• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GE2020 : PAP predicted to be the only party in Parliament

As expected, the pap is predicted to up their vote share. Perhaps up to 85%. Everyone knows sinkie voters' mentality. :frown:

Hence, where's the harm in voting for the opposition?:thumbsup: Seriously.

GE2020: Do you want another sort of freak election?
Yahoo News Singaporeyesterday

by Bertha Henson
If there ever was a time for the opposition to take the by-election strategy out of the bottom drawer, this is it. Because the chances of a “freak election’’ are high: The People’s Action Party (PAP) could well revert to being the only party in Parliament.

The bet is on the PAP romping home to glorious victory, swept up by the population’s retreat to safe harbour and its belief that only the PAP would have the technocratic nous to pull Singapore out of what seems to be an escalating economic crisis.

Ironic isn’t it? Usually, the term “freak election’’ is a reference to the ouster of the PAP as government, because voters have an increasing appetite for opposition and failed to consider that they might not be alone in this. That’s the scenario that has often been conjured up by the PAP leaders when they warn the electorate not to throw out the baby with the bathwater.

That by-election strategy was implemented successfully in 1991, when the opposition contested fewer than half the seats available, ensuring that the PAP returned to power. It contested just 40 out of 81 seats, enough for the PAP to form the government on Nomination Day.

Many opposition politicians have taken credit for this strategy which led to four opposition MPs entering Parliament through single-seat wards. But at that time, this could well be an electoral accident – opposition parties weren’t able to find enough candidates, including minority candidates, to fill Group Representation Constituency (GRC) slates. The 1991 General Election (GE) was only the second time the GRC system was exercised.

Another reason: there were still 21 single seat wards, allowing intensive campaigning in a small area and for the individual, rather the party brand, to push the voter into making his or her choice. The number of SMCs was trimmed down to the minimum of nine in the next election in 1997, staying at that number for two more GEs until it was slowly raised to 14 for the coming election.

The by-election strategy has not been repeated since, although then-Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong decided to turn the concept in its head when he called for a by-election in his own Marine Parade GRC the next year. He dubbed this “a by-election with a general election effect’’, arguing that a PAP loss would signal a lack of confidence in the PAP leader and bring the government down. He won with 72.94 per cent of the votes.

Since then, the myriad opposition parties in Singapore have contested all seats, with the exception of Tanjong Pagar GRC, the seat of PAP founder Lee Kuan Yew. That changed in 2015 after Mr Lee’s passing. GE2015 saw all 89 seats contested.

Some opposition parties should opt out
But even as the opposition politicians spread themselves out, there have been concerted attempts to avoid three-cornered fights, which have traditionally favoured the incumbent. Steps towards an opposition alliance though have never borne any fruit as the Workers’ Party, the largest opposition force, has always been reluctant to parley. It was the same in the run-up to this coming election.

Attempts by opposition politicians who sought to get former presidential candidate Tan Cheng Bock to lead an alliance came to naught, as Dr Tan moved on to set up his own Progress Singapore Party (PSP). Even a small scale alliance of four opposition parties fizzled out early this year. One of them, Singaporeans First Party, declared itself dissolved this week.

Since the Prime Minister announced the election on Tuesday (23 June), the political parties seemed to be engaging in the horse-trading of seats via the media. It has reached the stage when the newest political party, Red Dot United, pronounced that it would make way in Jurong GRC, if another opposition party was vying for the seat.

The latest count based on media reports showed that all 93 seats have been reserved by opposition parties, with three-cornered fights possibly surfacing in Bukit Panjang, Pioneer, Punggol West and Yio Chu Kang SMCs, as well as Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.

The PSP has overtaken the WP in terms of the number of seats to be contested. It will field 24 candidates in five SMCs and four GRCs, while WP will defend its Hougang and Aljunied GRC seats, while aiming for East Coast and Marine Parade GRCs, Sengkang GRC and Punggol West SMC. At 21 candidates, this is far fewer than the 28 it fielded in GE2015, which could reflect its focus on keeping the seats it already has and gunning for the ones it has the most chance of winning. For example, in 2015, it decided not to contest the Jalan Besar and Nee Soon GRCs, which had turned out a dismal vote count of 32.3 per cent and 33.2 per cent respectively for the party.

The hardworking SDP is staying in its traditional stomping grounds of Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, Yuhua SMC and Bukit Panjang SMC, with 11 candidates. It had to tweak its campaign message in light of the COVID-19 virus. For example, it had earlier wanted to campaign against the CPF minimum sum scheme. Now, it is advocating the payment of some retrenchment benefits and a monthly $500 income for low income retirees.

Together, the WP, PSP and SDP will be contesting 56 of the 93 seats, a little more than half of total seats.

SingFirst’s Tan Jee Say did the right thing to dissolve his party. It had fielded 10 candidates in GE2015. As for the rest of the seven assorted political parties, I wish they would stay out of the picture. The opposition strength looks dissipated enough as it is, fractured by ideological or personal reasons.

The PAP already has a ready-made counter to voters aching for more opposition voices in Parliament. Even if no opposition candidate was elected, there are 12 Non-Constituency MP (NCMP) seats available for the best losers. It has even neutered the objection that NCMP seats are tokenism: the NCMPs have full voting rights, including the right to vote on constitutional amendments.

