• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dawning Of The Era Of Warring Parties

BusNo64

Scroobal,

You are spot on again.

spot on keelan lah...when scroobal is talking abt chiam, he refering to the good publicity...ur is only bad publicity..and u veri proud of it and think voters will take note of u...:rolleyes:..yes voters wlll take note to avoid u....:wink:

Also scroobal did not say doing outreach is not impt....just dat both publicity and outreach are impt....but for u leh? twist his words and say that outreach is not longer relevant...lampar lah....u think u can get elected just typin away in ur keyboard without doin any hard walking knocking on doors meeting the residents? LOL

My 2-cent worth is that the correct way to put it should be, both caring for the ward and representing their voice in Parliament are important and integral parts of an MP's job. You can't put the cart in front of the horse. You can't convince people your policies are right for them without convincing you work for their best interests first.

aurvandil

My 2-cent worth is that the correct way to put it should be, both caring for the ward and representing their voice in Parliament are important and integral parts of an MP's job. You can't put the cart in front of the horse. You can't convince people your policies are right for them without convincing you work for their best interests first.

If the PAP MPs are doing such a great job in "caring for their ward", why do we observe:

1) Taxi driver kung-fu punching a PAP MP
2) Mentally retarded boy banginging table/chair at a PAP MP who he felt was being less than helpful
3) Disgusted voter setting a PAP MP on fire

Things have gotten to the stage that PAP MPs make police reports at the slightest misuse of words. The police then show up and kick door.

If you look through the record of the MPS, how many times are the PAP MPs absent? As I understand it, all of the PAP MPs are part timers. As such, MPS attendance of 50% or less is the norm rather than the exception. I suppose if MPs don't attend and sit through the entire sessions of Parliament (many show up, sign attendance and elang), their record of attending things like MPS would be even more tardy.

Finally, how many times have people queued for hours get a letter mass signed by a PAP MP that does absolutely nothing in helping them with their problems? If you cannot get a permit, cannot get a pass, are unable to pay your bills, cannot get a job etc, is that letter mass signed by the PAP MP any good at all?

The PAP MPs can sell all the koyok of how they "look after" their ward. The legion of unhappy people who needed help and got nothing know better. As do their friends, their familes and their relatives.

Goh Meng Seng is simply being honest of what he can do if he is elected. This is unlike our PAP MPs who make all sort of empty promises and then act blur after they get elected.

2) Mentally retarded boy banginging table/chair at a PAP MP who he felt was being less than helpful

Couldn't get worse for PAP than like Seet Ai Mee and Ng Pock Too getting voted out as incumbents, could it? That's what we want to see happening more, isn't it? Not PAP MPs getting bashed or torched. A few sensational and insane cases prove the exception. And there'd always be exception given 80+ seats over half a century, even suicide and abscondment. What do these prove? PAP MPs not taking care of their wards? I don't think so. It only proves no organisation is perfect.

It's the same as opposition supporters telling detractors, don't say opposition doesn't work the ground just because you don't see it. Vice versa, don't say PAP MPs don't take care of their wards just because you don't see it.

Goh Meng Seng is simply being honest of what he can do if he is elected. This is unlike our PAP MPs who make all sort of empty promises and then act blur after they get elected.

Note I've never suggested GMS or any candidate should make empty promises. I'm just advocating a balanced view and political correctness.

aurvandil

Vice versa, don't say PAP MPs don't take care of their wards just because you don't see it.

The work must be a very secret and mysterious process. That is why we don't see them attending entire sessions of Parliament and we don't see them very often at the MPS.

The simple fact of the matter is that all of us have only 24 hrs in a day. It is hard to be a good MP if you are a part-timer. All of the PAP MPs claim that they have stepped forward and made "big sacrfices" to serve Singapore. This "big sacrifice" however does not seem to include quitting their day job and serving Singapore full time.

The work must be a very secret and mysterious process. That is why we don't see them attending entire sessions of Parliament and we don't see them very often at the MPS.

The simple fact of the matter is that all of us have only 24 hrs in a day. It is hard to be a good MP if you are a part-timer. All of the PAP MPs claim that they have stepped forward and made "big sacrfices" to serve Singapore. This "big sacrifice" however does not seem to include quitting their day job and serving Singapore full time.

Not for all PAP MPs, but for some I do agree. What comes easy, they don't treasure. However, doesn't mean that an opposition candidate should go tell the electorate that some PAP MPs are like that, therefore it's alright for opposition MPs to be like that. It's official PAP policy that no MP shall be full-time, it's either MP + Minister or MP + private career.

If opposition candidates want to bank on the point that they can and will serve full time, then don't negate the point by saying they can't serve and care the ward well. They should say being full time, they can take care of voters both in the ward and in Parliament better. The argument about funding is out of point. The town council collects the SCC.

Then comes the argument about upgrading funds. There're now actually people getting sick and tired of upgrading and voting against it. Social welfare funds? That's CDC problem. If opposition can win a few GRCs in a cluster, it can take over a CDC too. Don't put the cart in front of the horse when racing with an 8-horse-powered war chariot. Spike a few spokes or down a few horses first before there's any chance. This is no tortoise and hare race when the hare would go take a nap.

cass888

MS Goh, do you know how similar your two monikers are sounding? :biggrin:

Because no matter how you cut it there will be losers in life. They are but a minority, but when they cannot win because the majority are happy, they resort to illicit ways of prevailing. The same way an ah beng will threaten violence because they know logic cannot prevail.

There are various approaches to this, but the worst thing to do is to dumb down so that they are not left out. Just like I totally disagree with you that we should forgo the benefits of having casinos just because of a few delinquents.

Aurvandil cited a retard. I wonder how's a retard going to prove that PAP MPs don't take care of wards and therefore opposition also doesn't have to? Promise to cure or cull all retards, whose actions are by definition out of reasons?

lockeliberal

Dear GMS

In so much as Scroobal is right he also agree's with Ramseth and I that you need to remember the basics. Yes the physical geography changes, yes you and knock on your door and shake your hands to one SMC but not a GRC, I would not dispute that point. You might want to remember this, that in so much as you decide to campaign in a GRC on national issues such as HDB, you need to form a base of assurance that you have something in mind to take care of their town council first and foremost in Tampines. No one expects you to provide the goodies which the PAP can, but you must convince them at some point that you can take care of their local issues

Locke

Great stuff. You are back to your best.
Dear GMS
You might want to remember this, that in so much as you decide to campaign in a GRC on national issues such as HDB, you need to form a base of assurance that you have something in mind to take care of their town council first and foremost in Tampines. No one expects you to provide the goodies which the PAP can, but you must convince them at some point that you can take care of their local issues

Locke

3_M

GMS

There is a wise old saying in US "All politics is local". Right in your very own backward. This is true everywhere regardless of the political systems because it the voters mindset, the very basic of human nature politicians are dealing with.

If you are just campaigning on HDB and FT issues, I am afraid that not going to get you far. Learn to take care of your own backyard first. My suggestion is to give a 50-50 weightage between national and local issues.