• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual citizenships and CPF money

jiakhongleow

Many Singaporeans migrated to Aus or Canada in the past 20 years have given up Singapore Pink ICs because of CPF money. There is no choice at all but to convert to foreign citizenhship solely to retreive the CPF money stuck in Singapore.

Now daft PAP incompetent leader PM LHL changed his immgration and CPF policy and > 1 milion FTs entered Singapore and many FTs turning citizenships still held dual citizenships. If these changes are made to increase population growth recently then will the incompetent leader (be competent this time round) reform the immigration policy to return the Pink ICs to ex-Singaporeans?

Children of ex-Singaporeans (received foreign educations and speak like angmohs too) going back to Singapore to owrk and live are much preferred than having Pinoys with fake quaifications (which can be bought for US$10 in Rector in Manila) entering Singapore.

Again don't let own people kong lanjiao wei (KLJW) at their own leader branding the PM a daft and an incompetent and trying to dodge FTs problems that have make Singaporeans angry and later threatened netizens with lawyer letters and KLJW. When Old fart LKY KLJW Singaporeans are daft he implied bottom up to the top and his own son LHL (a daft by LKY KLJW standard for Singaporeans) is not spared either ..... hahahaha

coolguy

Actually most of these foreigners convert to PR or pink IC is cos' of job security and want the same benefit as the sgreans only.
These group of foreigners are high earners or cash rich and these are the people pappies are trying to woo them to stay here,
by offering them PR or citizenship.
But when they reach a certain age where they can't find good jobs or becoming difficult to survive in sg, they will just renounce their FT-ship or citizenship, get all the cpf $
and go back home or migrate elsewhere. Simple as that.
By giving dual citizenship, at least they may consider retain PR or citizenship, so the CPF money still stays in sg.
Pappies are very scared they will withdraw all their CPF $ and go elsewhere.
So LPPL. I believe in future, as more foreigners become PR or citizen, pappies have no choice but to allow dual citizenship.
Pappies need their CPF $. They may leave the country, but main thing is CPF $ must stay.

kingrant

You sound like a really confused chap. If the reason you migrate is because you want to take out all yr CPF, then it is a wrong reason and a stupid one. Nobody said you cannot have dual citizenship, not even 20 years ago.

Financially wise, keeping yr money in CPF earns you 2.5%. Which bank gives you a better rate? Using it to buy HDB flats is better - values of HDB have been appreciating. If you had bought them 20 years ago, your flat would be worth a good fortune, where you can return yr CPF with interest and still keep some cash.

Saying now that govt gas to give you back yr citizenship just because FTs are given Singapore pink ics does not make sense. Whoever asked you to give up yr pink IC?

You sound like a young bugger. You should have been able to get a job that will get you PR status overseas, leave your CPF behind, then migrate, gain a dual citizenship, and still come back now and then to enjoy yr CPF annuity when you turn 62 or 65.

Many Singaporeans migrated to Aus or Canada in the past 20 years have given up Singapore Pink ICs because of CPF money. There is no choice at all but to convert to foreign citizenhship solely to retreive the CPF money stuck in Singapore.

Now daft PAP incompetent leader PM LHL changed his immgration and CPF policy and > 1 milion FTs entered Singapore and many FTs turning citizenships still held dual citizenships. If these changes are made to increase population growth recently then will the incompetent leader (be competent this time round) reform the immigration policy to return the Pink ICs to ex-Singaporeans?

Children of ex-Singaporeans (received foreign educations and speak like angmohs too) going back to Singapore to owrk and live are much preferred than having Pinoys with fake quaifications (which can be bought for US$10 in Rector in Manila) entering Singapore.

Again don't let own people kong lanjiao wei (KLJW) at their own leader branding the PM a daft and an incompetent and trying to dodge FTs problems that have make Singaporeans angry and later threatened netizens with lawyer letters and KLJW. When Old fart LKY KLJW Singaporeans are daft he implied bottom up to the top and his own son LHL (a daft by LKY KLJW standard for Singaporeans) is not spared either ..... hahahaha

neddy

If there is not much money in CPF, just leave it there and get another country's citizenship & passport.

I have some friends here in Australia.
They are Singapore dual citizens, just that they cannot enjoy the privilege of Singapore passports. They travel on Australia's passports and hold Pink NRIC.

byleftcan

If there is not much money in CPF, just leave it there and get another country's citizenship & passport.

I have some friends here in Australia.
They are Singapore dual citizens, just that they cannot enjoy the privilege of Singapore passports. They travel on Australia's passports and hold Pink NRIC.

Yes. CPF interest rate not bad but Aus interest rate even higher though now. Oh so dual citizenship means they cannot hold red passport or it depends? Some countries better to travel with Singapore passport rather than an ang mor one.

kingrant

If you have two passports, always use the one for the resp country for going in and out. E.g. entering and exiting S'pore, use SIN pp; and resp for the other country. That way, you will never be caught wrong footed should anything happen. You will have that country's protection.

