• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dual Citizenship / NS Obligations / HDB Flats and Migration

Can they just kill him during reservist? These people are dumb. There is no advantage at all to ns. Enjoy db first lah. And you are right. So far only the kelong pianist dodged with a fine but that was many moons ago
U go and ask the father lah. He was the one that got so brain washed and brain dead, he went to register the son with singapore NRO. Now got all these problems.

nayr69sg

Staff member
U go and ask the father lah. He was the one that got so brain washed and brain dead, he went to register the son with singapore NRO. Now got all these problems.
Whatever the reasons the parents decided to register their sons for Singapore citizenship, there should be some rules to be fair to the son.

Reality is that a Singaporean male is not allowed to renounce Singapore citizenship till age 21. And Singaporean males are asked to register for NS at age 16.

This penalizes the son for a decision made on his behalf by the father which he cannot undo because the rules forbid renunciation before age 21 assuming that someone below the age of 21 cannot make a good mature decision about citizenship. But when it comes to forcing son to serve NS as a kid it is ok?

There should be exceptions. And rules that allow for the son to not serve NS before renouncing SG citizenship at age 21. Or allow kids to renounce citizenship before the age of 21. Rules should include that son has not received any benefits of being a Singaporean after a certain age eg no education in SG never hold SG passport after a certain age etc.

You will not find such a program displayed by MINDEF anywhere on official sites for good reasons.

Personally I think they should allow kids below the age of 21 to renounce SG citizenship.

A family that has migrated to another country and is living there for good. Both parents have renounced SG citizenship. It has been 10 years since they left SG. But kids were born in SG before leaving to migrate with parents. Hence still SG citizens. Grew up in the new country. They have citizenship in new country for 5 years. But must wait till 21 to renounce SG citizenship? And during these years SG Medishield Life still want to collect premiums for the kids! Parents no need cos already no longer SG citizens. But kids still need.

Yes there is program to suspend Medishield Life premiums but for males they will say oh you need letter from MINDEF saying you do not have to serve NS before can suspend.

Thats a bit too much. Really jiak lui only. One moment say dowan you enjoy any SG programs then can let you not serve NS but require you to pay for Medishield Life and "enjoy" that benefit but MINDEF says that one not counted as enjoying benefits of being Singaporean so ok to pay for the premiums.

Too many contradictions.

In the end I agree with @Papsmearer best to just forget about Singapore. Dont go there anymore. And whatever track you find that helps achieve your aims keep it quiet because clearly the authorities do not want Singaporeans to know about it for good reasons.

rushifa666

Whatever the reasons the parents decided to register their sons for Singapore citizenship, there should be some rules to be fair to the son.

Reality is that a Singaporean male is not allowed to renounce Singapore citizenship till age 21. And Singaporean males are asked to register for NS at age 16.

This penalizes the son for a decision made on his behalf by the father which he cannot undo because the rules forbid renunciation before age 21 assuming that someone below the age of 21 cannot make a good mature decision about citizenship. But when it comes to forcing son to serve NS as a kid it is ok?

There should be exceptions. And rules that allow for the son to not serve NS before renouncing SG citizenship at age 21. Or allow kids to renounce citizenship before the age of 21. Rules should include that son has not received any benefits of being a Singaporean after a certain age eg no education in SG never hold SG passport after a certain age etc.

You will not find such a program displayed by MINDEF anywhere on official sites for good reasons.

Personally I think they should allow kids below the age of 21 to renounce SG citizenship.

A family that has migrated to another country and is living there for good. Both parents have renounced SG citizenship. It has been 10 years since they left SG. But kids were born in SG before leaving to migrate with parents. Hence still SG citizens. Grew up in the new country. They have citizenship in new country for 5 years. But must wait till 21 to renounce SG citizenship? And during these years SG Medishield Life still want to collect premiums for the kids! Parents no need cos already no longer SG citizens. But kids still need.

Yes there is program to suspend Medishield Life premiums but for males they will say oh you need letter from MINDEF saying you do not have to serve NS before can suspend.

Thats a bit too much. Really jiak lui only. One moment say dowan you enjoy any SG programs then can let you not serve NS but require you to pay for Medishield Life and "enjoy" that benefit but MINDEF says that one not counted as enjoying benefits of being Singaporean so ok to pay for the premiums.

Too many contradictions.

In the end I agree with @Papsmearer best to just forget about Singapore. Dont go there anymore. And whatever track you find that helps achieve your aims keep it quiet because clearly the authorities do not want Singaporeans to know about it for good reasons.
All depend on mood like a woman. They happy fine will do . They on period you die die go DB.

Too many contradictions.