In fact, the electorate can have their cake and eat it too: The PAP in government as well as PAP MPs running town councils with its trademark efficiency (remember the Aljunied-Hougang town council saga hasn’t been settled yet) and enough opposition MPs to check on the government.

Nomination day is next Tuesday, three days away. What is your definition of a “freak election’’ should all seats be contested?

https://sg.yahoo.com/news/ge-2020-another-sort-of-freak-election-020047164.html

millim6868

70% sinkies ate dumb.The way the papigs handle covid 19 already tell us they make wrong decision under panic condition, they not able to hold n control situation.Also , Jo teo cbl slerping cause more problem.And the papigs only know how to use money to make issues like solved n 1 skatepade crazy big mouth cb say every citizen recieved 23k n must return to the country eventually.This bunch of idiots are dumb .They treat foreigners n PR better.Our votes are secret n hope the 70% idiot sinkies called by CCS know who to vote.And also CCS behind closed doors address sinkies as idiots.Wakeup Singapore , life in sg are already tough for sinkies, there nothing to lose when u vote for oppositions .Our flat , EC , condo are all 99 yrs , not going to worth anything, it don belong to us.Jobs are lost n sinkies end up grad drivers n grad delivers n temp takers, etc....nothing to lose

nayr69sg

Staff member
Either way I win.

If sinkies all vote PAP. Then I will laugh at sinkies

If sinkies vote all opposition and new government. I will rub my hands with glee.

So I cannot lose. Haha! So fun!

And we should listen to Bertha Henson because...?
otherwise she’ll use the big bertha on you. either the golf club or howitzer will knock your socks (and cock) off.
815AD54F-A47A-45AF-9D91-6FC4B1AEEB43.jpeg
75B08D35-0D4A-465D-B5C8-21297A7FDA76.jpeg

When I see how PAP fight the CCPVirus pandemic I have no more doubt. Vote pap

nirvarq

I beg to differ, contractors already cannot tahan the $18 per day meals and fortnightly swap test of $200 each for their Bangalas.

Many businesses is bankrupt & closing down.

The initial not sick don’t wear mask then u turn & slow respond of closing our immigration gate from Chinks & importing & allowing already sick ships & foreigners to enter is not for the citizens benefits.

You’re more naive than you thought the citizen were. When the economy is kaput we’re worst than you, we very xia suay wan. $$$$ talks !

The 4 masks given gamble by CCS. The we’ve been prepared for 17yrs since SARs empty talks.

The true datas of 26 deaths and Mild Symptoms & clinically fit vs lockdown to damage our health, economy & livelihood seems tied to early erection and not justified.

The current Ivan Lim life & death Covid spin....

Better watch your 6 when these silent voters finally wakes up by the incompetency of MiW.....

This may be the time if you’ve noticed ‘he’ had lost so much weight this period.....

Troubled & sooo... scared ? When your own brother & sister openly wash dirty linens.

I beg to differ, contractors already cannot tahan the $18 per day meals and fortnightly swap test of $200 each for their Bangalas.

Many businesses is bankrupt & closing down.

The initial not sick don’t wear mask then u turn & slow respond of closing our immigration gate from Chinks & importing & allowing already sick ships & foreigners to enter is not for the citizens benefits.

You’re more naive than you thought the citizen were. When the economy is kaput we’re worst than you, we very xia suay wan. $$$$ talks !

The 4 masks given gamble by CCS. The we’ve been prepared for 17yrs since SARs empty talks.

The true datas of 26 deaths and Mild Symptoms & clinically fit vs lockdown to damage our health, economy & livelihood seems tied to early erection and not justified.

The current Ivan Lim life & death Covid spin....

Better watch your 6 when these silent voters finally wakes up by the incompetency of MiW.....

This may be the time if you’ve noticed ‘he’ had lost so much weight this period.....

Troubled & sooo... scared ? When your own brother & sister openly wash dirty linens.
And who will tell them that? There is no election rally u expect people sit 2 hrs in front of smartphone watch oppie party videos on inter net? Haha! Checkmate! :laugh:

nirvarq

And who will tell them that? There is no election rally u expect people sit 2 hrs in front of smartphone watch oppie party videos on inter net? Haha! Checkmate! :laugh:

Check lan cheow, we are the people we are involved in all these and all those i've said was reported in state media by themselves ! We're the victims no need oppies tell us lol... :P <3

nirvarq

You think the people really hears the spins or need oppies to tell us ? C'mon we're business people, oppies are mainly losers and those in this forums are low IQ kpkb foreigners the real winners are the free people and properties owners and businessmen we're ground level people we only sees money up, when you block our fortune and restrict our freedom you'll learn what's up !

Just wait and see many votes will be lost this round. Only the few RC members and internet IBs por lum par you for fifty cents lol.........

Check lan cheow, we are the people we are involved in all these and all those i've said was reported in state media by themselves ! We're the victims no need oppies tell us lol... :P <3
At most you are only 20 or 30 per cent. How you fight 69 who just got handed more $$$? :cool:

Leepotism

This is 2020. Why still want to use the by election tactic? Opposition grab another 4 SMC and let PAP smiling from ear to ear again?. Fight to vote out PAP to save Singapore. Don't be stupid to let PAP laugh at u again.