Yes. CPF interest rate not bad but Aus interest rate even higher though now. Oh so dual citizenship means they cannot hold red passport or it depends? Some countries better to travel with Singapore passport rather than an ang mor one.

kingrant

They should not have surrendered their SIN pp. Renew it but dont make any false declaration that you do not have another country's pp when applying for renewal. You may be surprised that it will be renewed.

neddy

If Singaporeans travel on an Aussie passport, the Australian Fed Govt is required to provide consular assistance and evacuate its citizens in situations not covered by travel insurance. Eg Outbreak of war, natural disaster, etc.

Where there is no Aussie mission, Aussies can seek consular help from the nearest Canadian embassy.

Aussies have the freedom to work and live in NZ

Aussies can also work in a UK govt as a public elected person, if they meet UK residence requirement.

Aussie can also access free emergency hospital services in Europe and countries where there are mutual reciprocal agreements

neddy

They should not have surrendered their SIN pp. Renew it but dont make any false declaration that you do not have another country's pp when applying for renewal. You may be surprised that it will be renewed.

Nice to know that the passports will be renewed.

Once bitten Twice Shy.

After hearing incidents involving Singapore sons' NS entrapment, I know a few Singaporeans who would rather play safe. Anyway, renew for 5 years not as attractive. The Aussie passport last 10 years and cost $230*!!! So, one is enough.

* high cost partly to deter people selling their passport to illegal agents and then falsely report loss.

If Singaporeans travel on an Aussie passport, the Australian Fed Govt is required to provide consular assistance and evacuate its citizens in situations not covered by travel insurance. Eg Outbreak of war, natural disaster, etc.

Are you kidding? I've traveled on three different passports before. The one thing I wanted to avoid is consular service. Take care of myself and in emergency, know which way to run to safety myself. Passport is just for that, for passing ports of call. Consular service? Don't watch too many or believe too much in movies. The best and fastest evacuation service is by currency and personal expediency. By the time you're in trouble in a foreign land enough to warrant the attention of your foreign minister, you're either half dead or held hostage with a dagger at your throat or pistol at your head or worse, simply dead.

kingrant

The 5 yrs renewal requirement is due to it being a biometric one.

After hearing incidents involving Singapore sons' NS entrapment, I know a few Singaporeans who would rather play safe. Anyway, renew for 5 years not as attractive. The Aussie passport last 10 years and cost $230*!!! So, one is enough.

* high cost partly to deter people selling their passport to illegal agents and then falsely report loss.

jiakhongleow

Looking back say 10-15 years ago, many Singaporeans migrated for some common reasons which I do not like to dwell with except saying because of the politcal landscape in Singapore.

Given the dominant leader is passing his 70 years of age back in the 90s and having a new leader replacing him which is not 'the peoples' choice'. A new leader under the coat tail of GRC and not SMC is fake leadership, least GCT did better proving himself and stood on SMC election.

Therefore from end of '90s onwards, with the aging leader can up lorry anytime and there is a fear of instability in the country. When the country is unstable the CPF is forever gone. And the best way to deal with predictable politcal landscape changes in Singapore is to withdraw your CPF when the going is still good and discard Pink IC after you migrated. This is a simple way to manage your finance which has nothing to do with housing appreciations like you have said. Housing prices appreciate in every countries not just Singapore. Least you get a landed property (where you can feel the ground and touch the grasses) in Aus than getting air spaces in the sky in Singapore.

Singapore future politcal landscape after the dominant leader passed his 70 y.o is unstable under PAP because the transferred of good leadership is not there and withdrawing the CPF in exchange of Pink IC is the only choice for migrants.

This is year 201x period and the dominant leader is now reaching his age 90 and it is still the same 'worry' back in the end of '90s when he was in his 70 y.o. Last 10- 15 years was just an extended years and the 'worry still remain as it is today' and even more so 'worring' today than it was back in the late '90s.

Now that the PAP has changed its immigration and CPF policies there is no clear indication to determine dual citzenships between countries that is always the ??? mark thing for the born and registered citizens.

CPF is the same money you can buy a house (a home is a home) to settle down your family if you migrated. Not many people has spare change to keep CPF money in Singapore and buy a house in cash when they migrated. So who is confused, you or him?

Since FTs do not contribute to CPF and some people CPF money are locked by PAP is confusing and no fair level of playing field for both sides.

So where do you stand between your CPF money and you? If you are in Singapore your CPF money is stuck or take the option to migrate and withdraw your CPF money. Put your CPF money in your own pocket is better than in Ho Ching's handbag where she goes shopping around the world with your CPF money? She is not acountable and transparent with your CPF money she invested.

If time has change and PAP is serious about re-generation and bring back ex-Singaporeans whose decendant (2nd generation Singaporeans born and living abroad) speak with angmoh accents are better bananas (yellow outside and white inside) is a better option than those dodgy FTs Pinoy with fake qualifications or angry pommies from the UK entering Singapore.

You sound like a really confused chap. If the reason you migrate is because you want to take out all yr CPF, then it is a wrong reason and a stupid one. Nobody said you cannot have dual citizenship, not even 20 years ago.

