• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

can this be really true?

if it isn't, maybe sgp gahmen should start suing. that's their hobby, isn't it?

but if it's really true, where isn't there any heads roll??:eek:

SINGAPORE PRESIDENT TONY TAN LOST NEARLY $42 BILLION DOLLARS OF SINGAPORE’S SOVERIGN WEALTH

Post date:
10 Mar 2014 - 7:58am

Disclaimer: TheRealSingapore.com is a platform for users to submit content and all content remains the property of the individual contributors. The views and opinions expressed by author(s) within the website are solely that of the contributors and in no way reflects the views of TheRealSingapore.com.

Tony Tan’s track record at Government of Investment Corporation (GIC) has been a disaster. According to the Wall Street Journal, during his time as Deputy Chairman, GIC lost approximately $42 billion.

In January 2008, just when investors are shorting U.S. banks, Tony Tan spent billions of dollars of Singapore taxpayers’ monies to invest in Citigroup and UBS.

To justify his reckless actions, Tony Tan said in an interview with the Business Times, “In the case of UBS, they have a worldwide global wealth management business which is something not replicable by any bank. Citigroup has an international worldwide consumer business which is also unique.”

At the time, Jim Rogers, a former partner of George Soros in the famed Quantum Fund, said he felt “sad” for Singapore as it would be losing a lot of money.

Rogers continued, “They’re making a big mistake; these banks have many more problems still ahead. They should wait until these companies are really on the ropes a few years from now . . . and trading at $5 a share.”

Rogers also expressed doubts about the capability of GIC’s fund managers, including Tony Tan, “I know these people, and they have never given me the impression that they’re smarter than anyone else…They have gigantic amounts of money, but they’ve made a bad judgment in these cases.”

A few months later, the value of GIC’s shares in Citigroup and UBS crashed after both got mired in toxic debts during the 2008 global financial crisis.

The news was naturally censored by the Singapore media, but the Wall Street Journal reported that GIC suffered a loss around 59 billion Singapore dollars (US$41.6 billion) in 2008, making it one of the worst years for the sovereign wealth fund since it was established in 1981.

Now, Tony Tan is Singapore’s president.

John Harding

*The author blogs at http://johnharding.com

blissquek

$42 billions??? wow!! are our cpfs still intact or not??

The amount, if Prof Balding is right..is $350 billion in unaccounted assets..

He continues that Singapore has consistently register a surplus and is puzzled why we are most indebted and our National debt is amongst the highest to the tune of 98% of GDP.

now you know he has been sidelined to PE, given his PE posting he is even more untouchable.

Hide everyday in the Istana, better than his own home.

Can la kopi with his cousin old fart until either one of them pass away.

$42 billions??? wow!! are our cpfs still intact or not??

You add up the tens of billions lost in various investments, the total losses easily exceed a hundred billion. No one is accountable. The government publishes its make-them-look good statements. And gullible sinkees is happy with those unsubstantiated claims.

iamhere

now you know he has been sidelined to PE, given his PE posting he is even more untouchable.

Hide everyday in the Istana, better than his own home.

Can la kopi with his cousin old fart until either one of them pass away.

technically "sidelined" as there were apparently some non-papee supporting candidates,
done technically so that the man responsible becomes the auditor, after the auditing part "covered"
the auditor then spends state funds flying all over the place and at times grace and endorse charity shows
which is a joke by itself (most of time, funds raised is less than his annual package)...

i was also told by a USA super financier pal that our 2 IRs are actually instruments for laundering money especially those coming from PRC. it's a big spider syndicate where PRC hawkers are actually among one of their subtribe. all these so called leegal business is actually illeegal moneylaundering to filter out large amount of $$$ from china.

fact or myth?

this is not right!

we have a gambling gahmen who would take the $$$ when they win and then massage the accounts when the lose - and they always have concealed spectacular losses - on our life saving cpfs.

da dick

You can check whether the site is working from the many "is it down or is it just me" utilities.

http://johnharding.com/

main page can load but all links not working. server fucked up? or just bad links/dns?

anyway he just sounds like a retard who still pissed that his book kena banned. and now he's still blaming tamils for it. he actually thinks Reform party have powah in sinkie, scared they take over. very funny. he's pointing fingers at the wrong ah neh.

could that be the real purpose of CPFLIFE implementation? cos with this new fucking policy, everyone's FUCKED!!