• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crane Operator, 23, Makes $4k Per Month Woh!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=560><TBODY><TR><TD height=7 colSpan=3></TD></TR><STYLE type=text/css> <!-- .bodytext_10pt { font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 10pt; font-weight: normal; color: #000000; } --> </STYLE><!--tr> <td colspan="3"> </td> </tr--><!-- ~RENDER PAGE MARKER~ --><!-- Story With Image Start --><TR><TD vAlign=top width=350>
20100319.115515_craner.jpg
</TD><TD width=5>
blank.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=top width=200 align=left><TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD height=81>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD class=content_subtitle align=left>Mon, Mar 22, 2010
The Straits Times
</TD></TR><TR><TD height=15>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left> </TD><TD height=15>
blank.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=top align=right><FORM method=post name=emailToFriendForm action=emailToFriend.jsp><INPUT value=/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=10001b7957477210VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=f6b73060b6822110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD type=hidden name=emailToFriendPageURL> <INPUT value=http://www.asiaone.com/Business/Office/Hot%2BJobs/Story/A1Story20100319-205540.html type=hidden name=emailToFriendStoryLink> </FORM><SCRIPT> function openEmailA1AdminWindow(emailToFriendForm) { var emailToFriendPageURL = emailToFriendForm.emailToFriendPageURL.value; emailToFriendForm.action = emailToFriendPageURL; emailToFriendForm.target="_blank"; emailToFriendForm.submit(); } </SCRIPT></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=3><!-- TITLE : start -->No O levels, but he earns $4,000 a month <!-- TITLE : end--></TD><TR><TD height=15 colSpan=3>
blank.gif
</TD></TR><!-- Story With Image End --><TR><TD class=bodytext_10pt colSpan=3><!-- CONTENT : start -->FOR upwards of 12 hours every day, Mr Abdul Rahim Muhamed Rashid sits alone in his 20th-storey 'corner office'.
The place is small, no bigger than the inside of a Toyota Camry, but the 23-year-old says that he does not leave it except for emergencies.
<TABLE style="BORDER-BOTTOM: #b5d4d8 1px solid; BORDER-LEFT: #b5d4d8 1px solid; BACKGROUND-COLOR: #eeeeee; BORDER-TOP: #b5d4d8 1px solid; BORDER-RIGHT: #b5d4d8 1px solid" cellSpacing=4 cellPadding=1 width=136 align=left><TBODY><TR><TD style="FONT-FAMILY: Verdana; FONT-SIZE: 11px" width=192>Related story:
»'Move locals up the career ladder quickly'
»WANTED: S'porean construction workers
»Constant skill upgrading pays off
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>He has a little fridge in there for drinks, a small radio for company and some plastic bags and newspapers to take the place of the toilet.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=2 width=300 align=right><TBODY><TR><TD><SCRIPT language=JavaScript src="/static/ads/scripts/adsimu.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://adtag.asiaone.com/tag/a1/js/AsiaOne_business_imu.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/AsiaOneBusiness/TechSense_Home;pos=1;adtype=1;adtype=2;adtype=3;adtype=4;adtype=5;tile=1;sz=300x250;ord=9310368217529598?"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://ad.doubleclick.net/adj/AsiaOneBusiness/;pos=50;adtype=1;adtype=2;adtype=3;adtype=4;adtype=5;sz=10x10;ord=9310368217529598?"></SCRIPT><OBJECT id=FLASH_AD class=inlineimg title="Big Grin" border=0 alt="" classid="clsid:biggrin:</OBJECT><NOSCRIPT></NOSCRIPT><!-- Zone Tag : SPH In-Text --><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://cdn.innity.com/network.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://as.innity.com/synd/69cb3ea317a32c4e6143e665fdb20b14/4564/js/**/**/NEWS/1269428507001"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript>innity_country = "SG";innity_path = "/201003_2331/9841/";innity_proxy = "proxy_14483";innity_ord = "ord=[timestamp]";</SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://cdn.innity.com/global.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://m3.innity.net/media/lib/innity.js"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://m3.innity.net/media/201003_2331/9841/proxy_14483.js?ord=[timestamp]"></SCRIPT><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://m3.innity.net/media/201003_2331/9841/innity_lib_textpush.js?ord=[timestamp]"></SCRIPT><STYLE>.adv_class {border-bottom:1px dashed #0066CC; cursor:pointer;}</STYLE><STYLE>.adv_class_off {border-bottom:0px; cursor:auto; background:transparent; margin:0px 0px 0px 0px; padding:0px 0px 0px 0px;}</STYLE><SCRIPT id=__ie_onload onreadystatechange="" defer src="//0"></SCRIPT></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>'It takes 10 minutes for me to climb up there, and I'm young. The older ones take longer. So we don't go up and down when we don't have to. We do everything in the cabin,' he says.
His job involves using the crane to pick up building materials from the ground and hoist them to where they are needed. 'It's a little bit like playing a computer game,' he notes.
But that is perhaps the only upside to it. Long days, isolation and some very questionable toilet habits are all part of the life of a tower crane operator, he says.
And it is clear why people like Mr Abdul Rahim - Singaporeans working in construction - are becoming an endangered species.
Indeed, if not for having dropped out of school at Secondary 4 because of financial problems, he does not know if he would have strayed into the field.
'Before doing this job, I was delivering pizzas. I saw a newspaper ad which said that a company was willing to sponsor a crane operator course for workers so I thought I would go and try it out,' he says.
He was selected to attend the week-long course. He passed the theory and practical tests and has not looked back since.
He started as a tower crane operator in 2008 and eight months later took a government grant for another course on how to operate a different crane.
He does not intend to stop there.
'If I have the ability to operate many different cranes, I am more flexible. If there are no jobs for a tower crane operator, maybe I can work as a crawler crane driver<INNITY></INNITY><INNITY></INNITY>,' he says. A crawler crane has tracks and can therefore be driven around easily.<EMBED height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash width="100%" src=http://m3.innity.net/media/201003_2331/9841/push_src/intext_probe.swf?_allowDomain=business.asiaone.com allowScriptAccess="always" wmode="transparent"></EMBED> <EMBED height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash width="100%" src=http://m3.innity.net/media/201003_2331/9841/push_src/intext_probe.swf?_allowDomain=www.sammyboy.com allowScriptAccess="always" wmode="transparent"></EMBED>
He admits that it will not be easy getting Singaporeans to do the job, especially those with higher education and options.
'It's hard work and a lonely life. And we work very hard seven days a week. Your girlfriend needs to be very understanding,' he jokes.
But with a monthly salary of around $4,000 including overtime and the prospect of making up to $6,500 as he gains experience, he isn't about to give it up.
'There are not that many opportunities for people of my qualifications to earn this kind of salary.'