Fucking idiots like you are a danger for people who read your bullshit. 21 years of age IS NOT the age of RENUNCIATION in singapore, in fact there is no age at which u can renounce your citizenship. That is why people in their 30s and even 50s get caught when they come back to singapore for defaulting on NS. If it was so easy to renounce at 21, then no one would be in jail when they return to singapore. As long as the government deems that u have NS obligations, u cannot renounce. In singapore, a renunciation is not unilateral like in other countries. In other words, u cannot suka suka renounce by yourself. The govt has to agree and accept your renunciation before its a done deal. And they will not do it if you have NS obligations.

those people who manage to renounce even with NS obligations are very rare. I have a relative who did so and they only granted him his renunciation when both his parents renounce at the same time as him. Stop spreading misinformation.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Fucking idiots like you are a danger for people who read your bullshit. 21 years of age IS NOT the age of RENUNCIATION in singapore, in fact there is no age at which u can renounce your citizenship. That is why people in their 30s and even 50s get caught when they come back to singapore for defaulting on NS. If it was so easy to renounce at 21, then no one would be in jail when they return to singapore. As long as the government deems that u have NS obligations, u cannot renounce. In singapore, a renunciation is not unilateral like in other countries. In other words, u cannot suka suka renounce by yourself. The govt has to agree and accept your renunciation before its a done deal. And they will not do it if you have NS obligations.

those people who manage to renounce even with NS obligations are very rare. I have a relative who did so and they only granted him his renunciation when both his parents renounce at the same time as him. Stop spreading misinformation.
You are spot on I am an idiot. It is in my moniker description too. Idiot Loser. And I am totally bullshitting here. There is no age 21 renunciation rubbish. All Singaporean males will have to serve NS at age 21 regardless whatever reasons or go to jail if they set foot in SG.

Ok I will stop.

Perhaps it is time we should lock this thread since this whole thread is about a topic that is impossible and a pipe dream. Best not to give people false hope anymore.

Xisiqomelir

I wanted to ask the esteemed learned body here:

What happens if a Sinkie father goes to some blessed Global North land like Denmark or Ireland and meets a comely lass, beds her and bears a son at that end. Say this Sinkie father was a sensible fellow and did not harm his child by registering it with the PAPpies. The boy would remain Irish/Danish/etc.

Obviously, the weak and feeble PAPpy regime would have no clue about the child's provenance if it visited the LRD with the mother.

However (and this is my question), do the goons at Changi look suspiciously at a man who comes in with foreign wife, foreign daughter and "unrelated male child of the wife"?

bobby

Too many contradictions.

To cut your story short....this obligation should also apply to the SG womenfolk.

The very basis of NS being back in 1967 was then the seperation from Malaysia and the announcement of the British army pullout by mid 1970s.

The need of a local "defence" force and hence conscription of all males during that misogynic era.

Now with sexual equality being constantly & strongly campaigned....time to re-look into this or just be more relaxed punishing the male SG.

shittypore

Starting a family and having kids makes no sense in today's world living in Spore. The woman suffer, the man suffer and Kid too. Best, just work and enjoy life and learn to live without a wife and a family. Leave it to the Govt and the Lee Dynasty to solve their total defence problems, after all they owned everything here.

To cut your story short....this obligation should also apply to the SG womenfolk.

The very basis of NS being back in 1967 was then the seperation from Malaysia and the announcement of the British army pullout by mid 1970s.

The need of a local "defence" force and hence conscription of all males during that misogynic era.

Now with sexual equality being constantly & strongly campaigned....time to re-look into this or just be more relaxed punishing the male SG.
The irony was that the whole NS conscription was started by the Mexicans, and modeled on their own system. Everything is very similar. The recall system, reservists battalions setups, etc. And these Mexicans wholeheartedly include their womenfolk in the conscription. But for some reason, Old Fart did not implement it. For the Mexicans its a life and death situation. For sinkieland. its a wayang, so no need to include the women.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I wanted to ask the esteemed learned body here:

What happens if a Sinkie father goes to some blessed Global North land like Denmark or Ireland and meets a comely lass, beds her and bears a son at that end. Say this Sinkie father was a sensible fellow and did not harm his child by registering it with the PAPpies. The boy would remain Irish/Danish/etc.

Obviously, the weak and feeble PAPpy regime would have no clue about the child's provenance if it visited the LRD with the mother.

However (and this is my question), do the goons at Changi look suspiciously at a man who comes in with foreign wife, foreign daughter and "unrelated male child of the wife"?
Next time no need ask questions here. Just PM @Papsmearer he is THE AUTHORITY on this topic.

There is no need to ask questions in public anymore. So please don't.

Anyone with questions about NS obligations for kids just PM @Papsmearer

Charlie99

Next time no need ask questions here. Just PM @Papsmearer he is THE AUTHORITY on this topic.

There is no need to ask questions in public anymore. So please don't.

Anyone with questions about NS obligations for kids just PM @Papsmearer
I believe that a foreign born male, whose father or mother registered him for Singapore citizenship when he was an infant, did not reside in Singapore, did not go to a Singapore government school, is able to renounce his Singapore citizebship at age 21, and not required to serve NS, provided he regiatered for NS and applied for deferment and exit permit.

The minute you registered for NS, you are required to do it. And applying for deferment and exit permit does not mean you do not have to do NS.

The foreign born male should firstly slap his mother and father for being backside itchy and go and register him as an infant.