• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Big nose sustainability ugly bitch Grace Fu wants you to buy less orange, bak kwa to reduce food waste

Cottonmouth

Buy just enough oranges, bak kwa for CNY to reduce food waste: Grace Fu​

yaohui-pixgeneric-4574_3.jpg

Shoppers queueing at bak kwa shop Lim Chee Guan in Chinatown on Dec 26, 2022. ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI
ang_qing_0.png

Ang Qing
UPDATED

14 JAN 2023, 11:24 PM SGT

SINGAPORE - People in Singapore can help reduce food waste by buying only the mandarin oranges, cookies and bak kwa that they need for Chinese New Year, Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu said on Saturday.
She made this call before an audience of around 80 scouts as she launched the Scout Association’s 2023 Diamond Jubilee Challenge, which focuses on the environment this year.
The youth-led initiative, which is in its second year, will end in 2025 in conjunction with Singapore’s 60 years of nationhood.
By then, more than 12,500 scouts will be ready to achieve the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals, which have been incorporated into the challenge.
Ms Fu said: “When we collectively adopt sustainable habits, such as bringing our own bags and containers, conserving electricity and water, and taking public transport, it can help reduce our national carbon footprint.
“Individual actions can even influence companies. If we demand products with less packaging or choose energy-efficient appliances, companies will start to adopt greener and more sustainable products and solutions.”

In a dialogue with the scouts at the event, Ms Fu noted that the challenge is timely, with Singapore in 2022 raising its climate ambition to hit net-zero emissions by 2050.

headstart-logo.svg

Get tips to grow your investments and career in weekly newsletter
By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
As part of 2023’s challenge, scouts will embark on learning journeys or community activities related to the environment in every quarter.
In support of the Steward Pillar of the year-long Forward Singapore exercise, the scouts will also be submitting a Green Nation Pledge to commit to making Singapore a green, liveable and climate-resilient nation.
Among those participating in the challenge is Ngee Ann Polytechnic student Elvin Kong, who hopes to make thrifting – the act of shopping second-hand – a culture in his school and for other scouts.
The final-year automation and mechatronic systems student said: “In polytechnic, we tend to have to dress up when we come to school, so many of us have to go out and buy shirts.
“But some of my schoolmates and I realised in 2022 that maybe this trend will lead to us throwing a lot of shirts away, so with thrifting becoming more common, I think schools can promote this initiative.”
In the next few months, Mr Kong and a few of his peers will be organising an exchange for his peers to trade clothes, he said.
The 20-year-old also hopes to hold a similar activity for scouts to recycle their uniforms.
hzscout140122_0.jpg

(From left) Minister for Sustainability and the Environment Grace Fu, Singapore Scout Association (SSA) vice-president Ngien Hoon Ping and SSA chief commissioner Desmond Chong launching the 2023 Diamond Jubilee Challenge. ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE
Meanwhile, fellow scout Mellina Mohamad Noor, 21, is planning to take bigger steps towards encouraging others to cut down on food waste, a cause that struck her during a trip to rural areas in Vietnam as a secondary school student.
The second-year Ngee Ann Polytechnic early childhood development and education student said: “Most of the scout students only know that we throw a lot of trash, but they do not know what kind of trash is being thrown.”
“So when I introduce the topic of food waste, they realise that we shouldn’t waste food, that we should buy only what we can finish.”

mahjongking

why dont the cheebye bitch ask all her crony ministers dont take too much from the reserves, pay themselves 10k a month can also survive lah

bobby

Why donch she just impose a quota and pass it as law...like everything else the gahmen does ?

Because from the example of the high vax rate, all it takes is just a nudge and wink and many daft Sinkies will cheerfully comply.

I suspect they're teaching/grooming/indoctrinating young children with this 'sustainability' nonsense, probably as early as kindergarten. Parents please take note. :cool:

borom

instead of talking about the fine paid by Keppel of US$422 million due to bribes of up to US$55 million and the SPH Media’s fake circulation numbers, these multi million salaried ministers talk about oranges and bak kwa , the end of the PAP is really in the horizon.

countryman

People buying CNY goodies also she must kaypoh... Must as well say the Chinese reunion dinner don't splurge on abalone or other seafood delicacies, ang pao no need to give so much also etc....

Singapore Dancing Spirit

Grace is such a disgrace to Singapore and the humanity as a whole/

Minister for sustainability cannot sustain herself to live here in Singapore if she frets about such a silly thing in life. After all she is an ordinary woman herself and she is not a god emerged from Hell. She has nothing better to do. Her salary can never be justified.