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Let's see how much the chor boh lan TRAITORS make:

Singapore's World Records
On this small island lives the 30 best-paid politicians in the world, comments a blogger. MySingaporeNews.
Apr 3, 2009
As the economic crisis worsens and thousands are being retrenched, the huge salaries of Singapore's political leaders have come under the spotlight not only here - but overseas.
With G20 leaders gathering in London to work out solutions to the global crisis, the Times compiled a list of "the 10 best-paid politicians in the world" - naturally with Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong taking the top spot.
The story was picked up by The Australia, which also works out their salaries when ranked against population.
Mr Lee earns S$3.76 million (US$2.47 million) a year, excluding bonuses, allowances, pensions, etc which add on a significant bit.
This is about 54 cents per head of population. In second position was his counterpart from New Zealand at 9 cents. The rest of the world are all down there, below even the lowest-ranking minister in Singapore.
But Singaporean blogger redbean's "My Singapore News" carries a calculation from its reader, Green Peas, expanding on the UK and Australian reports.
It pointed out that the world's 30 best-paid politicians (a definition that will include ministers, elected president, etc) are all from Singapore.
Here's what the blogger says:
The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:
1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$3.9 million.
2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.
3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.
4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.
5. Senior Minister Prof Jayakumar - S$3.2 million.
6. DPM & Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng - S$2.9 million.
7. DPM & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean - $2.9 million
8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.
9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.
10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.
11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.
12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.
13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.
14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.

15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million.
16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million.
17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million.
18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million.
19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million.
20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million.
21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million.
22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million.
23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million.
Note: 1. The above pay does not include MP allowances, pensions and other sources of income such as Directorship, Chairmnship, Advisory, Consultancy, etc to Gov-linked and gov-related organisations or foreign MNCs such as Citigroup, etc.
2. Though it is based on an estimate, the data cannot be far off the official salary scales.
The above was posted in redbeanforum by Green Peas.
(London Times report: http://timesbusiness.typepad.com/mon...the-world.html)
http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/...icians-in.html

boring

6500 to work everyday 12over hours and inhale those dirty gas from the ship funnel, for fuck?

cooleo

Going to file this under my

URBAN LEGENDS cabinet alongside $5k/mth cab driver, $10k/mth beggar and $200k hdb flats.

cheebye

Well, ah bang, dont work 7 days a week and 12hrs a day lah..... not close to family, even gf understand for now, but not in the future. Somemore, tis type of working, sure next time needs to pay back for health deteriotion matters.

Life is not only work work work, life is like work, then jiat hong like our ministers, or work then go holiday learn how to cook. Like that better! Somemore your 4K as compared to this scums, ....hemmm.....

Fuck the pap to hell!

ricah

Wow that is amazing yet hard to believe that a crane worker with no education whatsoever can make more money than most of us literate ones.

scrobal

Even a humble crane operator can make a lot of money every month. Who says singapore does not have opportunities. You only have to work hard and obey the laws.

B

BCR101

Even a humble crane operator can make a lot of money every month. Who says singapore does not have opportunities. You only have to work hard and obey the laws.

today tower crane falls . 2 mati. a few serious injured

It is $11.90 per hour! And we are a developed country with one of the highest cost of living in the world. What opportunities are you spouting about here?

This is the future of all sinkies...
Crane operators, taxi drivers...living in affordable 2 room hdb flats.
Huat ah!