Financially wise, keeping yr money in CPF earns you 2.5%. Which bank gives you a better rate? Using it to buy HDB flats is better - values of HDB have been appreciating. If you had bought them 20 years ago, your flat would be worth a good fortune, where you can return yr CPF with interest and still keep some cash.

Saying now that govt gas to give you back yr citizenship just because FTs are given Singapore pink ics does not make sense. Whoever asked you to give up yr pink IC?

You sound like a young bugger. You should have been able to get a job that will get you PR status overseas, leave your CPF behind, then migrate, gain a dual citizenship, and still come back now and then to enjoy yr CPF annuity when you turn 62 or 65.

neddy

Are you kidding? I've traveled on three different passports before. The one thing I wanted to avoid is consular service. Take care of myself and in emergency, know which way to run to safety myself. Passport is just for that, for passing ports of call. Consular service? Don't watch too many or believe too much in movies. The best and fastest evacuation service is by currency and personal expediency. By the time you're in trouble in a foreign land enough to warrant the attention of your foreign minister, you're either half dead or held hostage with a dagger at your throat or pistol at your head or worse, simply dead.

Look, no one want to seek consular help if possible. You will be surprised how "efficient" consular services are when you do not need them :biggrin:
And how slow they work when you need them. :biggrin:

Eg in a reported traffic/air accident where Aussies are involved. They turned up at the hospitals and asked if help is needed.
Esp if money is stolen, and we do not have hotels booked, we ask for the replacement credit cards to be sent to the embassy.

If a person is trapped in a civil conflict and there are hordes of locals trying to escape. People want instant cash to bring you out and they look very eager and unreliable. It helps when the embassy is able to get a minivan to the hotel the person is staying and send the whole group of Aussies/French/Canadian/American living in the hotel off to a waiting ferry to cross from Tripoli (Lebanon) to Mersin (Turkey) and transfer to an Istanbul tourist class hotel followed by airport transfer to Qantas to fly to Sydney and onward to Perth, all in one piece over 5 days.

This is what you get. The politicans are still arguing over who pay for the $30,000/ head evacuation. The Travel insurance is of no help to the heavy lugguge left behind. No police report. No claims.

----------------------
Why some Sngaporeans should like dual nationalities :biggrin:

Lebanese hypocrites criticise Australian government

Elizabeth Krantz 21 July 2006

The TV images of Lebanese "Australians" bitterly criticising the Australian government for not getting them out of Lebanon quickly enough, following Israel's attacks, highlights the stupidity of Australia's dual citizenship laws.

Most of these whingers hold dual Australian and Lebanese citizenship.

Some 25,000 of them choose to live in Lebanon, treating Australia as just a medical centre and a refuge in times of trouble.

You have to ask why there were 400 of these families living in the Hezbollah-controlled area of southern Lebanon. These "Australians" choose to live in the midst of terrorists and under the domination of strict Islamic law rather than the democracy of Australia.

A number of Muslim leaders including Sheik Kamal Mousalmani, head of the Supreme Shiite Council of Lebanon (Sydney) also bitterly attacked the Australian government.

Of course, Keysar Trad, the glib-talking head of Muslim propaganda in Australia put his usual pro-Muslim slant on the Australian government handling of the evacuation from Beirut

Trad claimed that all is not well in Australia and the Lebanese families had turned their backs on Australia.

"We should look at why Australian citizens would go to a country like Lebanon considering that the standard of living is far less than it is in Australia," he explained.

"Quite often they are made to feel marginalised and unwelcome in Australia."

Centelink is reported as saying that 600 of the Lebanese "Australians" are receiving government pensions and dole payments.

One of the many conflicts of dual citizenship is the requirement for some of the holders to undergo compulsory military training in their country of birth.

It is time to revoke the ridiculous concept of dual citizenship. Force these people to make a choice. Either become real Australians and accept our values and culture, or revert to your original nationality.

And spare a thought for Lebanese who do not hold dual citizenships.

Just as they are re-building their country after decades of civil war, Israeli forces are ruthlessly destroying bridges, airports, power stations and even entire residential areas, in order to punish the Lebanese for allowing Hezbollah militants in their midst.

neddy

The 5 yrs renewal requirement is due to it being a biometric one.

Thanks for the information.

The rumour out there is that the Singapore govt will ask the Singapore dual citizen to choose which citizenship to hold and which to give up, once they apply to renew the Singapore passport, and state that they are holding another passport.

No takers! I am afraid. Everything works well for them by keeping this air of ambiguity, simple folks.

The message is that - We trust Australia laws better, more transparent and written in "black and white" (have not used this terms for ages, these Singaporeans remind me of its existence) in the Australian government websites.

coolguy

I predict that in 30 yrs time, a lot of "singaporeans" will migrate in order to take out their CPF.
These singaporeans will be those foreigners who convert to FT or citizenship.
Let's see how the pappies tackle this situation by then.

depeche

Not too sure would Singapore still be around as a independent country...may probably be shallow by Malaysia or just sink...