• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Graphic Designer Needed - $6/hr

gbomega

And now the climax... typo and grammatical error. Total disgrace to Singapore

embarrassing_errors_abound_in_this_national_day_banner-thumbnail.jpg

gbomega

Yeah tough job

What to do?

It's business to business deal.. Got to really please the client

Please clients doesn't mean you loose all your rights as workers leh... only happen in Singapore when they mass import foreigners and unions are a joke! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

scoopdreams

Hmmm

You seem like you are a graphic designer?

Is there an graphic designer union?

If graphic designers can stop bitching about how sucky each other's design is, maybe (and it's a BIG maybe) they can sit down and form a union. :smile:

Then the union will register, but never start, because everyone in the goddamn union will have their own idea of how the logo should be like. Even if they get past the logo, they'll realize that none of them can copywrite a mission statement. And faced with a mission statement of more than 20 words, they will argue about corporate identity colors and fonts for months - only to realize everyone wanted Helvetica and grayscale all along.

A union? For graphic designers? HahahahHAhaahAHahAhha...

manokie

Please clients doesn't mean you loose all your rights as workers leh... only happen in Singapore when they mass import foreigners and unions are a joke! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Tell your boss:

I will go home at 6pm and can work from home if required.

But if changes are required, give me a video call. I will make changes away from work.

Of course, you need to be in good relations with him.. If he trusts and likes you, shouldn't be a problem?

gbomega

Tell your boss:

But if changes are required, give me a video call. I will make changes away from work.

Of course, you need to be in good relations with him..

Sd bosses must SEE you work, if they don't see you work means you are not working... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

scoopdreams

Tell your boss:

Of course, you need to be in good relations with him.. If he trusts and likes you, shouldn't be a problem?

And you proceed to make changes away from work, only to realize the 2GB Illustrator artwork file is stored on the office iMac, and the stock photos are in the office server.

Begrudgingly, you change your clothes and trudge to the office, only to realize they didn't hand you an access card cos as a graphic artist, you are the lowest worm in the corporate structure, and they are afraid you might steal the iMac to open a competing design firm.

scoopdreams

No Remote access for Macs?

HaHahahahahhaha... It's a creative firm, not a tech firm. :smile: There's VNC protocol for Mac by default, but I'll be striking 4D if I ever heard a graphic designer ask me "Can I remote in to do work?"

Besides, you are talking about color fidelity, about all kind of bandwidth-heavy bitmap rendering that get pulled over the office network, which is already congested by all the people in the Video Production dept watching Youtube under the pretext that they are sourcing for "transition ideas".

And then when you want to do pixel adjustments, VNC randomly adds 5 to 100 pixels variations in your mouse movements.

How I wish graphic design was like dealing with an Excel spreadsheet...

manokie

HaHahahahahhaha... It's a creative firm, not a tech firm. :smile: There's VNC protocol for Mac by default, but I'll be striking 4D if I ever heard a graphic designer ask me "Can I remote in to do work?"

Besides, you are talking about color fidelity, about all kind of bandwidth-heavy bitmap rendering that get pulled over the office network, which is already congested by all the people in the Video Production dept watching Youtube under the pretext that they are sourcing for "transition ideas".

And then when you want to do pixel adjustments, VNC randomly adds 5 to 100 pixels variations in your mouse movements.

How I wish graphic design was like dealing with an Excel spreadsheet...

Pull that 2GB file and pics from the server into your home computer..
Or if you know you will be on call on a certain project, just load everything onto a flash drive..

Tell the boss you need a life outside work.. Of course, be nice

BTW you know Anabelle Chong? The SG porno star scholar.. She's a graphic designer now.. Email her and chat with her? :biggrin:

scoopdreams

Pull that 2GB file and pics from the server into your home computer..
Or if you know you will be on call on a certain project, just load everything onto a flash drive..

Tell the boss you need a life outside work.. Of course, be nice

BTW you know Anabelle Chong? The SG porno star scholar.. She's a graphic designer now.. Email her and chat with her? :biggrin:

That one sure has plenty of creative juice in her. Keep on suckin', keep it flowin', babe.

eQuipment

wakao! even ah-tiongs also charge at the very least $30-40/hr just for photoshop only?
the idiot wants 3D rendering skills at $6/hr? what a joke.

I used to charge $300 a day when i was freelancing, LOL, as designer lah, not piak piak those kind 1 hor, LOL :p:p

But i know Ramseth and BusNo64 a.k.a cheapfuck will make fun of me, but thats ok, LOL :biggrin::biggrin:

I used to charge $300 a day when i was freelancing, LOL, as designer lah, not piak piak those kind 1 hor, LOL :p:p

But i know Ramseth and BusNo64 a.k.a cheapfuck will make fun of me, but thats ok, LOL :biggrin::biggrin:

You mean GMS paid you S$300 a day to design his silly NSP T-shirt.

No wonder kena rubber dinghied to Holland and looking like a dutckie.