• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Good Brahmin Promises To Supply Tonnes Of Good Quality Solar Electricity From Darwin To PAP! Guess How!

1666868134329.png

SINGAPORE - Australian company Sun Cable, which is developing a solar energy power link between Australia and Singapore, on Wednesday confirmed the amount of electricity it planned to supply to the Republic.

Mr Mitesh Patel, Sun Cable’s chief commercial officer, said the supply would total 1.75 gigawatts (GW) of power. He told the Singapore International Energy Week conference that the company had also received expressions of interest from corporate buyers in Singapore for more than 2.5GW, illustrating strong interest in green energy supplies.

In response to questions, the company said it was not able to disclose when it would be supplying the 1.75GW. But Sun Cable said in June that it expects the project to be completed by 2029.

Green electricity imports are one of the key ways Singapore is aiming to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions and reach net-zero emissions by 2050.

The Republic is targeting an import capacity of up to 4GW of low-carbon electricity by 2035, which could make up about 30 per cent of the nation’s projected electricity supply then, the Energy Market Authority (EMA) has said.

Sun Cable has submitted an application under EMA’s second request-for-proposal (RFP2) programme to import electricity into Singapore. RFP2 opened in July and proposals need to be submitted by the end of 2023.

“We have submitted a proposal to supply Singapore as part of RFP2 and are currently working with the EMA on the import licence and supply dates. We cannot say anything more until EMA concludes the process,” Mr Fraser Thompson, Sun Cable co-founder and chief strategy officer, told The Straits Times.

Under the RFP2 programme, potential importers will have to demonstrate their supply reliability, credibility, track record, cost-competitiveness, and ability to supply and manage the carbon output of their power generation supply, the EMA said.

Sun Cable’s A$30 billion (S$27 billion) Australia-Asia PowerLink plans to send electricity to Singapore via subsea cables from a 12,000ha solar power station south of Darwin in the Northern Territory.

The 4,200km high-voltage cable link will be the longest of its type in the world, and the project aims to meet up to 15 per cent of Singapore’s power needs when it is completed by 2029, Sun Cable has said.

While the supply of 1.75GW is significant, the EMA noted that Singapore’s power demands are set to grow along with its population and economy, as well as the switch to electric vehicles and greater digitalisation.

The EMA’s latest projected peak system demand is 7.7GW to 8.1GW in 2022, 9.6GW to 10.4GW by 2029, and 10.1GW to 11GW by 2032.

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/sun-cable-solar-project-to-supply-singapore-with-175gw-of-power

winners

To cut it short: Singapore should just build its own off-shore Nuclear Power Plants. Otherwise, it'll be held hostage again whenever there will be a crisis/dispute with the supplying country's government, just like the water agreement with Malaysia. And if Indonesia is now even contemplating to build their own Nuclear Power Plants (total madness for a country full of volcanic and earthquake activities), why not Singapore?

Furthermore, this high power electric cable will have to pass through the sea around Indonesia and when the Indons will get mad with Singapore over minor disputes in future (as always the case), they will surely threaten to sabotage this cable or revoke its operational rights over their region.

A huge amount of that solar energy will be lost in transit due to distance.
Indonesia nuclear plans are ok as not all of the country is prone to earthquake. They can build one in batam and sell part of its power to sinkie.
Even in earthquake areas like japan snd taiwan, they have nuclear power plants.

Willamshakespear

To those whom propose Singapore's own National interest, my salute to you. However, Nuclear plants are not present solutions, as there is much procedural safety issues to surmount first. There are still ALTERNATIVES to cleaner energies. EVERY single day, we Humankind had seen Technology evolving. It is said - invention is the mother of necessity. If so, than Alternatives are the fathers.

Singapore & other nations will be better off to Hedge bets, be pragmatic & have foresight due to Human innovation to build upon known knowledge, more so now as energy suppliers are mostly Opportunists. What had been inked upon agreements are often costly, & such payments comes from hard earned & precious treasury - tax payers or citizens contribution funds. Thus a high responsibility as leaders of nations.

