• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Disabled man earns $5,400 monthly

Watchman

Disabled man earns $5,400 monthly
Fri, Feb 19, 2010
The New Paper

By Arul John

20100217.152145_disabledman.jpg

WHEN he was just 4, Mr Mohd Arsyad Mohd Yusuf was struck with muscular atrophy. Since then, he has been in a wheelchair.

But his disability did not rob him of his desire for self-improvement. He learned how to use the Internet to make a living.

Today, at 23, Mr Mohd Arsyad makes RM13,000 ($5,400) a month from designing web pages, selling e-books that he wrote, and giving motivational talks.

The Kedah native was in Singapore as a guest speaker at a financial management workshop.

Mr Mohd Arsyad was diagnosed as suffering from spinal muscular atrophy when he was 4, after he started falling down often at home.

The condition is a genetic disease caused by the loss of nerve cells in the spinal cord. This affects the part of the nervous system that controls voluntary muscle movement.

Mr Mohd Arsyad's father, Mr Mohd Yusuf Salim, a retiree in his 50s, said: "Doctors recommended physiotherapy for him when he was younger, but there was no cure or medication."

It was hard on the young boy at first.

Said Mr Mohd Arsyad: "When I went to school, my classmates would tease me because of my disability, and I felt sad and discouraged.

"But my family and relatives encouraged me and said God made me the way I was for a purpose - so I could help and give hope to others."

The second of three children eventually came to terms with his disability.

After he completed his Malaysian Certificate of Education (the equivalent of the O levels here) at the age of 17, he took up religious studies for two years. He then conducted religious classes at home, earning RM100 ($41) a month.

Private lessons

He also took computer lessons at a private school.

Two years ago, he picked up graphic design skills from the Internet and learnt how to write and sell e-books.

"I used to e-mail my designs to my friends and they would ask me to design their web pages," he said.

"At first, I did it for free, but a relative said I could make money from it."

So he did.

"Soon I was earning about RM13,000 per month. I use the money to help support my family, and sometimes I give RM1,000 to my parents.

"I also use the money to buy software which I give free to participants at my talks."

He advertises his business via e-mail, Facebook, blogs and online forums.

In the last two years, he has written and marketed eight e-books - mostly about self-improvement and money management.

Titles include 14 Keys to Open your Mind's Power and The Fundamentals of Blogging.

Mr Mohd Arsyad claimed to have sold 660 copies of his e-books in Malaysia so far.

"I plan to write another six e-books this year, give more motivational talks and expand my business outside Malaysia, probably starting with Singapore."

Mr Mohd Arsyad said he puts in about eight hours of work a day.

He said: "I usually start work at 9am and work four hours in the morning and four hours later in the day.

Mr Mohd Arsyad is not the only person in his family to have to overcome great odds.

The youngest brother, Mr Mohd Azfar Mohd Yusuf, 22, is paralysed from birth.

The bedridden young man sells handphones on the Internet.

Mr Mohd Arsyad said: "My youngest brother was inspired by my success and wanted to earn some money too, so also picked up Internet skills.

"I want to inspire others like me to make the best of their lives, like I have done."

This article was first published in The New Paper.

This is the sort of character that I admire. No whinging, no complaining, no blame game, no cursing of the govt, foreigners and other ethnic groups.

He simply decided to make something of his life despite the odds stacked against him and set out the learn as much as possible to achieve that end.

The thought of able bodied sinkies with everything to live for throwing themselves in front of MRT trains just because of a couple of minor setbacks in life makes me realise what a bunch of softies this once successful nation has become. :rolleyes:

Ahh, this is what i called the person with BALLS.

Sinkies, please learn from this MALAY boy who cannot walk, yet earns much more from RM than you sinkies earn in SG$.

You sinkies should be ashamed of yourself. Only know how to KPKB but no balls to face your govt.

Soon I was earning about RM13,000 per month. I use the money to help support my family, and sometimes I give RM1,000 to my parents.

"I also use the money to buy software which I give free to participants at my talks."

He advertises his business via e-mail, Facebook, blogs and online forums.

In the last two years, he has written and marketed eight e-books - mostly about self-improvement and money management.

SammyHulk

This is the sort of character that I admire. No whinging, no complaining, no blame game, no cursing of the govt, foreigners and other ethnic groups.

This is it! the essence of living life to the fullest. Quit all these bitching for Christ's sake (aint no christian btw) and focus what one can do n improve @ hand tat counts.:biggrin:

... No whinging, no complaining, no blame game, no cursing of the govt, foreigners and other ethnic groups. ...
u so sure meh? ...

ppl whinge, comprain, brame, curse gahmen n others ... ppl tel u meh? ... :rolleyes:

u no c ppl do such tings doesnt mean ppl dun do dem ...

:rolleyes:

Probably only one in a million which has to do with the government policies here and there. Just like Singapore do not have billionairs compared to those in malaysia and hong kong. The ultimate fault still lies with the country leadership style.

ahleebabasingaporethief

In a country where PC and IT literacy level is still below 50% of the population, it is not difficult to do. Besides, they have a much bigger base and 13 states. We have one pi si.

Remember a character called SAM LEONG way back in the early 1990s when Singapore PC and IT literacy levels were also below 50%.

He started a KPKB website that became a porno site; that became a TOP pimping site.

SUCCESS right? Of course. Did he stay in Singapore? NO! The matherfarker went to live in Sydney where he is today. Talk about what a wonderful successful country S'pore is? KNN where are you SamLeong/ BTW he is a ex-ACS.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">