• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

EDMW forum thread reaches 63 pages - "Project 2016: Vote out Lee Hsien Loong"

xingguy

Making Members of Parliament (as in opposition ward) “kowtow” to grassroots’ organizations of another political party is a blatant disregard and disrespect of the electorate and the office of Members of Parliament.

Where is the legitimacy of elected opposition MPs if CIPC funding has to go through their Advisers?

Community project funding must go through ‘advisers’

sylvialim.png

WP's Sylvia Lim: "So, is the PAP really always here for you?
Maybe they are always here to jam you!"

The Community Improvement Projects Committee (CIPC) provides funding support for infrastructural and recreational facilities, including general amenities for residents in a constituency. Such facilities include covered walkways, footpaths, cycling tracks and playgrounds.

The Ministry of National Development (MND) has explained that CIPC funds are disbursed through citizens’ consultative committees (CCCs) as “they are close to the ground and will be better able to decide on the projects which will be most useful for the local residents” [Link]. “We give the CCCs flexibility to assess the relevance of any proposal and to prioritise them for implementation so that the CIPC funds are optimally utilised.”

Currently, the following people form the CIPC [Link]:

Chairman Dr Mohd Maliki, Minister of State, MND
Member Dr Teo Ho Pin, Adviser to Bukit Panjang Grassroots Organisations
Member Ms Penny Low, Adviser to Pasir Ris-Punggol Grassroots Organisations
Member Mr Zainudin Nordin, Adviser to Bishan-Toa Payoh Grassroots Organisations
Member Mr Lim Biow Chuan, Adviser to Mountbatten Grassroots Organisations
Member Mr Zaqy Mohamad, Adviser to Keat Hong Grassroots Organisations
Member Dr Lam Pin Min, Adviser to Sengkang West CCC
Member Ms Denise Phua, Adviser to Kampong Glam Grassroots Organisations
Member Ms Jessica Tan, Adviser to East Coast GRC Grassroots Organisations
Member Mr Vikram Nair, Adviser to Admiralty Grassroots Organisations
Member Mr Desmond Choo, Adviser to Hougang Grassroots Organisations

MND has clarified in public statements that CIPC funding must be supported by grassroots advisers, who are typically PAP MPs or defeated PAP candidates for opposition wards [Link].

MND said:
The Community Improvement Projects Committee (CIPC) funding has always been channelled through the advisers for the benefit of residents, including residents in Hougang and Potong Pasir (then opposition ward).

We wish to clarify that the CIPC provides funding support for community-improvement projects initiated by the Citizens’ Consultative Committees (CCCs) and supported by the advisers. The funds are disbursed through the CCCs, which will submit applications for project funding to the CIPC for approval.

If the Hougang Town Council has a community project worthy of support and it is able to co-fund the project as a CIPC project, it could request CIPC funding through the CCC. However, the onus is on the town council to seek the support of the CCC.

As explained by WP Chairman Sylvia Lim, opposition wards have always had difficulty securing CIPC funding in the past [Link]:

In order to tap CIPC funding, we have to go through the People’s Association. Ok, we try. In 1995, Hougang Town Council applied to HDB for approval to install several car park directional signs. This would cost about $130,000. We also wrote in to the Hougang CCC for support for CIPC funding. At first, the Hougang CCC replied that it was “very keen” on the Town Council’s proposal and would be discussing it. The CCC must have agreed that it was good for residents.

A few months later, HDB informed us that the CCC had made a similar application on its own and that the Town Council should co-ordinate to make a single application. The application was then stuck. At the 1997 GE, Mr Low was re-elected into Hougang. Then in August 1997, the Hougang CCC informed us that they would not be pursuing the project. The Town Council then used its own funds to proceed with it.

There are at least 5 other cases where the Hougang CCC did not support requests to tap CIPC funding to benefit Hougang residents:

In 1992, the CCC refused to support construction of covered walkway from bus-stop to nearest HDB block;
In 1993, the CCC refused to support improvement works to 39 blocks of flats/shops which included resident corners at Blks 302, 354, 704 and 710;
In 1994, the CCC refused to support tables and stools fronting Blk 322 Hougang Ave 5;
Again in 1994, we wanted to construct a footpath from Block 1 to the Hougang CC – the CCC did not even respond;
In 1995, the CCC refused to support construction of sitting corners at Blks 334, 317, 1 and 3.
These projects cost nearly $450,000. We went ahead to use Town Council’s funds for the benefit of residents. So, is the PAP really always here for you? Maybe they are always here to jam you!

Despite these obstacles, the Hougang Town Council went ahead to use its own funds to erect 33 covered linkways from bus-stops to blocks, and between blocks. You can see these linkways at Hougang Ave 2, 3, 5 and 7, and at Hougang Central. This cost us about $1.5 million. We have also added playgrounds and 2 soccer courts, and the senior citizens’ fitness corner at Hougang neighbourhood park. Many of you may know of a footpath leading from Blks 363 to 334, which many residents use to go from their blocks to Upper Serangoon Road. This is on State Land. Despite the Town Council’s request, the government refused to construct a proper footpath for residents. So Mr Low got approval to construct it himself, and he is still paying a licence fee for the path every year!

However, there appears to be a change of tack by grassroots organizations in opposition-held Aljunied, Hougang and Punggol East recently.

The media have reported that the grassroots organizations, which belong to the People’s Association (PA), in these wards are planning to submit 17 upgrading projects to MND’s CIPC for approval. They include covered walkways, barrier-free access and fitness corners. The CCCs even bothered to consult Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC).

Sylvia Lim, chairman of both AHPETC and WP, said, “We welcome the intended submission of the projects for approval, and look forward to providing the TC’s professional input on the projects for the benefit of our residents.”

