in. most people who buay tahan & balek SG do so within 2yrs.

2. you really need to work hard at everything.. including socialising, make effort to go out & meet people, like this u learn faster about ur new surroundings, try not to fall into the typically singaporean habit of SG people sticking together becos ur going to end up in a SG bubble & sooner or later u will be making comparisons between new country & SG, how u miss SG blah, blah.. & u end up going back to SG!

3. if ur feeling really low, think about how ur ancestors/forefathers left their own country & ended up in SG, if they can do it in those really hard & difficult times, so can u!

Forgot to add something very important:

6. Have confidence and believe in yourself till the very last. Don't let the discouraging comments around you affect your decision. Ironically, these negative comments can come from people closest to you.

7. Those who do not have high academic qualification, can always consider starting your own business or investments.

Can't comment on those with family commitments but for the singles without too much liabilities, why not give a try while you are young? Those that have started a family with a 30 year HDB loan and a car loan will probably find it impossible to let go of SG.

bart12

I left Spore with $10 in my wallet...but I was lucky to land a job in the US with H1B which in those days were easy to apply. Money was good , cost of living low, I have paid off 2 houses and my car. I am enjoying a good life which I can only dream in my childhood when I watched TV. If I have stayed in Spore, I am 100% sure I can only drive a taxi by now.

Pii Chon I just made it out now in Pudong Airport waiting for luggage :smile:

I left Spore with $10 in my wallet...but I was lucky to land a job in the US with H1B which in those days were easy to apply. Money was good , cost of living low, I have paid off 2 houses and my car. I am enjoying a good life which I can only dream in my childhood when I watched TV. If I have stayed in Spore, I am 100% sure I can only drive a taxi by now.
10 bucks?! You're da man! respect, respect.

Hehehe. I most likely ended up clearing plates and bowls at the hawker centres.

myo539

I left Spore with $10 in my wallet..... If I have stayed in Spore, I am 100% sure I can only drive a taxi by now.

[Don't live here].... if you cannot afford it .
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/1HPt4Is5V50" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Why not, everything was paid for and sing dollar is not going to be useful anymore, spent all at the airport la

Happened that 10 bucks were left

immigration and customs at u.s. entry points many decades ago would ask 3rd world travellers (sinkie passports included) "here for holiday? where will you stay? do you have sufficient funds?"