Fortunately, within mere spans of months & especially thru connectivity online, Humanity realized that there are indeed alternatives, that may not cost an arm & leg to citizens who followed leaders. Example - solid state high capacity energy storage hydrogen fuel cells, etc, & much more....

Even the simple car Lithium ion battery can be a present & intermediate cheaper energy source. Just one mere one time charged Li battery can last a household for an astonishing 26 days. Imagine if such battery is modified & FOUR such units placed on a HDB block rooftop of 100 households. It would charge from the fossil fuel station at a mere 2 hrs, & then, modified to shut off from power stations, such will supply enough energy for that HDB block for one whole day. Think of the energy costs saved- just 2hrs of supply from power stations. It would RADICALLY cut down on consumers energy bill daily, with them having enough funds to CIRCULATE money into society - needs, education, recreation, etc & boost our economy.

And the insignificant nobody me has YET to talk about solid state hydrogen fuel cells, which are currently placed on mere buses than airplanes for trial.. There is hope for our future, & may no citizen live in fear, or live on knees to anyone else. We WILL progress, evolve together & leave no one behind....

winners

Even the simple car Lithium ion battery can be a present & intermediate cheaper energy source.
Lithium batteries are impractical and too costly for solar farms. The next best alternative will be Sodium Ion batteries. However, I'm still a strong proposer for Nuclear Power. It is sustainable for the long term. We don't have the space capacity for Solar Power due to the low efficiency of the present day available Solar cells.

Sodium-ion battery breakthrough. Safer, cheaper and cleaner than Lithium-ion:​

Guess how much environmental damage u are doing by mining out lithium for all the batteries just so that u can brag about your "green" agenda. :rolleyes:

Lithium batteries are impractical and too costly for solar farms. The next best alternative will be Sodium Ion batteries. However, I'm still a strong proposer for Nuclear Power. It is sustainable for the long term. We don't have the space capacity for Solar Power due to the low efficiency of the present day available Solar cells.
I can give you solar power for dollar from my ksmpung in jiu hu and batam. For every 100MW peak solar, say 400 acres i need to resettle those kampung folks in hdb if agreeable.

Willamshakespear

Guess how much environmental damage u are doing by mining out lithium for all the batteries just so that u can brag about your "green" agenda. :rolleyes:

There are ways to minimise its impact, as Humanity progresses daily. Already Direct Lithium Extraction-which uses no water, is already used & the mineral is readily available in vast uninhabited areas such as in Chile & Australia.

winners

I can give you solar power for dollar from my ksmpung in jiu hu and batam. For every 100MW peak solar, say 400 acres i need to resettle those kampung folks in hdb if agreeable.
No thanks. Why? Because I not only have to provide them with HDB accommodation as you've put it, but also available jobs to enable their survival. You are too simple minded, no business sustainability sense at all.

The british have no issues.
But why from australia? Why not from gujarat where sembcorp has a massive solar farm there?

You have not heard the racist talks from UK yet? The often repeated line is would India accept a white as PM? If not, why should UK accept an Ah Neh as PM?

India slready had a white PM you fool.

1666973211674.png

Sonia gandhi. Italian. Indians voted for her, but she decline to be PM slthough she was the leader if her party. If She had taken that post, indua would be in better shape. Msking Ferraris instead of marutis.

Singapore Dancing Spirit

India slready had a white PM you fool.

View attachment 166110

Sonia gandhi. Italian. Indians voted for her, but she decline to be PM slthough she was the leader if her party. If She had taken that post, indua would be in better shape. Msking Ferraris instead of marutis.

My understanding is that she has already stepped down from the party leadership.
She was the wife of ex PM of India Rajiv Gandhi who was assassinated by a suicide bomber long time ago.

There is no democracy in India as Modi (a communist by strategy) has more than 200 software engineers to promote him in social media. They also modify software for the next GE. They can preset the election winning score even before voting started. They can pre-set (pre-program) with a small margin of winning score so that people will not suspect.

INDIA is using a FRAUDULENT electronic voting system.

Everything FAKE in India - Feke degree, fake wisdom and fake election....
Beware. And be aware!!