Asked if the CIPC move marks a shift in PAP strategy, Mr Ong Ye Kung, a PAP candidate who lost in the 2011 general elections (GE2011) but who remains a grassroots adviser for Aljunied GRC, said, “As community volunteers, the grassroots leaders did what makes most sense for the benefit of residents. That should be the priority.”

PAP probably realised that if they continue to play hardball in opposition wards, threatening and disadvantaging the residents, they risk alienating them further. Word of any perceived maltreatment spreads quickly in the modern era of social media.

This was precisely what happened in GE2011. Lee Kuan Yew – a PAP veteran and elder statesman who thought his words carried much weight – threatened the voters of Aljunied GRC saying that they would “pay a price, the hard way” if they dared vote for the opposition.

“If Aljunied decides to go that way, well Aljunied has five years to live and repent,” he said.

“We accept the verdict of the people, but they must also accept the consequences of their actions.”

Mr Lee’s remarks caused an online uproar. It helped swing some votes away to the opposition because Aljunied voters were simply disgusted by his threats. The opposition went on to create history by winning their first GRC.

So, has LHL commented about the Anton Casey incident yet?

Or did he simply let Shanmugam do the talking for him?

He might as well let Shanmugam be the PM. :wink:

He might have to if he is voted out. :biggrin:

If you live in East Coast GRC, please vote wisely and help to make sure that we never get to hear about premium toothpicks or have to endure the sight of zorro costumes again! :wink:

So, has LHL commented about the Anton Casey incident yet?

Or did he simply let Shanmugam do the talking for him?

He might as well let Shanmugam be the PM. :wink:

He might have to if he is voted out. :biggrin:

In the PRC scholar insult Singaporean as dogs case, LHL said Singaporeans should accept Sun Xu's apology and move on. Now that it is proven we only move on to another insult, he either has to contradict himself or repeat his call to move on. Too malu so better diam diam and send his generals to do the talking..

cheesecake

If you live in East Coast GRC, please vote wisely and help to make sure that we never get to hear about premium toothpicks or have to endure the sight of zorro costumes again! :wink:

Get them all out I say!

Poseidon

Now he comes in Zorro Cosplay with a toothpick at the side of his lips.

Something just occurred to me after reading xingguy's post in the other thread.

Maybe he Wants to be voted out. LOL. :biggrin:

xingguy

Something just occurred to me after reading xingguy's post in the other thread.

Maybe he Wants to be voted out. LOL. :biggrin:

Here it is:
Before losing Aljunied GRC ...

George Yeo says "Keeping the economy humming is more important than fretting over whether votes will be lost."
This was in response when asked if the unpopular decision to house foreign workers in Serangoon Gardens would affect political support for his Aljunied GRC team.
Source: Ng E-Jay

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Putting the country’s interest first is more important than winning votes by pursuing populist policies, said Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office, Lim Swee Say.
Source: Yahoo

Careful what you wish for, Toothpick thief Zorro.
You might get your wish fulfilled in the coming GE.

xingguy

Source: Singapore Notes

nsilss27114e.jpg

Trust Lim Swee Say to announce that he will be contesting in the East Coast GRC at the next general election, supposedly to implement plans he has for the ageing constituency. Only in Singapore, can an ageing politician simply declare he plans to be minister again, regardless of the wishes of the electorate.

Lim must be addicted to the high he gets each time he looks at his Central Provident Fund (CPF) account balance.
"Some more, it's guaranteed," he gleefully told his audience.

He may have to step down as union chief when he turns 62 in July 2016 - pursuant to a National Trade Union Congress (NTUC) constitutional change made in 2011 - but he still wants to keep collecting those million dollar cheques. You would expect an outgoing chief to endorse at least one of the 4 successors in waiting, but the selfish sycophant (synonyms: toady, creep, crawler, fawner, flatterer, flunkey, lickspittle, kowtower, obsequious person, minion, hanger-on, leech, puppet) would not volunteer a single word of support for Zainal Sapari (48), Patrick Tay (42), Ang Hin Kee (48) or Yeo Guat Kwang (52).

He did say earlier he would step down once a suitable replacement for his role is found. And what exactly is his role? Minister-without-portfolio implies good for nothing special, and changing the title to Minister in the Prime Minister's Office suggests he's just another useless appendage. As for distinguishing himself as resident jester in the court, the keechiu general has proved himself worthy of wearing that hat one time too many. Doing battle in every street corner, every cyberspace corner, be it in the mass media or social media, except in dicy quarters like Little India or being mired in the Anthony Casey saga.

Lee Hsien Loong shares his disrespect of the people's will, by giving Lim the ringing endorsement, "I haven't agreed to let him go". Someone should have made a police report when Lim pilfered toothpicks from the fancy Din Tai Fung Chinese restaurant - half a box is definitely more than reasonable use quantity. That would have taken the decision out of Lee's hands.

In one of his rare utterances without a grammatical error, Lim said, "In democratic societies, people give us their trust." Then he segued into what has to be a horrific rape of the democratic process, "If we look at votes as our ultimate goal and play politics, then we will fail eventually." That has to be the most sacrilegious assault of the ballot box, ever. Assuming, of course, that there was no hanky panky behind those empty ballot boxes for the 2011 Presidential Election.

SamSeng

Chinese helicopter toothpick Lim heading to Marine Parade, together with I don't know what to say, swee swee lah!

If so, must attend their rally, good for a laugh and maybe got free nasi lemak and mineral water too.

But after attending that rally, wherever you may live, remember to vote opposition, whoever they may be. :p

Wonder what is he gonna have for his reunion dinner tonite?

Airflown fish? Abalone? Hum? :biggrin: